We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incidentally incidentals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Provident Doral at The Blue Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Provident Doral at The Blue Miami to your Saves list
Provident Doral at The Blue Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 NW 87 Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Hyatt Miami at The Blue)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive 15% Off
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incidentally incidentals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Beware of this hotel's deposit policy. I was advised of a $75 deposit, which I thought was standard and customary. I was not advised the deposit was $75 per night, which I found out after seeing a charge for $225. Upon speaking to management, I was advised there was nothing they could do about it.

Other than this issue, this is a wonderful hotel and I would stay here again (if I had an extra $225 to spare...lol)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt L, General Manager at Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest
I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry you were unhappy with the $75 credit card authorization per night to cover incidental charges. Please know this amount will not be charged to you unless you incurred actual charges during your stay. This was an authorization only. If for some reason the authorization has not dropped off and you did not charge anything to your room please call the hotel directly and ask for accounting and we will look into it.

Again, we are happy to hear that everything else was great and we look forward to your return visit to the hotel the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Matt Lahiff
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    179
    45
    24
    20
See reviews for
156
169
28
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here for five nights because we needed to be in Doral; because of the mixed reviews, I was leary of staying but it was a great deal and so we took a chance. It was a very happy chance and I was pleased overall.

We stayed in the first building and so it was easy to get to the lobby and the pool. The room was pleasantly appointed and we did appreciate the fridge, cooktop and dishwasher. There were pots and pans and dishes and utensils which was nice but no cooking utensils (or corkscrew). The room was a good size and the bed comfortable. I liked having a separate living area with a couch and chair and TV. Although it was all one room, it did feel nicely separated. The bathroom was large with a jetted tub and separate shower and double sinks.

The pool was lovely. The pool bar was closed the one day I managed to get out there but a waiter did make the rounds and ask if we wanted anything to eat or drink. The drink prices had the usual obscene mark ups but it's a hotel and not unexpected.

Unfortunately, work suddenly interfered and I needed to use the "business centre". This was not good news as the room was the size of a large toilet stall and about as comfortable. The internet is an unsecured connection and I could not attach the printer to my computer. When I asked about it at the front desk, I was told that I would need to use the printer in the lobby at the front desk because the printer in the business centre was broken and that I would have to use the computer in the business centre. I put my documents on a flash drive and printed them from the local computer - and then was treated to very disapproving looks while my 40 plus pages were printing out on a printer intended to print out invoices.

I also agree with some of the reviews about the staff attitudes. It was very mixed - some people were very helpful and friendly and others were not ('nuff said about that)! There seemed to be no in-between. I also agreed that parking could be an issue if you wanted to be near your building...I suspect it gets better the further away your building is...

One final matter - when I checked out I was told that the water in the fridge that had been left there was not complimentary. I objected as there were no price tags on them nor was there anything anywhere that indicated the water would be charged to my account. She removed it because I was quite correct although she indicated that "of course it's not free - who gives away bottled water?": my response was "most hotels where I stay" (I travel for business regularly)!

Overall, good value and it was clean and comfortable. I would probably stay here again if I got a great deal and had to be in or near Doral again.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in the first building and it was quiet and close to the pool and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyatt123Doral_FL, Manager at Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Greetings from Miami,

Thank you for your feedback, please accept our apology for the inconvenience experienced with parking and the charge for the water bottle in your fridge.
I sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to evaluate your recent stay. As we continue to improve our services, comments like yours provide us with valuable feedback in identifying areas that concern our guests.

Thank you for your loyalty to Hyatt and for taking the time to bring your comments to our attention.
Please feel free to contact me if I may be any assistance.
Ingrid Brocato
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

All very modern and new. The upgrade was a nice surprise and wow! These things are bigger than your average home. All very nice and great room service. The food was pretty good too. Better than expected! I would stay here again for sure. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyatt123Doral_FL, Manager at Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay.

We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us. I myself am a big fan of our guestrooms and our suites. They are truly unique and spacious!

Looking forward to your return!

Warm regards,
Ingrid Brocato
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Revamping of golf course underway along with external painting. Interior of room a pleasant surprise; very well appointed with large microwave oven, fridge/freezer as well as spacious open plan bed/living area. Downside for short business trip is absence of desk/desk light. Well equipped, small, gym attractive pool.

Staff very pleasant and efficient. Restaurant appropriate for "casual dining" limited but interesting choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyatt123Doral_FL, Manager at Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such wonderful comments! We are so glad to hear that you had a nice time during your stay with us and that you were able to enjoy our hotel's amenities! We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback and look forward to hosting your stay in the future!


Warm regards,
Ingrid Brocato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The two agents at checkin were super nice (Vanessa and her colleague whose name started with an M., I think). The Diamond fruit and drink amenity is great.
Breakfast is pretty standard, but dinner in the restaurant was out of this world. Get the Charrusco steak!
It's hotels like these why you want to stay at Hyatts!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyatt123Doral_FL, Manager at Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your review with us. It sounds like your stay was made especially enjoyable by our friendly and outgoing staff! I will certainly share your comments about Vanesa and Meryl. Each one of our team members genuinely enjoys getting to know our guests and making them feel welcome. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future. Until then, safe travels!
Ingrid Brocato
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Booked for 2 nights, stayed 4 as it was so lovely. Great and friendly service, lovely surroundings and rooms.they are redoing the holes of the golf course in front of the rooms but does not disturb. Pool area lovely and 20 min drive to Miami beach.
Good base to get to Everglades, Keys wherever, super restaurants in the area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt L, General Manager at Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for the great comments. We are happy you were able to spend a couple of extra days with us. I wish the golf course view was a little bit better than what you experienced, however, when it is completely renovated it will be stunning.

We look forward to seeing youin the future.

Matt Lahiff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel has been totally re-done and amazing. Beautiful Suites right on the Golf Course, clean, friendly staff, relaxing pool. Front desk was so accommodating.... our room was not ready when we arrived (we were early), so we had a drink outside on the comfortable couches around a fire pit. The grounds are beautiful! Water on one side, gold course on the otherf! Couldn't ask for better! Got it on Priceline for a steal... truly 4+ star!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyatt123Doral_FL, Manager at Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations with the comfort and style of our rooms and our staff . I will be sure to share your experience with our team. Also, our pool bar accommodations are always set up to impress, and we are glad you and your family agree. We hope to have you stay with us in the near future.
Best Regards,
Ingrid Brocato
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Provident Doral at The Blue Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Provident Doral at The Blue Miami

Address: 5300 NW 87 Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Hyatt Miami at The Blue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Provident Doral at The Blue Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Doral, just 20 minutes west of downtown Miami. Golf fanatics, spa lovers and foodies alike will find just what they're looking for at Miami's ultimate all-suite property, Provident Doral at The Blue Miami. Overlooking the World-Famous TPC Blue Monster Golf Course, our Miami hotel sits on 17 spacious acres and boasts a free-standing clubhouse and amenities galore. Go ahead, indulge yourself. Sunbathe on the pool deck. Pamper your senses at the private spa and gym. Savor al fresco dining in the Florida sunshine at the pool bar. Retreat back to your room, where all of our spacious suites feature full kitchens. When the sun goes down, head to 5300 Chop House and Lounge, our in-house restaurant and bar. Our Miami luxury hotel is characterized by resort-style living and matched by extraordinary personal service. Provident Doral at The Blue is a once in a lifetime experience. Are you ready? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Provident Doral at The Blue Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Miami At The Blue Hotel Doral
Blue Hotel Doral
Blue Resort Doral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.