We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental at Doral Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental at Doral Miami to your Saves list
InterContinental at Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Doral
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Our family was recently in Miami and needed to overnight and we stayed here for 1 night.
The hotel is a 4 star and in close proximity to the airport. I bid on Priceline and got it for $118.00 per room.
Clean and nice hotel. The beds are so comfortable you could sleep through your wake-up call.
Not bad for the price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear drgreatoe,

Thank you for the comment and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope next time you are in Miami you will consider us again.

Regards,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    237
    83
    28
    25
See reviews for
126
182
46
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel had the worst service EVER! Although they appeared to have numerous staff around the property at any given time, no one tended to those at the pool, and even simple requests went ignored. Prices for drinks were expensive, which would have been fine if there was any alcohol actually put in the drinks. There were very few staff who understood or spoke English. One day I had to write my order on the waiter's pad, and all I wanted was a ham and swiss sandwich served by the pool. That was CLEARLY way too much to ask for. Just one example of the poor service encountered the entire visit.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel if you want any service
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Please accept our apologies for the bad service you encountered at our pool during your stay. It is regretful that you were not able to enjoy yourself and that you experienced the issues that you did. This is not the kind of service we aim to provide our guests and we have taken a few measures to make sure this does not happen in the future.

We appreciate your business and would love to have you back soon.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Once past an attractive lobby you will think you're staying in a lesser class hotel with lesser values. Carpet on my room is stained, desk chair is badly torn, dresser outdated and you can only get ice via the front desk. I suggest saving your money by staying in cheaper hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We regret that you found your room to be outdated and that your desk chari was torn and carpet stained. That is definitely not something we want our guests to encounter when they come into their rooms.
The reason we do not provide ice on our floors is to not disturb our guests with the noise of the machines as we do have a "Best Rest" motto. We feel that being able to provide ice to our guests personally, allows us to interact more with our guests.
We would like to inform you that we are in the final stages of designs and then renovations for our guest rooms will begin shortly after. We hope that this is a good reason for you to come back and try us again.
We apologize for not being able to impress you the way we wish to impress each and every one of our guests, so we hope that you may give us a second chance to wow you.

We hope to serve you again in the near future.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I generally try to stay away from dinners at a hotel. I opt for more local, traditional fare. One exception, however, is the Armillary Grill at the Hotel Intercontinental Doral in Miami. The menu is extensive and includes items that represent the local diversity. They also feature special menus throughout the year. For example, famous chef La Pepa from Spain is visiting over the next couple of weeks as guest chef whipping up incredible Spanish fare.

I live in Miami and often choose Armillary Grill for a great meal. My favorite appetizer? The tomato soup is AWESOME! They've taken a simple, comfort food and made it a must-have!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us.
We are thrilled that you enjoy our Armillary Grill restaurant so much and glad that you were able to try the authentic Spanish dishes La Pepa offered our guests during her last visit with us.
We hope that you may continue treating yourself at our restaurant and that we can always provide you with great service and menu items that you enjoy so much.

We hope to have you back in the near future.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for two nights prior to a cruise. Staff were very good, friendly and efficient. Loved the rooms, quite old fashioned but I really liked that, large room, massive bed which was very comfy , good bathroom and very clean. Did not eat at the hotel but had a glass of wine in the bar which was fine. Nice little gift shop where you could buy bottles of water etc. Also a taxi rank outside which was handy. Very busy road outside which was not easy to cross, but some shops, restaurants in the area - Wendy's, McDs, Shortys BBQ, and an excellent Walmart within walking distance. Although away from downtown Miami, it really wasn't far in a taxi or that expensive, and have to say, this would not stop us staying here in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully next time you can enjoy our restaurant or room service menu. Your positive feedback will be shared with our staff so that they know to keep up the good work.

We hope to be able to serve you again in the near future.

Thank you again and we appreciate your business.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I asked at the lectern outside the restaurant regarding breakfast and was told it was a buffet and would cost 15 dollars each person. the buffet was quite good, but the crunch came when I was presented with the bill, to which had been added a service charge + the local sales tax, meaning that the 15 dollars was now 20 dollars. I took exception to this as I was not informed prior to entering the restaurant, and was referred to the duty manager, who gave me a form to complete. The form was headed "what would you change if you we're the General Manager", so completed it and handed it back to the front desk telling them they were conning overseas visitors. However, the charge was NOT amended. That was in December 2011. I returned in December 2012 and found no changes had been made. This time we went across the road to Dunkin Donuts, and that was great with no hidden extras. Other reviewers mentioned a charge for wifi,which in my opinion is another profit making exercise, so hope that on my next visit this has been changed to free wifi. I now have an iPad!!! Other than that the hotel is fine for one night prior a cruise.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We sincerely apologize for not giving you a more accurate price and not letting you know ahead of time that the price was not including tax and gratuity. We should have been more specific when you asked the price so that you had no surprises at the end as you did. The majority of restaurants are now including the service charge into the bill but we do understand your position on this. We will have our Director of Food and Beverage take a look at it. We have educated our staff to be more specific as to the prices of our menus so that we can provide accuracy to our guests in the future, should this question arise again.

Again, we apologize for the miscommunication that caused your experience to be anything but great. We hope that you may return to give us a second opportunity and enjoy the service we enjoy providing our guests with.

Thank you again.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DF
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed with the family and had a great time, all staff was helpful. But Alex Garcia and Lourdes from the sales team were just outstanding. They help us with all our business and advice in our personal trip.

The hotel is great and everything works find in rooms I did not had a chance to enjoy the pool but my family did.

Room Tip: Great location for business and shopping get a club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. It is great to know that you enjoyed yourself along with your family and that you have experienced such great hospitality from Alex and Lourdes; we will be sure to show them your comment.
Hopefully when you visit us again, you'll be able to enjoy the pool.
Thank you again.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental at Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental at Doral Miami

Address: 2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental at Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental at Doral Miami is located in the heart of the city of Doral within 4 miles of Miami's two largest malls - International and Dolphin, business parks and next to an array of entertainment choices like sports bars and trendy restaurants to choose from. Only 7 miles away from the International Airport, offering complimentary shuttle service every hour on the hour (6a-10p). Our guestrooms have soundproof windows, custom mattresses, LCD, rain showers and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental at Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental At Doral Miami Hotel Doral
Intercontinental Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental at Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.