We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Clean Hotel but no free internet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental at Doral Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental at Doral Miami to your Saves list
InterContinental at Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Doral
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good, Clean Hotel but no free internet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after our cruise. Its in a good location close to MIA. They offer free parking. The facility is clean and modern and rooms are nice and clean. The staff is friendly. The only negative is that they charge around 10 dollars for internet for a day. I find this annoying since in this day and age, when you are paying premium room rates internet should be free. Most other hotels provide some free internet access, even if it is offered only in the lobby etc. but not at this hotel. Based on this annoyance and the choice of many other hotels in the area, I'd probably choose another hotel in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
It is a shame that the internet pricing has tainted your view of us and for that reason have considered disregarding us in the future. We would like for you to know, that internet pricing and issues are being addressed as it is something that several guests have suggested and we aim to please them. We hope that the possibility of complimentary internet in the future might change your mind.

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you soon.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    247
    85
    28
    25
See reviews for
134
191
46
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at a fabulous IC in Atlanta about 2 years ago so wanted to try this one since we had a 1 night layover in Miami. Hotel is in a an industrial area (not really anything to walk to) and nearby construction begins around 7am and is very loud. You will need a rental car to drive if you want to go to dinner/shopping. Hotel desk staff are rude and clueless-told us the wrong times for the Exec. level evening snacks and breakfast times. I asked for shampoo and toothpaste and she said they were in the rooms-they weren't. Hotel is not a fun and lively. It has a tired, dark and sad feeling. Rooms are basic and pretty outdated. The only good things were the comfy bed, tomato soup in the restaurant and the fresh oj at breakfast on the Exec. level-that's about it. We would not stay here again and do not recommend this hotel. We'd like to try the IC in downtown Miami-curious if it is more updated and/or lively.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the busy road. I would ask for a courtyard view or one away from the road/con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your last experience with us.
It is unfortunate that you did not have a great experience and that you felt the front desk staff was not very warm and welcoming.
These are all issues we have advised the proper managers about.
We hope that you would still consider us for a future visit to Miami.
Thank you again.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were taken here as the pre-night stay before a cruise. The hotel itself was of good qulaity and well furnished but at 3.45 p.m. our room was not ready and when we had got up more than12 hours before we really needed our room. Sat by the pool waiting which was quite noisy becasue of the hotels location next to a busy crossroads. The hotel itself was quiet once in side and in the rooms. It was a long walk to Wallmart but there were several decent restaurants along the side of a busy highway. Rang at 5.30 a.m. for a pot of tea to be told that because breakfast started at six I could not have tea delivered to the room - even thought they advertise 24 hour room service. Coffee was available in the bedroom. Breakfast in the hotel was first class - plenty to choose from and friendly staff. We then sat around the pool for two hours with five coaches worth of other people wating for cruise transfers but there were not enough seats inside and out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
We apologize for the situation with the tea and we have already advised our Director of Food and Beverage to find out what happened and why we gave you the answer that we did.
Maybe next time you can take advantage of the complimentary shuttle service that we offer to and from the malls.
Regarding your room not being ready, our check-in is at 4pm and maybe we were sold out the night before and were at a high occupancy. Nevertheless, we are regretful that you had to wait for your room after such a long day.
Please accept our apologies and with that, we hope that you will consider us once more for your next Miami vacation, and allow us to extend the service that we are proud of and are recognized for.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night after flight from uk to Miami.
Would not stay again - checking in ok till we were uninterested in the loyalty scheme - then the guy was clearly bored.
Room ok
Restaurant awful - looked like a 1970s throwback - staff were offhand so we left
Thank goodness we had not booked breakfast there it was dismal
Gym good
Pool excellent
Check out unhelpful
Asked if a Starbucks nearby - told no
Concierge helpful and told us Starbucks seven minutes away

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience with us. It is very sad to know that you were not satisfied with us and the service that was provided to you. We are looking into every point that you have made and please rest assured that they will all be addressed and taken into consideration.

We appreciate your business and would hate to have you leave us with such a bad impression. We truly hope that you allow us a second chance to provide you with the service we know and pride ourselves in.

Please come back to visit us again in the near future. Feel free to reach out to us regarding any of your issues.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A very nice hotel in an area with restaurants and other stores. We tried Antony's Coal Fired Pizza and found it to be very good. Staff were friendly too.
Not too far from the airport. Convenient shuttle service.
The only thing that would make it better is a free continental breakfast.
Overall a great place to stay for a short visit.
If you take taxi from MIA expect to pay around 22 dollars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your business.
Unfortunately complimentary breakfast is not something standard that we offer, but we do have packages that include breakfast in the rate or an upgrade to our Club Floor which also offers a nice variety of choices for breakfast. Usually, InterContinental properties do not include this.

Again we thank you for your comment and hope to see you again in the near future.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is the best hotel in the Doral area, and since it has to compete with non-luxury brands normally provides great rates. The service is excellent and the rooms are what you expect from and Intercontinental but the problem are the rooms with connecting doors, you can hear your neighbor's every move so the doors are not sealed or noise proof. I got moved to a corner room and problem solved. The gym is nice but the equipment needs updating. Room service is average but if you have a rental you have good options around the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't waste the extra money for the executive floors, is the same type of room just in a higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment and we regret to hear about the noise you encountered with the connecting room. We have advised our Engineering Department to look into this and see if there is anything that we can do to minimize the noise. Usually the executive floors are treated as an upgrade and include breakfast, cocktails and hors d'oeuvres with the rate. This is an option available to all guests but it is an upgrade. Maybe next time you might want to inquire about this option so that you and your family may take full advantage of the Club Floor and its services.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here with our family. This hotel isn't really close to anything, but there are some small shops opposite the hotel and a really nice park right nearby. There are also some restaurants somewhat close to the hotel.
The hotel has a free shuttle from the airport, it leaves on second level where all the shuttles drive past. Although the place isn't marked clearly, it was pretty easy to find.
The hotel itself was nice, we had plenty of room for our family of three. Loved the backyard and the pool area, it was nice just to sit around there. On our last day they had some event in the backyard, so the area was off limited for guests, which was sort of a shame, luckily we were leaving anyway.
Our only issue arouse with the billing. We had booked three rooms all together for several nights and the total on their bill was several hundred dollars more than our original quote. If we hadn't had the original reservation to prove the correct price, they would've made us pay a lot more. Sorting this out took us several hours, since they wouldn't believe us in the beginning and in the end they blamed it on a computer error. Duh. This just left a bad aftertaste on our otherwise nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental at Doral Miami for your lodging needs. It is a shame that the positive experience you had later got tainted with a billing issue. We deeply apologize for the fact that you felt that our staff did not believe you when you were explaining the situation to them. This is not the treatment we are accustomed to extending to our guests. We are glad that you were finally able to get this issue resolved and we have already taken the appropriate measures to not have this happen again.

Although this left a sour taste in your mouth, we truly hope that you allow us a second chance so that we may show you the type of service we are most known for.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental at Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental at Doral Miami

Address: 2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental at Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental at Doral Miami is located in the heart of the city of Doral within 4 miles of Miami's two largest malls - International and Dolphin, business parks and next to an array of entertainment choices like sports bars and trendy restaurants to choose from. Only 7 miles away from the International Airport, offering complimentary shuttle service every hour on the hour (6a-10p). Our guestrooms have soundproof windows, custom mattresses, LCD, rain showers and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental at Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental At Doral Miami Hotel Doral
Intercontinental Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental at Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.