We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hole in the wall with great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tropico Restaurant

El Tropico Restaurant
8391 NW 12TH St, Doral, FL 33126
(305) 477-6222
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 209 Restaurants in Doral
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bradenton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall with great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Aloft and didn't want to the typical chain restaurant we decided to drive down the street to see what we can find and found the is place!
It's in a plaza and doesn't really appeal much to make u want to walk in and order but we did and was so glad we did!
I ordered Pallimino steak and my boyfriend ordered the boliche, ripe plantains and white rice. So good! Very delicious. The Boliche was very flavorful but didn't seem to be fresh ( made the same day). There were no complaints other than that.

Helpful?
Thank islandgirl4858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good cuban restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Been there also many times, the breakfast is great and lunch is also great. Very friendly staff. Priced are cheap

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
840 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“excellent meat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This meat was excellent tender, tasty with amazing flavor. I oder surgerencia del Chel with white rice, tostone. My friend order chicken in mushroom sauce with rice and bean and vegetable. Great portion cheap price, fast service and friendly staff. I will definitely come back to eat the meat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lalocadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“huge portion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Tried the restaurant based on the recommendation of the Jorge, the front desk person at the Hampton Inn which is next door to this plaza where the hotel is located

The portion were large and the food was pretty good. The wait staff was courteous and attentive

Try the cuban coffee, it was pretty good

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“yumm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

palamillo steak and yellow rice were delicious. The garlic bread they provide is delicious too. I would definitely go back

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tropico Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Tropico Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing