We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pools Pools Pools” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump National Doral Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Trump National Doral Miami to your Saves list
Trump National Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advanced Purchase 20% Off
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Vienna, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pools Pools Pools”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

We did not golf or go to the spa.

What we did was hang out at the pools. The Winter temperatures in FL vary greatly. We chose Doral because of the heated pools. I don't think the resort staff and marketing department realize how great their pools are for families.

The Blue Lagoon pool with its zero entry was perfect for our 3 year old. It was not heated and had a waterfall. The second pool was heated to a very comfortable bath like temperature and was quieter. The Blue Monster slide and pool was heated to just below hot tub temperatures and was a favorite of our 7 year old. The hot tub also had a waterfall and was almost too hot.

While everyone we met were golfers, very few went to the pool. There were only a few families at the resort. Mostly dudes golfing. The pools were not crowded.

The only negative for families would be the restaurant options for dinner. Though after a long day at the pools, room service did just fine.

The usual: Resort fee, parking fee and no free wifi should be factored in when making your choice.

We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIADL, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, February 20, 2011
We are thrilled to hear how much your family enjoyed our pools! Our pools are certainly a wonderful and relaxing amenity. Thank you for your review. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    267
    198
    159
    211
See reviews for
177
208
54
439
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Stayed here for a two-day conference.

Check-in was reasonably efficient (short wait). Common areas of hotel are quite nice - large lobby, ballrooms etc all very well-kept. Lots of clothing shops which I guess is typical of a golf resort, hard to buy much else though (e.g. I forgot my UK power adaptor, and neither the shop nor the concierge could help).

The resort is organized as a cluster of 'lodges' around the main building. We were in lodge 10, which was a few minutes walk from the reception area. The grounds are quite pretty, with a pool area in the middle, but the walk from the reception to the lodges is spoiled by the fact that you have to go past the main services loading area, so on more than one occasion I felt like I was dodging trucks & loading cages. Really a good hotel should have all that stuff well-hidden, not on display.

My room smelled a bit funny so I mentioned it to the concierge but nothing was done about it. I think they must have had a leak because it smelled like it had been damp or something, which wasn't really the first impression I would have expected from a quality chain. Also, the plaster on the walls was badly chipped in quite a few places (room 1029) which again isn't consistent with a quality brand. Otherwise the room was a good size, with comfortable bed and little verandah looking out into jungle.

We were eating buffet food provided by the conference mainly and it was universally of a very high standard. The one meal we had in one of the restaurants was also very nice.

I know I harp on about this but I really do think it's time that hotels like this offered free internet both in the rooms and in the common areas. I'm going to stop staying at hotels that charge soon and I think other travellers should do the same.

Checkout was a bit chaotic because the entire hotel was effectively leaving at the same time - you would think that the hotel would have anticipated this and maybe organized some taxis to be on hand, but in reality we had to wait quite a while to get transportation to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

First of all, let me be accurate, golf at Doral is great, resort could also be great with the right management.

Now, to the point. My wife and I decided to spend xmas vacations in Florida. In octobre, we booked a room with golf-view. We cheched in and arrived to a room horrible, with direct view.... On the next building...
Checked with the réservation, after 1hr, finally the manager on duty said there where no room of this kind left... And the manager would call me, which noone did. At Check-out, i asked for rates to be at least realign with the standard of the room, and guess... I have been said I should have asked to change of room... Management and staff in this Mariott are probably the best advertising for Starwood !

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Must spend a day or two here if you're a golfer and you're in the Miami area. Service was great, but comes at a price. Keep plenty of cash for tips. Not all golf course facing rooms are the same. If views matter to you, ask for a couple of different rooms and check them out before you settle into one. Extremely comfortable bed. But Marriott really needs to stock adult pillows!

After a nice round on any of the excellent golf courses, chill at the Bossanova lounge with a Caipirinha and some tapas. Hopefully the music won't be too loud.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIADL, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, February 20, 2011
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay! Our new Bossa Nova lounge is the perfect place to enjoy cocktails and tapas after golfing on any of our five Championship Golf Courses! We hope you will return for another golf trip soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Some of the lodges have been updated, some have not. It seems like Marriott's strategy may be to select certain guests who may not mind the 2nd rate accommodations and then move them to a different lodge or better accommodations after they register a complaint.

The improved accommodations in lodge 3 were larger in terms of living space and bath and shower facilities but still only get the resort to a passing grade. The original accommodations we were provided in lodge 7 were terrible. Outdated interior design with small rooms, and an elevator loud enough to disturb the entire lodge.

We enquired about playing tennis on the resort courts and found that fees were $20 per person per hour. My wife and I decided that $80 for an hour of tennis with our daughters was a bit exorbitant if not bordering on criminal. We got in the car and drove a couple of miles to a park to play.

Beds in both rooms were small and extremely uncomfortable. Walls must be paper thin as our neighbors seemed as if they were in our room with us during much of the stay. Service was slow in most areas of the resort.

Blue lagoon pool area and slide were very nice. Families with young kids will love it.

The resort has potential, and I expect they'll get it right eventually.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parts Unknown
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Overall, another great trip. Been going down for years now on a guys golf trip and the service is nothing short of fantastic. Sergio is the man to know (find him at the bell stand) especially if you are with a big group. The golf staff kept us running smooth around the courses and were always able to get us back out in the afternoon for another 18. Rooms are nice if only a little outdated.... though hot water in the morning took 10 minutes since we were in lodge 8. Room attendants are slow but do a good job.
Food: Legends is very good (though a little overpriced) The new BosaNova lounge is a good time if you are looking for a little night life without having to hit SouthBeach. The new restaurant Mezzula(?) is adequate (I'd equate it to a NYC steakhouse)
The new gym is fantastic, overlooking the 18th on the Blue Monster. lots of cardio, weight machines, indl benches and free weights.
They have rebuilt all of the greens on the red course which is a BIG plus. The Silver course (redone last year) is still a damn difficlut track. Great White remains my favorite and the Blue Monster is still way overpriced but worth it once for the novelty. Leave the gold for your first or last round. Its nice but easy and not as well maintained.
The pools: Outstanding. Main pool has several levels. An "Adult" level where there's a waterfall and pool bar. A more relaxing "mid" level pool with cabannas and a "family" level where the water slide empties out and you can get ice cream etc... The pool outside the spa is heated and very relaxing. Tends to be more quiet and less "Las Vegas" like the other pool. Still has poolside service though.
The Spa.... here we have my only disappointment. A few years ago, the Spa was the best part of the trip. Facilities were great. mens locker room had a lounge with a tv, small foods, "hydrators" couches etc. I'd get a great massage (usually ashiatsu) from a great masseuse (usually very cute) then steam, jacuzzi and then chill watching college football. It was every bit the luxury spas I've been to in AC, LV, NYC and countless other resorts around the world. Then they "made improvements." The lounge is gone, replaced by more lockers, added are the number of rooms but they are also much smaller, and I think they paid for the renovations by firing all of the competant therapists and hiring a bunch of poorply trained immigrants who barely speak english. I chalked two years ago up to a one off bad experience but this last masseuse didn't understand the difference between 50 and 80 minutes, had ROUGH hands and mistook a lymph node for a knot in my lower back (OUCH!) Next year I'm outsourcing my massage someplace else.

Oh, like anyplace else in Miami.... its right in the flight path of a LOT of jumbo jets coming in and out

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We spent four nights at the Doral at the beginning of November 2010, and loved every second of it. The resort is truly a gem in the midst of Miami. The grounds are enormous and beautifully kept, the golf courses superb, the facilities certainly more than enough to keep you entertained throughout the day, and the service was excellent from start to finish.

We arrived early from a flight in and were pleased that there was a room already available, but similar to some other reviews on this site found it very small, dated and with little or no view to speak of. We spoke to the front desk staff who couldn't have been more helpful (thank you to Alejandro and Georgie!), and gave us the first room with golf view to become available. The room and bathrooms were an excellent size and really comfortable.

We played three of the golf courses including the Blue Monster which were fabulous, even the rain didn't stop us. The pro shop were superb - friendly, helpful, efficient and clearly loved what they do! We played the course in the afternoon on the twilight rates which made a big difference, especially as we also hired clubs.

We also spent a lot of time at the spa and around the spa pools (which are adult only in addition to the resort pools with kids facilities). The spa was just perfect, very luxurious and relaxing. The size of the resort meant that we felt that there was always something to do in a great atmosphere, but that nowhere was too crowded. We also ate at the resort restaurant which I'd recommend, the menu was varied and the food very good. We went out in Miami a couple of evenings (it's worth bearing in mind that you need to take taxis to South Beach which are around $40-45 each way), and very much appreciated the great recommendations from the hotel concierge!

Overall we couldn't have asked for a better stay, thank you to all the staff who made it such a pleasure and we hope to be back again next year.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump National Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump National Doral Miami

Address: 4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump National Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a tranquil Florida spa and golf resort designed to offer peaceful rest and relaxation in a tropical atmosphere. Situated on 650 lush acres, the world-renowned Trump National Doral Miami provides guests with premier Miami resort amenities and golf course views. A NEW ADDITION. Trump Hotel CollectionTM has recently added Miami's iconic Doral Resort to its portfolio with plans for a spectacular multimillion-dollar redesign to restore Trump Doral to its former grandeur. Trump Doral boasts 693 guestrooms across 10 lodges; world-class golf courses including the Blue Monster; 100,000-sq.-ft. of meeting space including a 24,000-sq.-ft. ballroom; a sprawling 48,000-sq.-ft. spa with 33 treatment rooms; highly regarded golf school and teaching facilities; retail boutiques and a private members' clubhouse. "When completed, Doral will be the finest resort and golf club in the country." Donald J. Trump, Trump Organization chairman and president.The comprehensive redesign of the entire resort begun in 2013, occurring in phases, and is slated to conclude in late 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Trump National Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Golf Resort And Spa, a Marriott Hotel Doral
Marriott Doral
Doral Golf Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump National Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.