We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rundown and Dated Intercon” 2 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental at Doral Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental at Doral Miami to your Saves list
InterContinental at Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Doral
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Rundown and Dated Intercon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

LOCATION

Doral is not an ideal area if you are trying to visit Miami. I would only suggest staying in the area if you are attending a conference at the Trump or other neighboring hotels. No good restaurants and shops and it is far from most places in Miami that you would want to visit.

AMENITIES
Overall the venue looks and feels much more like a holiday inn than a intercon. I frequently stay at IHG establishments and tend to think of intercontinental as higher end. Unfortunately that was not the case with the doral venue. All of the decor is incredibly dated, the pool looks awful and I didn't find the staff very helpful in my stay. My room also had a strange odor and humid feel.

One puls is the beds are very comfy but other then that it isn't work the lost cost in my opinion.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    269
    92
    34
    26
See reviews for
143
210
47
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We pick up this hotel at the first time because we have enrolled their program which allows us to upgrade the room and have free breakfast. We were 5, my wife and our sons. The other reason was that we have to buy things and the Dolphin mall is pretty close. Rooms are under Intercontinental standards which are excellent but it is not an airport hotel, it is 20 minutes from the airport. Shuttle goes one by hour and stop running at 10 pm. They have free parking for the car but it is a little more expensive than the other airport hotels and the shuttle limitation. Think it twice if what you need is an airport hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I came with my 5 month old baby in November to the hotel. I asked for crib in advance - there eas no crib in the room when I arrrived, had to ask twice the reception till I got it.
room service - I asked for water without gas - got with gas. I asked few times whether the onion soup has any kind of meat or chicken broth and got very rude and unprofessional answers. The ¨cherry¨was when i asked the woman in the buissness center to help me find out (it is an airport hotel) if i had a bassinette on the next day flight and she suggested that I will go (it was 8 pm) with the baby to the airport and find out myself. She did not understand why I was amzed by her answer....TThe next day I complained about this lady and they ask if they can help me in anything I just asked for a bottle of water - NEVER GOT IT

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Continental for one night ahead of a cruise around the Caribbean., sailing from Fort Lauderdale, about 40 minutes drive away. We found the Continental hotel in Miami to be of a very good general standard. The service at the front desk was efficiently dealt with with by pleasant staff and the room really was very nice. Spacious, very clean with a sizeable comfortable bed and a super well appointed bathroom We had dinner in the restaurant that evening and a very nice breakfast the following morning before checking out. I suppose the only downside is it's location, in so far as, it's not really very close to anything. I believe there is a Walmart about 20 mins walk away. All in all a very nice stay in a very pleasant adequate hotel. We would certainly recommend this hotel!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
372 reviews 372 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night recently on a business trip. The staff at the front desk was very friendly. The room was clean but kind of small. Bed was comfortable. It is a nice hotel but does not seem to be up to the Intercontinental name brand. There is not much within walking distance of the hotel. I did not have any problem with the noise level and I was on the fourth floor. One bonus is that there is free parking. Overall, nice hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Mark0076,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel. We’re glad you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of the rooms. It’s great you took advantage of our free parking. We also have a free shuttle bus service that takes you to and from the airport and mall for all our guests, so you may take advantage of this on your next visit.
It’s great to know you had a wonderful stay and we hope to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From arriving at the airport and joining the hotel shuttle we couldn't have felt more special. The driver was courteous and insisted on putting our luggage onboard for us. Check in was great the staff welcomed us back and gave us information on the restaurant and shops in the vicinity. Room was large, airy and fully equipped. We can't wait to go back next month! Really quiet in the hotel although it had at least two cruises leaving from it on the same day.

Definitely worth having the breakfast after a good nights sleep, we think it is very reasonable. Enjoy

Room Tip: All the rooms we have used have been good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Google Translation
Estimado DoctorGalo,

Gracias por compartir su comenatarios. Estamos felices de saber haya disfrutado su estancia! Ciertamente tenemos espacio para reuniones de negocios, así como simplemente una pequeña reunión de amigos para disfrutar. Nos complace que haya tenido un tiempo fantástico.

Esperamos sirvile de nuevo pronto,
InterCotinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an Intercontinental in name only. Very nice, helpful staff, though the gent at the front desk suggested that I cross the street and go to a convenience store at 10 PM for a snack but neglected to mention that my room had a minibar, which I located the next morning. The property is a bit threadbare, not particularly clean and certainly not up to a luxury standard. More along the lines of the Holiday Inn brand. The hotel is also under construction, so the 'restaurant' is actually the lobby and the 'bar' is a service bar used for banquets that's been rolled out into the lobby. The chaise lounges by the pool are worn out, with holes through the upholstery in some cases. A bit grim but near the airport.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear JDC10001,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We’re glad you enjoyed the helpful staff. It’s unfortunate we were not up to your standards but we are remodeling and we hope you visit us soon once the renovations are complete.

Regards,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental at Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental at Doral Miami

Address: 2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Doral
#1 Green Hotel in Doral
#2 Family Hotel in Doral
#2 Romantic Hotel in Doral
#4 Business Hotel in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental at Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental at Doral Miami is located in the heart of the city of Doral within 4 miles of Miami's two largest malls - International and Dolphin, business parks and next to an array of entertainment choices like sports bars and trendy restaurants to choose from. Only 7 miles away from the International Airport, offering complimentary shuttle service every hour on the hour (6a-10p). Our guestrooms have soundproof windows, custom mattresses, LCD, rain showers and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental at Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental At Doral Miami Hotel Doral
Intercontinental Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental at Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.