We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms, Horrible location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Provident Doral at The Blue Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Provident Doral at The Blue Miami to your Saves list
Provident Doral at The Blue Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 NW 87 Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Hyatt Miami at The Blue)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive 15% Off
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms, Horrible location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after getting off a cruise ship early Saturday morning. After arriving at the hotel early, around 10.00am we were told our King room was not available, but a Queen room was, on saying we would prefer to wait for our King room we were promptly told check in was at 4.00pm. Is it just me or is check in getting later and later? So we went for breakfast in the restaurant and then wondered out to the pool area and sat in the recliners to wait, they were possibly the most uncomfortable pool lounges ever, not the best pool area. A medical situation then occured with my husband and we needed to locate a clinic, the reception person gave us some information, but was certainly not friendly or accomodating. After returning from the clinic, well after 4.00pm our room was ready. Without a car, we needed a ride to our room and the bellman was very friendly and accomodating. The rooms are very large, modern and clean. After being in our room for about half an hour we recieved a call confirming our check out the following morning. The hotel is in an industrial area and I would not reccommend it at all. There is NOTHING around the hotel, and unless you golf I would not reccommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    180
    45
    24
    20
See reviews for
156
171
28
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel room was spacious and so was the bathroom with its own wall TV! There is a mini kitchen with a massive fridge that dispenses cold water and ice. Unforntately, the ice machine in our room wasn't working so one had to open the freezer to get them. The ice and water area needed a good clean.
Housekeeping was good but neglected to replenish cream and sugar when we checked in so couldn't have any coffee and the next two days forgot to supply us with tea!
A nice and quiet place to stay but one has to be aware that free parking means that on some night, it's not easy to find a park near your building.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbersier, Sales Coordinator at Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your comments.

Please accept our apologies for the challenges experienced during your stay. Please note this is not the level of customer service we aim to provide and it is with your comments that we can continously improve. I will pass along your feedback to the appropriate team members so that we can prevent the same challenges from occuring in the future.

Should your travels lead you back to Miami we hope that you would allow us to host your stay.

Warm regards,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed here several times, they have only 3 times of room: studio, one bedroom and 3 bedroom, so don't get confuse by the deluxe, or other names they use. They also have "golf views" the reality is very few rooms have golf view since they all are blocked by the trees along holes number 12 and 13 of the blue monster, the only rooms with a golf view are the 3 bedrooms that go all the way up to the 3rd floor. If you see it on the outside, it's a really bad hotel, but the decoration on the inside is very nice, I don't know who the interior designer was, but they made an spectacular room with super cheap materials. All rooms have kitchen. They have a major problem with parking, looks like a lot of the owners (is a condo hotel actually) live there and have more than one car, so try to get a room by buiding #10 if you have a rental, otherwise you will need to walk a long way to your room

Room Tip: There're no golf views, unless you get a 3 bedrooms, all other rooms are blocked by the trees of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyatt123Doral_FL, Manager at Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is through comments like yours that we are able to continously improve.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future. Until then, safe travels!

Warm Regards,
Ingrid Brocato
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently for a business trip (my husband's business), and I had the pleasure of relaxing in the room for the 2 days he was working. It was WONDERFUL, the room is very large, the bed and seating areas are sooooo comfortable, the table is spacious enough to work on, the view from the balcony very tranquil, and I cannot say enough about the bathroom! The shower is amazing, very very spacious with a massive rain shower head (not to mention the TV, I'm not much of a TV watcher but got a kick out of it just the same). The tile floor beyond the shower does get incredibly slick when wet so be aware of that. The lighted closet area was terrific, with PLENTY of storage to tuck away the suitcases. The walls seem a *tiny bit* thin, as we could hear our neighbor's children and TV both nights, but our own travel fan mostly drowned it out. The kitchen was perfect for the space, and well-stocked with dishes and cookware (could have used a dishtowel or some paper towels though, had to re-purpose a hand towel for the kitchen :) The WiFi worked great, had to reset it once or twice but no big deal. If we're ever staying in the Doral area for any reason again we'll definitely make this our choice for accommodations!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbersier, Sales Coordinator at Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such wonderful comments!

We are so glad to hear that you had a nice time during your stay with us and that you were able to enjoy our hotel's amenities!

We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback and look forward to hosting your stay in the future!


Warm regards,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsandler
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was our third time staying at the blue the first when it was not under Hyatt and the last two with the Hyatt managing the resort. The rooms are spacious and clean. The front desk was very attentive and whenever I requested something they called 5 -10 minutes later to see I was satisfied. They also seem to go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. When we did have a problem like with the Internet the engineer was at our door within 5 minutes correcting the problem. My wife and I will return and I highly recommend the resort. As with any resort their will be problems but as long as their is quick attention and rectification of the problem I have no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbersier, Sales Coordinator at Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us! Your kind comments will be shared with our team as they will be glad to hear them!

We were happy to learn that this was the third time staying with us and hopefully there will be many more stays to come!

Warm regards,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed last week, is the perfect room when you travel with the family and want to play golf.Sad to say I was on a business travel. I stayed there with my associates and had to stay longer than expected, the front desk did everything they could to keep our rooms because the hotel was already booked, the manager (a lady with nice eyes) made a miracle with us. The night shift bartender was a lovely person who let us stayed after the closing hour.

Room Tip: Bring a soft pillow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbersier, Sales Coordinator at Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay with us!

We are so happy to hear that you had a lovely time with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding both our Front Office staff and our evening bartender. I will make sure to pass the positive comments along.

Should your travels lead you back to Miami we hope that you would allow us the opportunity to host your stay.

Warm regards,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Hyatt Miami at Blue for at least five weeks over the past six months, and here are my thoughts:

Pro: Rooms - The rooms at this hotel are very large, especially the bathrooms. Each room is equipped with a kitchen, balcony, living room and dining area.

Pro: Beds - At first glance, the beds don't appear comfortable, but appearances can be deceiving. I slept very well every evening.

Pro: Staff - The service at this hotel is very good. They quickly take care of requests. If valets see you walking around the property, they quickly offer you a ride in their vans or golf carts to get you where you are going.

Pro: Food - I've ordered food service and groceries multiple times here, and I have eaten at the hotel restaurant. Food was pretty good each time.

Pro & Con: I loved the pool. It was heated and is open 24 hours. However, there were a couple times when it seemed to go without a cleaning because there were plenty of leaves floating.

Overall, I consider this hotel a favorite and plan to stay there whenever I need to be in Doral.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbersier, Sales Coordinator at Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty, we are delighted to hear that you have allowed us to host your stay for several weeks.

We also would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We truly appreciate your comments and look forward to your return!

Should I be of any future assistance please do not hesitate as I will be more than happy to assist.

Warm regards,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Provident Doral at The Blue Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Provident Doral at The Blue Miami

Address: 5300 NW 87 Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Hyatt Miami at The Blue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Provident Doral at The Blue Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Doral, just 20 minutes west of downtown Miami. Golf fanatics, spa lovers and foodies alike will find just what they're looking for at Miami's ultimate all-suite property, Provident Doral at The Blue Miami. Overlooking the World-Famous TPC Blue Monster Golf Course, our Miami hotel sits on 17 spacious acres and boasts a free-standing clubhouse and amenities galore. Go ahead, indulge yourself. Sunbathe on the pool deck. Pamper your senses at the private spa and gym. Savor al fresco dining in the Florida sunshine at the pool bar. Retreat back to your room, where all of our spacious suites feature full kitchens. When the sun goes down, head to 5300 Chop House and Lounge, our in-house restaurant and bar. Our Miami luxury hotel is characterized by resort-style living and matched by extraordinary personal service. Provident Doral at The Blue is a once in a lifetime experience. Are you ready? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Provident Doral at The Blue Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Miami At The Blue Hotel Doral
Blue Hotel Doral
Blue Resort Doral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.