We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental at Doral Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental at Doral Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental at Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Doral
GreenLeadersSilver level
Spring Lake, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Always a great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I was in Miami last week on business for two days. I always stay at the IC hotel, but it has been several years since I stayed there.

The IC hotel is always clean and the staff there is very professional. I was given a ground floor room next to the pool with an outdoor patio. It was awsome.

I highly reccomend the Intercontental if youre visiting Miami. They truly understand hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear guest,
We are happy to see that you came back to us after some years and that you enjoyed your stay. Our Lanai rooms are definitely nice and relaxing and enjoying the private patio is a plus. We are glad that you were able to experience the luxuries of this room type.

We hope that you do not let another few years pass by before paying us another visit.

Happy travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    223
    82
    27
    24
See reviews for
120
176
45
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

very clean, location is pretty good. would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comment and we hope to see you again very soon.

Happy travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

It's all true -- the hotel is nice and clean enough, but certainly not luxurious. The walls ARE paper thin and I heard the elevator dinging all night (for 3 nights!). The wait for room service was interminable (promised 20, got in in 45),and the thought that you'd have to wait that long for just ice is totally ridiculous. Pool is OK (hated their choice of bossa nova music blaring from the speakers), and I haven't been able to find the fitness center despite directions from two people because it's not well marked (no directional signs in the hallway). And no balconies! In a southern Florida location, why would someone think that guests wouldn't want to sit outside their rooms (without having to schlep downstairs to the public area?). Also, the business center has only 1 working computer (and it's a fairly large hotel!). My rate included breakfast which was also just OK -- very limited.

On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and the Almond Berry Basket from room service was delicious. The hotel operator is quite pleasant, as have been most of the staff.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool is the only decent view, but without a balcony, who cares?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for not meeting your needs during your stay. Not all hotels in Miami provide balconies, especially if their location is not somewhere on the beach. Although not all of our rooms have balconies, we do have 12 rooms with balconies from floors 2 through 6 and 7 poolside rooms with private terraces located on the first floor. These can be reserved when requested and upon availability. The music should never be blaring and we apologize if it disturbed you at all. Room Service sometimes gets a bit busy, but if we promise a specific time, it should be delivered then. Unfortunately, there may have been only one working computer in the business center at the time you went in, but we normally have two working computers. You may always ask our PBX Operators to help you print something out and they are always more than willing to help.

Again we apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and we hope that you may give us a second chance to provide you with all of the amenities and the service that we pride ourselves in.

Happy travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DF
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I just had a week of hard work, thanks to Lourdes Mejia and Mr. Marti got the best results of my trip. I had the opportunity to meet on the first day at breakfast they are incredible committed professionals.

Room Tip: On the 5th floor you will find the club lounge great for private meetings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear guest,

We definitely agree that Mr. Marti and Ms. Lourdes Mejia are incredibly committed professionals. Thank you for taking the time to notice!

Hope to see you soon!

Happy travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel is wonderful and I did not get a room! I had car troubles and one of the staff, Christopher Muina, was very helpful, polite and inviting as well as his colleagues. The service seemed great and everyone was happy and satisfied!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear guest,
Although you did not stay with us, we are glad to know that you were able to experience the great hospitality that we offer here. Hopefully next time you can experience it first hand as one of our guests.

Happy travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Overall, I can´t say this was 3star hotel, but that fact that the walls where made out of paper and had to call reception a couple times is enough. You could here the children running around the hallway, couples bickering and all the noises that come and go, made us have three horrible nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Cecilia H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am particularly appreciative that you gave us high scores on Location, Rooms, and Cleanliness. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced due to the noise from our other guests. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,
Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I spent 2 nights here for a quick weekend getaway by myself and found it to be a good place to relax. While certainly not the most luxorious of the Intercontinental line, it was modern looking, clean, and comfortable. Everything from the lobby to the halls and to my room looked pretty well kept. The room was relatively nice, but again not as luxorious as I've come to expect from an Intercontinentals. Even the bed was below Intercontinental standards with just a so-so mattress and foam pillows. I don't think I've ever seen foam pillows at an Intercontinental before.

My room was on the club floor which provided a really good free breakfast with many different hot and cold options, and a much less generous evening spread of just one rather tastless hot appetizer, crackers, and cheese. But this rather pathetic evening food offering was more than offset by the free booze, which is getting more and more rare in this country. And the older gentleman who worked the club during evening hours was really nice and interesting. I spent over an hour talking to him about the local sights, his life story, and the history of the Miami area. The rest of the staff was okay, but not the most professional I've seen. The front desk seemed to a lot of people working there, but they all seemed just a little clueless. And the one day I got maid service I was out of the room from 10am until after 4pm, and of course the room still hadn't been cleaned when I returned, so I had to go out again to let the maid clean a little later.

I spent a considerable amount of time at the pool which is nice with palm trees and perfect water temperature. And there was no hint of chlorine despite a lot of time underwater with my eyes open. The gym was also nice with a good number of modern machines with the built in TVs. Also, very important to me was the free parking.

So in the end I really enjoyed my stay, but I must rate this place just average since I'm comparing it to its brand average. If it was instead a Holiday Inn or similar I could rate it much better, but then the rates would also be lower. I would have no problem staying here again on a good rate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICatDoralMiami, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our apologies for not having your room cleaned while you were out. We would have to investigate the reasoning behind that.
For the future, in case you were interested, we offer both foam and feather pillows. Our beds and pillows do meet both InterContinental Hotels and Real Hotels and Resorts standards.
We are currently looking into adding some variety to what we offer on the Club Floor, but that is still inthe works. The majority of our guests enjoy the food that is provided. Nonetheless, it is comments such as this one that help us better what we currently have in our hotel to make our guests feel more at home.

We appreciate your business and hope that you come back to see us in the near future.

Happy travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental at Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental at Doral Miami

Address: 2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental at Doral Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental at Doral Miami is located in the heart of the city of Doral within 4 miles of Miami's two largest malls - International and Dolphin, business parks and next to an array of entertainment choices like sports bars and trendy restaurants to choose from. Only 7 miles away from the International Airport, offering complimentary shuttle service every hour on the hour (6a-10p). Our guestrooms have soundproof windows, custom mattresses, LCD, rain showers and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental at Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental At Doral Miami Hotel Doral
Intercontinental Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental at Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.