We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business hotel by the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental at Doral Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental at Doral Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental at Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Doral
GreenLeadersSilver level
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice business hotel by the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel is a business travel hotel. It's functional, good accommodations and close to the airport. There are many restaurants and stores nearby.

Pros: proximity to the airport and many large corporate headquarters. The hotel also provides great sound insulation from the planes flying overhead.

Cons: It's nothing special - not by the water, not by the golf course and it is just a "plain Jane" hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear B. S.,

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear you took advantage of our location and enjoyed our accommodations.

Hope to see you again soon,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    232
    82
    27
    25
See reviews for
125
179
46
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stay one night to catch our flight the next day.
The hotel is just OK. Really!! The shuttle driver on the night of January 9th was very odd. The trip to the hotel started normal. The driver wasn't friendly but we didn't mind as we didn't feel talking anyway. We got on the highway and he just pulled over, stopped open his driver door and walked to the back of the shuttle. I got really scared and pulled my phone ready to dial 911. He came back after a short while and I asked what is the problem and never answered me. It was all very strange. This all happened about 9ish pm. We arrived at the hotel and a very friendly young lady checked us in. She was the only friendly person in the hotel. Dinner was just terrible, rude server who kept reminding us the restaurant will be closed soon.
I will never stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Tessandlyle,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Our guests are top priority, therefore we will make sure management receives your comments so they can use them to improve the quality of our services.

We hope you do choose to stay with us again,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and chose it because it was close to the airport. The rooms are spacious and well-equipped. The room service is efficient. The airport shuttle only runs between 6am and 10pm.
It is a 15-min drive to Dolphin mall.
There is not much around except a mcdonald and a few restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Magosin M,

Thanks for sharing your comments with us. We're glad to hear you took advantage of our location and services.

Hope to serve you again soon,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My family and I stayed here over the holidays and I am not sure how this hotel qualifies as an Intercontinental. It does not look, feel or have a location like any other Intercontinental that I have experienced. It does not register with me. It is hidden and no doubt a great deal but to call this property an Intercontinental is a stretch of someone's vast imagination.

It is a fair full service business hotel with a fair location but that is about it. The onsite club level lounge is nice and the hours of operation were very generous but they frequently ran out of things because of this.

I would not return to this hotel and I would not go here if I am looking for a true Intercontinental experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a club level room with lounge access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Travelbug73,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We will pass your comments regarding the club level lounge along to our management team so they can use them to improve the quality of the services offered.

We do hope to serve you again if you choose to return to Miami,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

I was in area for business. The accommodations were very nice, being by airport well sound proofed. The restaurant limited can offer better morning coffe service Also staff that speaks better English would be nice for the united states

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Mark K,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We will take your comments into consideration to improve the quality of our services.

We hope you choose to stay with us again,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I am sorry to say I was very disappointed by this hotel, I previously stayed at various InterContinental hotels around the world and it was always pleasant stay in true five stars properties , InterContinental Doral is just an airport hotel like many others around Miami International Airport , for transiting passengers and this can be felt as you arrive at the check in counter in the lobby , lots of people queuing , only three counters to deal with no dedicated counter to card holders and because so many people were checking in at the same time the welcome was quick and brief and I was given a room with no explanation , the result was a room on the second floor facing the elevators and as I closed the door I could hear everyone getting out of the lift talking loud , so I decided to go back to the reception desk as I really wanted a quiet room for a nice and quiet night but after queuing another 10 minutes and explaining my disappointment I was told this was the only room available in my category abruptly and was not offered to pay for an upgrade despite holding a priority club card.

The result was I heard people in front of the room talking loud all night long !

The swimming pool is the only attraction at this hotel but in December it is under the shade soon in the afternoon and the water is very cold despite the hot temperature outside.

Also beware of the shuttle schedule as it is not advertised on the hotel website it only runs once per hour so if you missed it by five minutes at the airport you will have to wait quite a while before reaching the hotel !

Finally the breakfast is correct but expensive.

I will certainly not return to this hotel despite InterContinental is generally a very good brand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear 75014Paris,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our guests are top priority, therefore we will be taking your review into consideration and making notes from it to improve the quality of our services.

We hope you choose to return to our hotel and to serve you again soon,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

my wife and myself stayed at this hotel recently unfortunately for only one night as we were on a cruise the next day.we found the staff very helpful and the ammenities very good it has a nice swimming pool and the restaurant is very good the rooms were very clean and quite large the hotel is situated very near the airport which makes it ideal for transfers it is situated near a few bars and restaurants. my wife and i really enjoyed our stay here and will recommend it to anyone we will stay a bit longer next time thanks paul / gillian

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade you might get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Paulburns,

Thank you for you compliments! We are glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and our amenities. Its always good to hear such kind feedback from our guests.

We hope you choose to stay with us again,
Intercontinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental at Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental at Doral Miami

Address: 2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental at Doral Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental at Doral Miami is located in the heart of the city of Doral within 4 miles of Miami's two largest malls - International and Dolphin, business parks and next to an array of entertainment choices like sports bars and trendy restaurants to choose from. Only 7 miles away from the International Airport, offering complimentary shuttle service every hour on the hour (6a-10p). Our guestrooms have soundproof windows, custom mattresses, LCD, rain showers and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental at Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental At Doral Miami Hotel Doral
Intercontinental Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental at Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.