We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Style in Shopping Meca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Miami Doral

Save Saved
You added Aloft Miami Doral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Miami Doral
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3265 NW 107th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Modern Style in Shopping Meca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Dec. 11 - 17, 2013, Aloft Doral Miami- new hotel in the Venezuelan section of Miami. Modern decor add to the attraction. It is a popular gathering place on weekends where the happy-hour lasts for hours and hours. The Yuengling beer on tap was exceptionally cold and delicious. Try the empanadas there too. One party went on until at least 3:00 in the morning. It was of no importance this time because we were on vacation and sleeping was optional. The unique blinds, when pulled down all the way will render the room totally dark at noon if you had trouble getting to sleep the night before. We had our own party. Ice dispenser is located on the fourth floor only...halfway between all the floors.

We opted for the rate that included breakfast each morning. The price was only a few dollars more per night and as it turned out, the meals if purchased separately, would have been $10.00 per person and there were two of us so that was a bit of a savings by the end of the trip. Breakfast consisted of a buffet of pastries, breads, rolls, meat (various-it changed periodically) sausage, bacon, cheeses, scrambled eggs, fruits, cereals, coffee, tea and juices. They ended up billing our account for the breakfasts anyway. Good thing we were not in a huge hurry to get the rental car back. Most hotels will have the night auditor slip a summary of your charges under your door so you can check it before you leave. We had to ask to see the charges and verify if any of the additional food charges were not included. $70.00 off.

Parking was frequently a challenge if you arrived during happy hour and at other times as well. There was an additional, unpaved gravel area adjacent to the paved lot or you could have the valet park it for a fee. It would be more convenient if the hotel would go ahead and invest in the expansion of the parking area to avoid the frequent awkwardness of waiting for someone to come out and leave so you can avoid the gravel pit. It sucks when a patron sees you eye-balling the spot they are about to leave and they are hoping to have that spot when they return or they just want to make you wait for the one spot in the entire paved lot to vacate. But, that is just my opinion....and a hundred other guests.

Staff are all very pleasant from the friendly front-desk and barkeeps to the security staff. The housekeeper for our room was an older lady during the first few days and she was especially good to us so we made sure to leave a tip for her every day but that was true everyday for all the housekeepers. She left her tip on the table one day and when we asked "why" she said it was to avoid any confusion and if we wanted to leave something for her we should put a note on it saying it was for her. I know that is supposed to be an industry standard but this was the very first time in all of our stays around the world that we were reminded that leaving a note on the tip is what should be done all the time. I will try to remember that.

The hotel was close by many good restaurants and two major shopping malls, the International Mall and Dolphin Mall. Airline personnel are seen coming and going all the time so it adds to the credibility and reputation of their product. We met up with our family who live nearby and they were able to take us to places that serve authentic foods from Central and South America. One nearby place called Nahuen on NW 33rd was an Argentinian restaurant that had a collection of pastries, coffees, meats, wines and deserts that most Americans would love if they would ever find their way there.

Aloft Doral is an excellent option people should seriously consider if you want to eat, shop and party in Miami. Just be prepared to deal with the traffic if you plan to do it in December. Snow birds from Canada, Europe and bargain hunters from South America are there to shop as well. Parking near a mall store of your preference will be nearly impossible. I rarely experience seeing people actually dance in a parking lot over finding a spot a half mile from the mall entrance. They literally danced and smiled at us in our car as if they had just won the Mega Lottery. Crazy how little it takes to entertain some people.

Room Tip: You may want to get a room on the upper floors. Some of the parties will spill out doors as this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftDoral, General Manager at Aloft Miami Doral, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest during your recent visit to Miami!

On behalf of the entire team at The Aloft Miami Doral, we are so pleased that you were able to experience our hotel and enjoy the high service and quality levels upon which we pride ourselves.

We are addressing the parking situation and we thank you for your valuable feedback!
We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the near future!

Warm regards;

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Aloft Miami Doral, a W inspired Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    43
    7
    4
    12
See reviews for
43
23
7
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

This isn't a hotel it's a night club. If you are looking for a good nights sleep this is not the place!! We were told by 3 different employes that the loud music would stop at midnight. It is well past 1am and going strong. If you are given a room on the 2nd floor, run!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftDoral, General Manager at Aloft Miami Doral, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your recent experience at The Aloft Miami Doral.

We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay and are deeply sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations, all of which attributed to your negative feedback.

A third party company was hosting a Christmas Holiday party. Although due to finish at midnight, the party extended an additional hour, against Hotel wishes.

Please feel free to contact me directly on your next visit : Claudio.Bono@aloftmiamidoral.com.
I will make sure to reserve your accommodation on a higher floor.

Warm regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Aloft Miami Doral, a W inspired Hotel by Starwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay Village, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

First time staying at an Aloft, and not my last! I work at Dolphin Mall and wanted to be close to work during the BF madness. I chose Aloft because of its close Proximity to the mall. This Hotel is only a few months old, what a hip place to stay. The staff was very friendly. Rooms were nice and comfy. Hallway's are spacious, use of the Elevators were a breeze. There elevators are unique, cute liquid mats on the ground that moves when you step on them . The kids got a kick out of them. Great happy hour! Overall would definitely stay there again and again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftDoral, General Manager at Aloft Miami Doral, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
On behalf of the entire team at The Aloft Miami Doral, thank you for sharing the details of your recent visit to our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed the exceptional service during your recent visit and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the near future!

Warm regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Aloft Miami Doral, a W inspired Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My beau and I stayed there for a recent romantic getaway and it was a pleasure.

Pros:
The front desk check in was fast and friendly.
The suite was clean, nicely decorated, and comfortable.
Great living/dining/and bedroom area
Awesome Shower!

Cons:
Parking was packed due to happy hour; incoming guests had to park in a muddy and gravel parking space; very disappointing :(.

Room Tip: Get there early if you can to avoid parking in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftDoral, General Manager at Aloft Miami Doral, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Following your recent visit here at The Aloft Miami Doral, I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for the 5 Star ratings.

We regret to learn you had a challenge with parking. Please note we offer valet service on select nights. Even though we continuously strive to offer exceptional levels of service, it appears we fell a little short on this occasion.

We look forward to see you soon on your next visit at the Aloft Miami Doral.

Warm regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Aloft Miami Doral by W Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while attending a two-day conference. I'm glad I stayed here. I liked the whole ambience. The front area is nicely appointed-the front desk reminds me of Virgin Atlantic check-in counters-with a good bar, excellent seating seating area with nice poolside seating, and a tasteful snack shop. The elevators are just off the lobby. Decor on the room levels is nice; it feels like the designers went for trendy on a budget. All the essentials-the bed, shower, sink, the tv, etc.-were of good quality. Towels were a bit short. Room was clean and in good condition. There were some nice clever surprises. I loved the travel magazines, for example.

The wxyz bar was pleasant. It serves a great 10 dollar breakfast. The bar menu food (for dinner) was probably of the quality I'd prepare if I was eating at home. I'd like to see a little more skill in the execution of the dishes.

While there, I saw what looked like shopping tourists and business people. While not the place to go if you want the South Beach experience, this is good for those who are working or who want to shop.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftDoral, General Manager at Aloft Miami Doral, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
On behalf of the entire team at The Aloft Miami Doral, thank you for sharing the details of your recent visit to our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the Aloft Miami Doral has to offer and provided you with exceptional service during your recent visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Claudio Bono
Complex General Manager
Aloft Miami Doral, a W inspired Hotel by Starwood Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

It was great to check out this relatively new property in Doral. I had a rental car so the suburban location was not an issue for me and I enjoyed the free parking. It's about 45 minutes - 1 hr from the beach. I thought the lounge was a little noisy but I understood that the hotel was trying to make it a nightlife destination. The room was great with big picture windows, a great TV, and a very pleasant bathroom. Hotel staffers were unfailingly pleasant. I would recommend this hotel to travelers who want a safe, chic, affordable hotel. I will definitely consider staying at another Aloft hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftDoral, General Manager at Aloft Miami Doral, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor!
We thank you for your feedback and thank you for the 4 star accross the board.
We hope to see you on your next trip!

Warm regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Aloft Miami Doral - A W inspired Hotel by Starwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Aloft is a terrific hotel with great amenities. The room is very comfortable, the bed was great, the TV was hi-def, the bathroom was pleasant, and the shower had immediate hot water. There was a large safe, lots of reading material, good breakfast (not included), good bar, nice lobby furniture, and a terrific infinity pool. I would stay there anytime. Great value too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftDoral, General Manager at Aloft Miami Doral, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate a Top contributor taking the time to detail the overall experience, and we are so pleased that you had a wonderful visit at The Aloft Miami Doral.

Please feel free to contact me directly on your next visit : Claudio.Bono@aloftmiamidoral.com
We look forward to Welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Claudio Bono
General Manager
Aloft Miami Doral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Miami Doral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Miami Doral

Address: 3265 NW 107th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Miami Doral 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Doral hotel makes travel fresh and fun, with bold modern design, bright social spaces and a spirit of adventure - perfect for travelers who want unique experiences. Aloft has a variety of features like grab & go gourmet, a thriving bar scene, free WiFi and a cool concierge - each ideal for today's active lifestyle. At Aloft, energy flows and personalities mingle in free-flowing, no-walls/no-limits space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Aloft Miami Doral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Miami Doral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.