We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay, but everything is way overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental at Doral Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental at Doral Miami to your Saves list
InterContinental at Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Doral
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent stay, but everything is way overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed at the this hotel twice (both times for 1 week) between April and May 2013. I liked the hotel, and most of the staff was really friendly and helpful. I asked for late check-outs both times, and they happily accommodated me.
What I didn't like:
- you have to pay for everything! Breakfast, internet, an extra bottle of water. I know my company will cover it for me, but it still seems strange to be paying for WIFI, I haven't paid for WIFI while traveling for business for while..
- breakfast: really good selection: from healthy to hearty, but 23 bucks for breakfast every days is way too much
- you can't open a window.. I don't know, maybe the area around the hotel is extremely dangerous (didn't look like it though!), but it really bothered me that I could not get any fresh air in the room

On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable, and the in-room service was super quick

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Alina_Austin,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay here at the InterContinental at Doral Miami.
It is great to have this honest feedback so we can better service you in the future.
These points you have highlighted is something that we will look into, and see if we can improve for our guests.
On a lighter note, it’s great that you were able to rest in our comfortable beds.

We look forward to seeing you again here soon.

Regards,

InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    248
    85
    29
    25
See reviews for
134
192
46
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The staff at this upscale hotel were professional, helpful and courteous with the exception of the servers at our conference meals who seemed over zealous, often removing plates while diners were still using their forks! I cannot say if this was due to instructions given by conference planning staff, but it was very disturbing, especially in the company of guests known to have chewing and swallowing problems and often needing extra time to eat a meal. It was also a huge distraction as several meals included speakers or round table discussions.
On a more personal note, my bed was apparently made up incorrectly so that under the sheet there was a full waterproof pad that crinkled, was lumpy, and, because it did not breathe, made me feel as if I was wearing rubberized pajamas! I discovered this on my own after the first restless night and removed it. When I tried to discuss this with the front desk staff, they did not seem to "get it" so neither explained nor apologized until I mentioned that I intended to review their hotel. Then I got weak "sorry about that".

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Marilyn B,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.
It is a pleasure to hear you refer to our staff as professionals, courteous and helpful.
I would like to apologies for your unpleasant experience with our beds making your nights restless. Truly sorry we did not meet your expectation here.
We have made this issue aware in our housekeeping department to avoid this happening again.
We hope to welcome you back in the future to regain your trust and confidence.

Regards,

InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a one night stay prior to a cruise. We had stayed there before and certainly will again. The room was very clean, large, very comfortable bed and a well equipped efficient bathroom. The room was also very quiet. We had just had a nine hour flight from London plus a couple of hours at Miami Airport in line at Immigration so what we needed was a perfect night sleep and that is what we got. It was nice to then relax in the garden prior to our departure to Port Everglades.
The Front Desk staff were very efficient and friendly. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear John H,

It is great to know you are a repetitive guest with us and that we are your lodging preference when visiting Miami. It is always great to welcome prior guests back to our wonderful property.
We have the Best Rest philosophy and are truly pleased to see that you were able to experience it, we take pride in all the wonderful comments we receive regarding our sleeping accommodations.
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding our staff, we will share with our front desk colleagues how pleasant your experience was due to their level of service and friendliness.

We are looking forward for your next stay with us.

Regards,

InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Maybe I was spoilt as I had just come from the InterCon in downtown Miami. That is one fantastic hotel and I'll be reviewing that shortly. It is everything that the InterCon brand stands for - fanastic service and great rooms. Added to that they deliver what they promise to their Ambassador members.

Comparing that to this property and it falls oh so far short. At the front desk I was told my Royal Ambassador membership had expired. It hadn't. That didn't seem to make any difference to the rather off hand person at check in "if I wanted to complain" were the exact words out of his mouth. Not off to a great start.

No room upgrade and no other associated benefits that you get from the (paid for) Ambassador program. But hey, only there for one night I thought.

Room is perfectly adequate and if it was a Holiday Inn you wouldn't think twice. But it says InterContinental above the door and you expect a much higher standard than this. So, room was clean, bed was comfortable, but don't expect all the touches you might get from the great IC's in places like NYC or Singapore.

On check out I was told the bill was all ok and no additional charges. You know what's coming now I bet. An additional charge that is showing up on my credit card now. So, that will all take time to sort out.

And now, for the final bit that you can't make up. The ride to the airport.

Well, all of us were luckly to have made it alive to the terminal. The driver feel asleep at the wheel. Fortunately whilst we were stopped at the lights. I thought he was ill at first and then he woke up. The rest of the journey was him weaving across the median line.

All in all, percectly adequate, but don't mistake it for being of a normal IC (high) standard. Plenty of better places to stay if you are wanting to spend a night or two at Miami airport. Or even better, stay at the fantastic IC downtown if that's convenient for you.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Frequent Traveller from Scotland,
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
We appreciate your comments.
As per the email we previously sent to you, we have taken care of the credit card situation.
One more time we would like to thank you for your comments. And we will ensure you that they will be taken into considerations.

Regards,

InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel beginning of April just for one night before embarking a cruise and was very impressed with the overall standard. The hotel is large and not very imposing from the exterior. However, the rooms were excellent, large and well equipped with top quality linen and the bathroom was large and with again fine towels and toiletries.

We found all the staff to be courteous and very friendly. We ate in the restaurant which had a Mexican feel and the menu was interesting. The food was top quality and the waiters very attentive.

The hotel has a small outdoor pool to the rear which is very attractive with very comfortable loungers. All in all excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear LindylouMiltonKeynes,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review of our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our amenities were to your likings.
We are always happy to assist our guest and make them feel like home.
Next time you visit Miami, we hope that we can be your preferred choice of lodging.

Regards,

InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Came here after Embassy Suites had no water. It was clean, modern and convenient.
Definitely recommend.
Downside is shuttle service stops at 10:20PM. Not convenient.
Ready shuttle reuse back to airport. Taxi is about $30.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear CAevents,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our accommodations were to your likings. We hope to be your choice of lodging again, next time you visit Miami.

Regards,

InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyersburg, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

In town for a nearby conference. The room price was decent with the group rate. Rooms were nice. They provide an I've bucket but you have to call for I've and it could take a while. The one service issue we ran into was with the older man at the lobby desk. My wife asked if the mall shuttle bus, which we'd ridden before, had come and he said it should be there shortly. She asked partly to clue them in that she was waiting for it. So my wife sat outside watching for it and fifteen minutes later it hadn't come. She went back inside and asked again about the shuttle this time being told it has already come. My wife knew it hadn't having had been watching for it. The guy then was nearly yelling at her despite her asking him to keep his voice down. When my wife got more upset and raised her voice back he finally backed off. Mean while the whole lobby was watching. Not a very friendly customer service encounter. I will say that he was the only one we had trouble with and the rest of the concierge was very helpful. We are dessert in the hotel restaurant one night which was nice. M&Ms were ordered as an ice cream topping. There was only 4 M&Ms. All that said, I would stay here again if needing to be in Doral. If you want to visit downtown it the beach area you may want to stay closer as a taxi ride is about $45 one way. The complimentary hotel shuttle to the airport is nice. Just beware it is a smaller shuttle so if the hotel is full get down to it early to make sure you get a seat. I ended up sitting on the shuttle steps just inside the door.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Randymagoo,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay with us.
We are sorry to hear that you encountered some inconveniences during your last stay.
Rest assure that all have been addressed with the appropriate departments to ensure they do not repeat in the future. Guest satisfaction and service are our main concern.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Regards,

InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental at Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental at Doral Miami

Address: 2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental at Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental at Doral Miami is located in the heart of the city of Doral within 4 miles of Miami's two largest malls - International and Dolphin, business parks and next to an array of entertainment choices like sports bars and trendy restaurants to choose from. Only 7 miles away from the International Airport, offering complimentary shuttle service every hour on the hour (6a-10p). Our guestrooms have soundproof windows, custom mattresses, LCD, rain showers and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental at Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental At Doral Miami Hotel Doral
Intercontinental Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental at Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.