We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bug in my salad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Soo-Woo Japanese and Korean Steakhouse

Soo-Woo Japanese and Korean Steakhouse
9753 NW 41st Street, Doral, FL 33178
3054774477
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 166 restaurants in Doral
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Bug in my salad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Horrible. I am a local who usually orders take out from here and I must admit it has always been pleasant however I went to dine in this past Friday and while eating my salad found a lady bug on my lettuce. To my surprise my server was not as surprised or shocked by this. He simply hurried my salad away, came back from the kitchen with a different salad and explained that things are constantly flying around the kitchen. I was never approached by a manager and was simply discounted a desert I didn't ask for. I must say I will not return I was very disappointed by their poor handling of this situation and their lack of concern for me the customer. Needless to say I spent the night in the restroom. Sad b/c I had never encountered a problem here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

44% Recommend
    8
    5
    6
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The food was good, BUT,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I didn't expect them to add the 18% gratuity to a check for 1, I didn't notice it and added a tip on top! Hope they enjoyed it, I will not be back!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Terrible, expensive, bad service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Out of 4 dishes that I tried nothing was worth it. Don't understand why the place was packed but the only thing we liked was the $1 beer deal.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Everyone's There”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Soo Woo is a place that you will see your neighbor & visitors eating at. Good Asian (Japanese & Korean) food. Families enjoy the show at the grill & couples like the tables to be alone. Food is good & value typical prices in the US for this type of food.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and very tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The restaurant is split into 2 halves, Japanese to the right, Korean to the left. We visited the Japanese side. The chefs were very personable and skilled as they cooked the meals right before us. They teased the children playfully, built flaming onions, made large hearts from the rice (and "broke" them, lol), and flipped chicken from the grill directly into our mouths. Never enjoyed cooking so much. Then the food was positively delicious! From the soup to the vegetables to the rice to the meats, all was perfect. Meanwhile the wait staff was very attentive to drinks and such. All-in-all, this was a perfect visit. For pricing, we ordered "middle-of-the-road" choices, with no desert and water to drink. Figure $40/ person, including gratuity.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soo-Woo Japanese and Korean Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Soo-Woo Japanese and Korean Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soo-Woo Japanese and Korean Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.