We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental at Doral Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental at Doral Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental at Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Doral
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A very nice hotel in an area with restaurants and other stores. We tried Antony's Coal Fired Pizza and found it to be very good. Staff were friendly too.
Not too far from the airport. Convenient shuttle service.
The only thing that would make it better is a free continental breakfast.
Overall a great place to stay for a short visit.
If you take taxi from MIA expect to pay around 22 dollars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your business.
Unfortunately complimentary breakfast is not something standard that we offer, but we do have packages that include breakfast in the rate or an upgrade to our Club Floor which also offers a nice variety of choices for breakfast. Usually, InterContinental properties do not include this.

Again we thank you for your comment and hope to see you again in the near future.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    232
    82
    27
    25
See reviews for
125
179
46
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is the best hotel in the Doral area, and since it has to compete with non-luxury brands normally provides great rates. The service is excellent and the rooms are what you expect from and Intercontinental but the problem are the rooms with connecting doors, you can hear your neighbor's every move so the doors are not sealed or noise proof. I got moved to a corner room and problem solved. The gym is nice but the equipment needs updating. Room service is average but if you have a rental you have good options around the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't waste the extra money for the executive floors, is the same type of room just in a higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment and we regret to hear about the noise you encountered with the connecting room. We have advised our Engineering Department to look into this and see if there is anything that we can do to minimize the noise. Usually the executive floors are treated as an upgrade and include breakfast, cocktails and hors d'oeuvres with the rate. This is an option available to all guests but it is an upgrade. Maybe next time you might want to inquire about this option so that you and your family may take full advantage of the Club Floor and its services.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here with our family. This hotel isn't really close to anything, but there are some small shops opposite the hotel and a really nice park right nearby. There are also some restaurants somewhat close to the hotel.
The hotel has a free shuttle from the airport, it leaves on second level where all the shuttles drive past. Although the place isn't marked clearly, it was pretty easy to find.
The hotel itself was nice, we had plenty of room for our family of three. Loved the backyard and the pool area, it was nice just to sit around there. On our last day they had some event in the backyard, so the area was off limited for guests, which was sort of a shame, luckily we were leaving anyway.
Our only issue arouse with the billing. We had booked three rooms all together for several nights and the total on their bill was several hundred dollars more than our original quote. If we hadn't had the original reservation to prove the correct price, they would've made us pay a lot more. Sorting this out took us several hours, since they wouldn't believe us in the beginning and in the end they blamed it on a computer error. Duh. This just left a bad aftertaste on our otherwise nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental at Doral Miami for your lodging needs. It is a shame that the positive experience you had later got tainted with a billing issue. We deeply apologize for the fact that you felt that our staff did not believe you when you were explaining the situation to them. This is not the treatment we are accustomed to extending to our guests. We are glad that you were finally able to get this issue resolved and we have already taken the appropriate measures to not have this happen again.

Although this left a sour taste in your mouth, we truly hope that you allow us a second chance so that we may show you the type of service we are most known for.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Overall this hotel is nice and has comfy beds. The rooms were clean and included typical amentities in the bathroom, an Ipad docking radio in the main room and scale that took off 10 pounds. I thought there would have been robes but maybe that is not in every Intercontinental property.The pool area was ok but nothing over the top. The lobby of the hotel was the niceset part and there was a pleasent aroma of flowers when walking in. The scent was fresh and inviting. Only disappointment was you need to call down each time you want ice and the parking lot is not big enough for the amount of rooms they have. There were guest parking in a vacant grass lot next to the parking lot since there was no more spaces available. Not sure if this is a Miami thing but no self serve ice machines was more of a hassle. The front desk during check in and check out was top notch and professional. The location is really in the middle of nowhere and that was ok if you have transportation. A strip mall across the street had a few places to eat. Nothing else within walking distance. There is a huge mall down the road and what appears to be the busiest Walmart in Florida. No newspaper in the mornings was a bit of a disappointment. Well kept property and nicer than some other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Like others we stayed here prior to joining a cruise at Port Everglades. check in and service etc were fine and they met my request for a quiet room, don't get one near the elevators,very noisy.
Drinks and breakfast were very expensive, I guess they think you're captive but some friends took a bit of a walk and found some food outlets nearby. Pool area suffers from road noise and is surrounded by plain concrete. Not a hotel for a "proper" holiday but fine for those "in transit".

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the elevator / lift area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

stayed for 4 nights over new year, will not again reason being restaurant staff are all snobs don't know who they think they are rude actually. lots of other people lovely don't get me wrong, we tried to book into the new year eves dinner they said fully booked ok fair enough, so after eating out for the night went back to the hotel and we could not even get a drink they refused us err sorry we are staying in hotel !!!! so no drinks for us to see in the new year, also if you wanted just a cup of tea you had to go to the bar wait until someone turned up and then this has to be the worst for me they serve you it in a paper cup yuk what hotel gives you a paper cup of tea or coffee, they need to get nice waiting staff and get some crockery in apart from that nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear AliBedfordshire,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and at the same time apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with our staff in the restaurant.
We have already addressed this incident with our F&B department to ensure that this does not occur again and furthermore to allow us to better serve our in-house guest while catering to those types of events.
We truly hope that you give us another opportunity during your next visit to Miami to show you our level of service and commitment.

Regards,

InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Had switched from holiday inn Doral. Room was clean, smelled great! Staff was helpful and friendly. What made me rate average was the fact that I booked with Orbitz, paid in full before I even checked in, yet the staff kept tying to charge me again for the room. I had to call 3 times to explain that I had already paid and to please revise my charges and when I got home a week later the charges were on my credit card. I had to call again.. Ridiculous. It's a clean.. New hotel. Just be very alert about charges on tour bill. I signed one thing at check out and the charged another. Just pay attention to that area. The hotel is close to the dolphin and International mall. We caught the shuttle for free to the mall.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Lexi1025,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental at Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental at Doral Miami

Address: 2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental at Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental at Doral Miami is located in the heart of the city of Doral within 4 miles of Miami's two largest malls - International and Dolphin, business parks and next to an array of entertainment choices like sports bars and trendy restaurants to choose from. Only 7 miles away from the International Airport, offering complimentary shuttle service every hour on the hour (6a-10p). Our guestrooms have soundproof windows, custom mattresses, LCD, rain showers and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental at Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental At Doral Miami Hotel Doral
Intercontinental Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental at Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.