We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but overpriced.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Il Forno Ristorante

Il Forno Ristorante
9350 NW 25th Street, Doral, FL 33
305-599-4178
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Forno Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 190 Restaurants in Doral
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food, but overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The food was good but highly overpriced especially when you consider its location. The Restaurant is surrounded by a large parking lot, but they force you to valet parking only without any other option.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciro M, General Manager at Il Forno Ristorante, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We take great pride in serving the best Italian cuisine in Doral with high quality and fresh ingredients. We hope to see you dine with us again soon.
We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with the valet parking. We offer complimentary valet parking to make it easier for our guests.

Sincerely,
Ciro Maneri, General Manager/Co-owner
Il Forno Ristorante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    16
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Food is very good, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had the specialty of the house, the pear ravioli. They were excellent although the portion are quite small. We shared a bruschetta for a hors-d'oeuvre and this was just enough for us but we are not big eaters.

We arrived early and got a parking spot free. if you arrive later, there are lots of people and parking is expensive (valet only). There were only two parking spots that were free. It's hard to understand that in place such as Doral, you have to park valet (and it's expensive). This is not South Beach.....

I had made a reservation and thought they would give us the best table. We were seated in the middle of the room, where all the traffic is. I spotted the tables outside with a view on the water and asked to be moved. So, if you want a better sport you have to be proactive. Service was amicable and quick. Prices were a little over the top.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciro M, General Manager at Il Forno Ristorante, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with the valet parking. We offer complimentary valet parking to make it easier for our guests. We hope to see you dine with us again soon.
Sincerely,
Ciro Maneri, General Manager/Co-owner
Il Forno Ristorante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyersburg, Tennessee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Decent Italian restaurant to try out.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I walked from our hotel for dinner one evening to Il Forno. We sat on the back patio which was fun to sit by the water. Unfortunately the plastic weather shades surrounding the patio are very dirty and kind of hard to see out plus it's right next to your table. Service was average...there weren't many people eating there when we arrived but much fuller when we left. The bread was different and good. I had linguini with chicken and my wife had a filet. Both were decent but we agreed the meal at Macaroni Grill the following night not far away was better. The Ferrari parked outside as we left was a fun addition to the Italian experience. We are from out of town and will try something else if in town again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciro M, General Manager at Il Forno Ristorante, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Randymagoo,
We are sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience. We really appreciate your feedback and hope you give us a chance to make it right. We always strive for our guests to have a wonderful dining experience, paralleled by exquisite cuisine and impeccable service. Thanks again for your candid feedback.
Sincerely,
Ciro Maneri, General Manager/Co-owner
Il Forno Ristorante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

While explaining my utter dislike of this Italian restaurant in Doral my friend recommend IL Forno Ristorante. She said she always got the Ravioli stuff with pears in a cream sauce. That instantly got my attention. So I read the reviews and noted that the food got high marks but there were some issue or complaints with the service. My friend even confirmed she had the same issues with the service. Well all I can say is set aside some extra time and endure the poor service because the food is well worth the wait. I had the Ravioli stuffed with pumpkin in a cream sauce. OMG. A little on the pricey side for a lunch but I left satisfied that I had a really good meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciro M, General Manager at Il Forno Ristorante, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We hope to see you dine with us again soon.
Sincerely,
Ciro Maneri, General Manager/Co-owner
Il Forno Ristorante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food & friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Everyone that waited on us was very friendly and attentive; although for a Sat night, it wasn't very busy. Our waiter seemed just as comfortable being personable with us as he was discreet with the romantic couple at the other end of the patio.
We began with a caprese & a carpaccio starter that were both delicious. Next our ravioli & risotto entries were just as tasty. We finished by splitting a devine chocolate mousse and were quite stuffed and happy. The prices are higher but it really feels like you are getting quality products.
Il Forno was recommended to us by some locals and they certainly came through for us!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciro M, General Manager at Il Forno Ristorante, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

We are happy you enjoyed the ambiance and especially the food. Thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Ciro Maneri, General Manager/Co-owner Il Forno Ristorante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Forno Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Il Forno Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Forno Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.