We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at a hotel?? YES!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental at Doral Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental at Doral Miami to your Saves list
InterContinental at Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Doral
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Dinner at a hotel?? YES!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I generally try to stay away from dinners at a hotel. I opt for more local, traditional fare. One exception, however, is the Armillary Grill at the Hotel Intercontinental Doral in Miami. The menu is extensive and includes items that represent the local diversity. They also feature special menus throughout the year. For example, famous chef La Pepa from Spain is visiting over the next couple of weeks as guest chef whipping up incredible Spanish fare.

I live in Miami and often choose Armillary Grill for a great meal. My favorite appetizer? The tomato soup is AWESOME! They've taken a simple, comfort food and made it a must-have!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us.
We are thrilled that you enjoy our Armillary Grill restaurant so much and glad that you were able to try the authentic Spanish dishes La Pepa offered our guests during her last visit with us.
We hope that you may continue treating yourself at our restaurant and that we can always provide you with great service and menu items that you enjoy so much.

We hope to have you back in the near future.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    293
    103
    41
    30
See reviews for
155
225
50
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for two nights prior to a cruise. Staff were very good, friendly and efficient. Loved the rooms, quite old fashioned but I really liked that, large room, massive bed which was very comfy , good bathroom and very clean. Did not eat at the hotel but had a glass of wine in the bar which was fine. Nice little gift shop where you could buy bottles of water etc. Also a taxi rank outside which was handy. Very busy road outside which was not easy to cross, but some shops, restaurants in the area - Wendy's, McDs, Shortys BBQ, and an excellent Walmart within walking distance. Although away from downtown Miami, it really wasn't far in a taxi or that expensive, and have to say, this would not stop us staying here in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully next time you can enjoy our restaurant or room service menu. Your positive feedback will be shared with our staff so that they know to keep up the good work.

We hope to be able to serve you again in the near future.

Thank you again and we appreciate your business.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I asked at the lectern outside the restaurant regarding breakfast and was told it was a buffet and would cost 15 dollars each person. the buffet was quite good, but the crunch came when I was presented with the bill, to which had been added a service charge + the local sales tax, meaning that the 15 dollars was now 20 dollars. I took exception to this as I was not informed prior to entering the restaurant, and was referred to the duty manager, who gave me a form to complete. The form was headed "what would you change if you we're the General Manager", so completed it and handed it back to the front desk telling them they were conning overseas visitors. However, the charge was NOT amended. That was in December 2011. I returned in December 2012 and found no changes had been made. This time we went across the road to Dunkin Donuts, and that was great with no hidden extras. Other reviewers mentioned a charge for wifi,which in my opinion is another profit making exercise, so hope that on my next visit this has been changed to free wifi. I now have an iPad!!! Other than that the hotel is fine for one night prior a cruise.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We sincerely apologize for not giving you a more accurate price and not letting you know ahead of time that the price was not including tax and gratuity. We should have been more specific when you asked the price so that you had no surprises at the end as you did. The majority of restaurants are now including the service charge into the bill but we do understand your position on this. We will have our Director of Food and Beverage take a look at it. We have educated our staff to be more specific as to the prices of our menus so that we can provide accuracy to our guests in the future, should this question arise again.

Again, we apologize for the miscommunication that caused your experience to be anything but great. We hope that you may return to give us a second opportunity and enjoy the service we enjoy providing our guests with.

Thank you again.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DF
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed with the family and had a great time, all staff was helpful. But Alex Garcia and Lourdes from the sales team were just outstanding. They help us with all our business and advice in our personal trip.

The hotel is great and everything works find in rooms I did not had a chance to enjoy the pool but my family did.

Room Tip: Great location for business and shopping get a club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. It is great to know that you enjoyed yourself along with your family and that you have experienced such great hospitality from Alex and Lourdes; we will be sure to show them your comment.
Hopefully when you visit us again, you'll be able to enjoy the pool.
Thank you again.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way back home from Costa Rica. We arrived in Miami about 10:00 pm and we still caught a free shuttle to the hotel in time to get a great dinner by room service before 11...a great sleep in a very comfortable king size bed and a free shuttle back to the airport first thing in the morning. Quiet, comfortable, free shuttle to and from the airport. The front desk was efficient, professional, and very pleasant checking in and out. We'll be using this hotel for any future stop overs or stays in Miami.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are very glad that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon.
We also hope that you enjoyed Costa Rica!

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We Pricelined ourselves into this hotel. It's nice, w an impressive lobby, nice staff, etc. But it's not an overly kid friendly hotel. The pool, for instance...kinda quiet and a bit stuffy. Great for adults but I kept shushing my 3 kids while they were in there...felt like a library.

There is not a lot nearby. You pretty much have to eat there or drive to eat elsewhere. Breakfast was just under 20 bucks a pop for the buffet, and a little less for the kids, so we were looking at 100 bucks for breakfast...so we got the car and went to a pancake house. Nowhere nearby that u can walk to tho.

This hotel is totally fine for a stop over if going on a cruise. We stayed here one night while traveling elsewhere (not a cruise but similar scenario). I would definitely not want to stay there more than a night w the kids. Nothing for them to do, there is no real draw for the kids. It would be more tolerable if it was just me and my wife, but even then, I would rather stay somewhere more centrally located w more to do inside and nearby the hotel.

In a way it's an unfair review because the hotel is quite nice. Clean, friendly staff, rooms were fine, etc. But the reality is I probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest,

First and foremost, we appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback.
It is very unfortunate to hear that we were not able to fully accomodate you and your children in the way you may have liked us to. We will definitely look into this type of traveler and do our best to cater to a family with children so that they may be more entertained during their stay. We appreciate your positive comments and truly hope that although you were not 100% satisfied with us, that you may give us another opportunity to please you.

For your future reservations, please contact our Director of Rooms or Executive Assistant so that we may be aware of your arrival.

Thank you again and we appreciate your business.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel was a good overnight choice before reporting for a 5 a.m. check-in at Miami International Airport, being about a 15 minute drive away. It also provides a very reliable hourly shuttle to and from the airport. Quality coffee is always available, including at 4 a.m., the staff and concierge services were very helpful. The afternoon tea time, happy hour and breakfast available to Ambassador members were staffed and welcoming. The hotel is about 30 minutes from South Beach, from downtown, or from the new Design District ($50 cab ride one-way). If I have another 5 a.m. airport check-in, I might consider staying at the Miami International Hotel on the hotel property near the international terminal, although I understand those accommodations are pretty minimal but very handy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the night that you stayed with us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental at Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental at Doral Miami

Address: 2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Doral
#2 Best Value Hotel in Doral
#5 Family Hotel in Doral
#5 Romantic Hotel in Doral
#6 Business Hotel in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental at Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental at Doral Miami is located in the heart of the city of Doral within 4 miles of Miami's two largest malls - International and Dolphin, business parks and next to an array of entertainment choices like sports bars and trendy restaurants to choose from. Only 7 miles away from the International Airport, offering complimentary shuttle service every hour on the hour (6a-10p). Our guestrooms have soundproof windows, custom mattresses, LCD, rain showers and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental at Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental At Doral Miami Hotel Doral
Intercontinental Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental at Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.