We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel...but one detail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Provident Doral at The Blue Miami

Save Saved
You added Provident Doral at The Blue Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Provident Doral at The Blue Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 NW 87 Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Hyatt Miami at The Blue)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Doral
Cancun, Mexico
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel...but one detail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010 via mobile

The Hotel is Good and Clean, but the Mattress is so bad!! I could not sleep the whole night...

The need to change these matresses!! Everything else is nice..

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    160
    42
    21
    17
See reviews for
147
155
27
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

The Hyatt Miami at The Blue was the best hotel experience I have ever had! My boyfriend and I were very pleased all around.....the resort was very clean and housekeeping did an excellent job of maintaining our suite every day. We stayed in the Junior Suite….EXCELLENT value!!!!!!!! We stayed on the top floor….great view of the golf course! We loved our suite so much that we took pictures before checking out:-) The food at the restaurant (5300 Chophouse) was AWESOME! We ate there every day:-) The servers were VERY friendly and we really, really enjoyed the food. Overall, the service was the BEST hands down....everyone was very nice and friendly. The location was great! Very private….we will definitely go back! As long as The Blue is there, we will ONLY stay there when visiting Miami.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

After reading reviews on Tripadvisor and Expedia, I booked the Hyatt Miami at the Blue for my wedding anniversary trip. I was very pleased with the smooth check-in, friendly staff, and even more pleased with the size of the room. I didn't realize how big the room was until I got there. It was fantastic - a king size bed with the most comfortable mattress, a living room / dining room area, and a fully equipped kitchen. A lot of thoughts went into this place - Cups, pots / pans (Cuisinart!) , plates and even paper cups in case you wanted to carry coffee outside. I loved the calm, neutral interior and tasteful decoration. And every single day, our room was meticulously rearranged and cleaned while we were out. My hubby and I will really miss the bathroom!! The shower was amazing, double sinks were awesome, and the bath tub was complete with a jacuzzi.

I can't comment on the restaurant / golf course / gym / spa because we were always out and didn't use the service.

I also loved how the hotel was generous with the towels. I've been to resorts where a fee was charged for taking towels outside of the hotel and didn't appreciate it. Not this place!! They were plenty of quality towels by the beautiful pool that you could take any time. It's funny how little thing like this can determine the impression of a hotel.

People commented on the long distance between the pool and the rooms. Because of the long distance between our room (building 13) and the pool, we always drove back and forth between the pool and the room. But I don't see how you can get around Miami without a car and you would have to rent a car anyway. So the fact that the rooms are spread out shouldn't be a problem if you have a car.

I've always vacationed in the Caribbean but I will strongly consider coming back to Miami with my family next time. And when I come back, I don't see how I will want to stay at a place other than the Blue. It's great value too in summertime. I've looked into the Hamptons, Martha's Vineyard and after comparing the prices, I decided coming to Hyatt Miami at the Blue was much better value. And it was a good decision :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Spectacular room next to pool that we owned(no one else in sight) However, waitress was not very attentive(22% tip added by hotel regardless of her service) she also did not even tell us it was happy hour & we lost about $30 there. Was gonna order dinner room serv, but was just turned off with that women. The room, patio & awesome rain shower still makes me want to go back. Booked thru hotel.com for bout $119. Little far from any atractions, but quiet & beautiful. Mentioned the pool issue to the food mgr. who was so apologetic, & wanted to make it right. I had already paid the bill, just letting him know the waitress pretty much sucked. Front desk check in/out really nice & professional. Top class in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Honestly! This jewel of a spot is an awesome resort for a wonderful get-away!

A vehicle is necessary, but local popular restaurants and shops are close by car. Beautiful tropical site and my suite was well worth a day or two in-doors. Beds extremely comfortable, huge bathrooms have separate/private enclosures for toilet - a plus when you and your mate are both using the room. Kitchen pleasant to the eye and appliances give the place a posh homey comfort. Spacious living room with sofa bed. Did not get a chance to use any of the extra amenities, due to the comfort of my room.

Far from the BEACH, but a car rental will get u there.

ONLY COMPLAINT...

I was unable to use the free internet "wirelessly". Apparently, each suite has its own wireless router. My suites' router was inoperable and upon complaint, they sent me a 25ft. ethernet cable. I was unable to use my laptop in the comfort of the bedroom; however, hard-wired it worked fine and I used from the dining area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

I was traveling for work, and this hotel was really more a resort/timeshare style place. I got into Florida exhausted and about 6 hours before check-in, but the folks at the Hyatt got me right to my room. the rooms are fantastic, although the bed was just a wee bit too soft. The pool area is amazing and the service is second to none. I found myself wanting to go back to the hotel and relax each night versus sight-seeing. Also, their in-house restaurant was superb. I always saw maintenance and cleaning folks around the massive property; they definitely keep this place top-notch.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

I stayed here for 1 night; was going to surprise the wife but alas my experience went down in flames rather quickly.

First, I arrived by car but the guy at the gate did not have the reservation sheet so it took a few minutes for him to call in and verify that I was checking in to let me in.

I went to check in. I asked about my Diamond amenity. They only offer a food option - no beverage, so I passed for points. I asked for a map of the property - none (another guest also asked and there was none). I asked about breakfast and was told I would get a voucher later.

Some good points: Free Wi-Fi, Free Parking.

The room I was given was large, spacious, nicely decorated, with a kitchen. I was very surprised and very happy with it.

Later, a knock on the door from housekeeping. I said everything was okay because I was trying to "set the mood" for the wife before her arrival. The housekeeping person came in anyway - Who does that? Only for me to see 2 people at the door.

They then proceed to offer various explanations as why I need to be moved to another room. First, there was a problem with the room. I said I was happy and they could not explain the problem. Then they said they were shutting down all the rooms, but not moving anyone else? One slipped and mentioned that this room was meant for someone else... do I detect a hint of truth? Now, I was expected to give up my SUPER room for a crappier room at the end of the property (this is a sprawling property). I was upset and felt like I was being pushed around. I said I would call a manager.

About 15 min later a manager called and explained that this hotel is an owner condo/hotel (explains larger rooms) and the owners sometimes stay and Hyatt rents them out when they are not around. Well, it seems the owner is in town and wants his room after I am checked in and settled. Granted, this all maybe within their right but as a Diamond they are certainly going about it all wrong.

The phone continued to ring a few more times, and I gave it. It was clear that they wanted the room and did not care about me - and wanted me out. I drove back to the front desk and said not to charge me and let me go. I left.

The GM called me back the next day to apologize and offered me a free stay. To be honest, I will not return. I am only grateful that this did not occur while I wife was there as I would have been very embarrassed. They are new to Hyatt and have a nice property but the seem not to be able to handle the details well, especially with elites.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Provident Doral at The Blue Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Provident Doral at The Blue Miami

Address: 5300 NW 87 Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Hyatt Miami at The Blue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Provident Doral at The Blue Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Doral, just 20 minutes west of downtown Miami. Golf fanatics, spa lovers and foodies alike will find just what they're looking for at Miami's ultimate all-suite property, Provident Doral at The Blue Miami. Overlooking the World-Famous TPC Blue Monster Golf Course, our Miami hotel sits on 17 spacious acres and boasts a free-standing clubhouse and amenities galore. Go ahead, indulge yourself. Sunbathe on the pool deck. Pamper your senses at the private spa and gym. Savor al fresco dining in the Florida sunshine at the pool bar. Retreat back to your room, where all of our spacious suites feature full kitchens. When the sun goes down, head to 5300 Chop House and Lounge, our in-house restaurant and bar. Our Miami luxury hotel is characterized by resort-style living and matched by extraordinary personal service. Provident Doral at The Blue is a once in a lifetime experience. Are you ready? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Provident Doral at The Blue Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Miami At The Blue Hotel Doral
Blue Hotel Doral
Blue Resort Doral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.