We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IC Doral going down market since my last visit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental at Doral Miami

Save Saved
You added InterContinental at Doral Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental at Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Doral
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“IC Doral going down market since my last visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

when I arrived there were 3 large roaring tour buses parked in the entry with luggage stacked everywhere.

any thought of a quiet weekend by the pool was quickly dismissed as there were at least 100 budget tourists with luggage, fully clothed and what seemed like half of them smoking sitting all around the pool area.

The hotel has only 20 lounge chairs by the pool so of course people were sitting on tables and along the edge of the pool.

Very posh, we were living the Intercontinental Life, all 101 of us.

The hotel now seems very 2 star.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interwest, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental at Doral Miami. We appreciate your business and your feedback is of great value to us.

We do cater to Cruise Lines seasonally, not year-round. Although they come in larger groups, they are a very friendly and calm bunch. We don't consider them to "invade" our hotel at all or that this bunch brings down the value of our hotel in the least bit.

We hope that we can still have you as our guest once again in the near future.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    224
    82
    27
    24
See reviews for
121
176
45
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We had 1 night stay in this hotel before leaving Miami. I never been to Miami so I was looking forward to see some of it but location of this hotel is really for business. It is located very close to the airport and main road but too far from centre and the beach.
Hotel has got small but usable swimming pool. Room was clean and had all facilities you need. Because of it's location, you can hear occasionaly planes and trucks, but it didn't bother us.
Restaurant located oposite reception had nice atmosphere. Servise was very good but it may have been because we were the only people dining. Food was exceptional quality and I would definately recomend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed here overnight between flights. The hotel is very nice. The courtyard is beautiful with a nice pool and tables and lounge chairs to sit around it. We chose not to eat dinner at the hotel and wanted to walk somewhere else to eat. There was not much around in a reasonable walking distance. There was a couple of fast food places near the intersection. However, the traffic is very busy and you must be careful to cross the street. We did find a BBQ place not too far.
The room was nice sized and had the most comfortable bed. It was like sleeping on a cloud. Some may not like this soft of bed, but I found it heavenly.
We had the buffet breakfast at the hotel. It had a nice selection of food and a omelet bar.
We were able to take the hotel shuttle to and from the hotel, which was one of the reasons we stayed there. They did not have free wifi in the rooms and you had to pay $4.95 for 15 minutes in the business center to use their computer if you wanted to print your boarding passes.
This would be an excellent place for business people, or someone with a car. We would have preferred somewhere nearer to more restaurants within walking distance, and free wifi. It was a great place, but it did not fill our needs, so we probably will not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I love this beautiful property. It's close by MIA and offers a free shuttle to/from the airport. Great friendly and accommodating staff and great/affordable buffets. This is my preferred hotel to stay in near the airport when I have a long layover before traveling to South America. Day rates are available here e.g., when you want a room for less than a day. I stayed here for 5 hrs. to rest, eat and shower before a long night flight to South America.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard area tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interwest, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your business and are thankful that you took the time to comment about your most recent stay with us.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for the recommendation.

We hope to see you in the near future once again.

Happy Travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights on the Club Floor level. I highly recommend the Club Floor. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise. I thought it would be all sweet rolls and maybe some watery scrambled eggs but we really enjoyed the breakfast buffet here. Lots of selections of fruit, pastry's, eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal and either crepes, waffles or pancakes every day. Tea hour between noon and 5 everyday and wine, beer, cocktails and yummy snacks every night from 6-8.
Enough about the food. I do have to mention the guy overseeing the club room, an older man in the late afternoon to evenings is not very friendly or efficient. He would be sitting at a desk, numerous times and doing nothing and there would be like no crackers for the cheese or no cheese for the crackers. He would let things run out and wouldn't be paying any attention.
The room and hallways, common areas were immaculate. Beds were comfortable. Did not hear any airplane noise inside the hotel. You can walk to a lot of resturaunts. They have free shuttle to/from airport but only once each hour:( There is a big mall, Dolphin Mall, about 4 miles from the hotel. They have a shuttle that drops people at 9:45am and picks them up at 8:45pm. Although the hotel staff tells you it is impossible to walk there it was a very easy walk if you like to walk. A paved sidewalk all the way and lots of strip malls, gas stations, safe walk, safe are. that's about it. Would definitely stay here again. Not a party area-would be boring for people with lots of energy looking for a night life.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interwest, Manager at InterContinental at Doral Miami, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the area itself along with the amenities we offer within the hotel. We do apologize for the staff member that you mentioned and we will look into which associate this was and address the situation you have brought forth in order to fix it for the future.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Happy travels,
InterContinental at Doral Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I have learned over the years that when travelling for business you have to treat yourself to a great hotel every once in a while just to keep things fun and exciting. This hotel hit a homerun, and did it at a very affordable price. Start with free parking, add doormen who were genuinely friendly and desk clerks who asked about preferences and bellmen that heard me ask about dinner and offered to take my bags up for me while I went and had a drink. There is a fine line between hustling for tips and genuine service and everyone here was on the right side of it.
The room was decent sized, with quality furnishings, fabrics and linens. The soundproofed double glazed windows kept outside traffic noise completely at bay and I slept great.
This is a good choice as an airport hotel flying in and out of Miami, but be aware that traffic can be bad at peak travel times and there is no good way to get to the new car rental center at MIA using surface streets. It took me twenty minutes at 7:30AM, but my stay ended up costing $30.00 than my usual 3 star fallback at the airport for a much nicer night.
Highly reommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed last night and had to wait an hour upon arrival for the hotel's shuttle bus. While I waited, every other lesser quality hotel had 2-4 shuttles. Other guests had similar waits and one guest was very upset. In the morning, 2 guests were told they needed to wait an hour for the next shuttle because the waiting shuttle was full.

Are you kidding? Fix this!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental at Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental at Doral Miami

Address: 2505 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental at Doral Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental at Doral Miami is located in the heart of the city of Doral within 4 miles of Miami's two largest malls - International and Dolphin, business parks and next to an array of entertainment choices like sports bars and trendy restaurants to choose from. Only 7 miles away from the International Airport, offering complimentary shuttle service every hour on the hour (6a-10p). Our guestrooms have soundproof windows, custom mattresses, LCD, rain showers and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental at Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental At Doral Miami Hotel Doral
Intercontinental Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental at Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.