We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre Cruise - One night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental at Doral Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental at Doral Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental at Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Doral
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Pre Cruise - One night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Comfortable, clean, hotel with efficient and friendly Hispanic staff. Arriving after long delayed flight from London we received a very friendly greeting and asked if we needed any light refreshments etc. Good nights sleep in very comfortable room and usual huge USA breakfast, if a little overpriced. For a short stay with good links to the airport this hotel was fine. Transfers the following morning were well organised to port and all in all it got the holiday off to a good start - more than you can say for the BA flight from London Heathrow.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear PotsUK,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope you had a great time during the rest of your trip.

We hope to serve you again soon,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    232
    82
    27
    25
See reviews for
125
179
46
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We had two nights here before flying out of Mia early morning and it is a very nice hotel with great rooms, pool, staff etc.

I would say though that if you are looking to explore miami or go to south beach that doral is way too far away particularly with how bad the traffic is in miami.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Michael O.,

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear your thoughts about our amenities and hope to serve you again soon.

Best,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights prior to a cruise from Miami. This is not the type of luxurious IC hotel you would expect and the price reflects this. Reception was swift and cordial. We had arrived early and the room was not quite ready. When we accessed our room, there was a very odd almost fishy smell. I reported to housekeeping and they came immediately with air freshener, which masked the smell temporarily. The smell came back but I did not mention again. The hotel in general has a dated feel but the room was comfortable, the bathroom had a tub and was full marble.
The club lounge had a limited selection of canapes during cocktail hour and waiter service for drinks on the Saturday we were there. On the Sunday, there was a sign indicating self service bar and a limit of 2 alcoholic beverages per person.This was something I had never before seen in an IC lounge, but was generally ignored by the guests!
The pool area was clean, spacious and comfortable, with a large pool and an assortment of loungers.
I would return as it is good value if you need to be in the Miami area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Racoon12345,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about your experience with us! We have taken notes of your comments and will use them to improve the quality of our services. However, we are glad to hear you enjoyed our pool and took advantage of the Club Lounge. We do hope you choose to stay with us when you return to Miami.

Best,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Our family of four stayed here due to an overnight layover in Miami. The shuttle was very convenient and prompt both from and to the airport. The front desk was very helpful and the room was clean and quiet. We ate at the onsite restaurant and had excellent food and service. The Key Lime Pie was terrific.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear SaxonDog,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us! We are glad to hear you took advantage of our shuttle and enjoyed our restaurant. It's great to hear your kind words about our staff.

We hope to serve you again soon,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

One. Checking took way too long...the person helping us check in would leave to help anther agent next to us...twice, leaving us sitting there for five minutes at a time after she had already started working with us. The people behind us were none too happy either.

Two. We had a beautiful room on the first floor overlooking the pool with sheer curtains defining a private patio area. Looked enchanting, so we went out only to discover an overwhelming stench. It smelled a big party 'the day after' with the smell of dead cigarettes. It was so bad, we retreated to the room immediately...the problem is that the smell wafted into the room.

Three...minor problem, but the bathtub would not drain. Shower water was still in the tub in the morning. Maintenance not kept up.

Four...a pet peeve of mine. We were a party of two and had a wonderful breakfast...only to be insulted by having the TIP added to the bill. This kind of policy offends customers and cheats servers who would otherwise receive a better tip.

All in all, it did not add up to the first rate experience you would expect at this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Gene H.,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share comments about your recent stay with us. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced and will make sure management knows of them. We will take these notes to improve the services we offer.

We hope to serve you again soon,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We only stayed at this hotel for one night but found it very comfortable. Huge comfy bed and nice sized bathroom. We ate at the grill restaurant in the evening where the food was very good and not overpriced. Breakfast was more expensive but there was a good choice. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear YorkielassEngland,

We are thankful for your kind comments and do hope you choose to stay with us again when you return to Miami.

InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night on 18th March before joining a cruise ship.
We found the hotel to be very comfortable. The room was large and beautifully clean.
We had dinner at the hotel and chose the fixed price menu which was around $28.00 per person. We had soup, steaks and vegetables and finished off with Key Lime Pie which was lovely. The hotel staff were all very friendly and efficient and were happy to answer any questions that we had.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear SuzieB486,

We are so happy to hear how thoroughly you enjoyed your stay here in Miami--especially the Key Lime Pie! We hope your cruise was relaxing and fun.

Safe travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental at Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental at Doral Miami

Address: 2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental at Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental at Doral Miami is located in the heart of the city of Doral within 4 miles of Miami's two largest malls - International and Dolphin, business parks and next to an array of entertainment choices like sports bars and trendy restaurants to choose from. Only 7 miles away from the International Airport, offering complimentary shuttle service every hour on the hour (6a-10p). Our guestrooms have soundproof windows, custom mattresses, LCD, rain showers and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental at Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental At Doral Miami Hotel Doral
Intercontinental Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental at Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.