We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would never come back -should have believed what we read on Trip Advisory"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Trump National Doral Miami

Save Saved
You added Trump National Doral Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trump National Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Signature Golf Package
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Doral
Aurora, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We would never come back -should have believed what we read on Trip Advisory"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

As we were a group of four golfers and have visited TPC Scottsdale, TPC Sawgrass, and many other "high end" golf facilities we were hoping that what we had read as complaints could not be true, but low and behold they were! The trip advisory previous comments by some 20 comments said to be prepared for room access cards and parking access cards that continually don't work, work for an hour, work at the front desk but when you get to your room they don't work! 100% true, we had two rooms and after a total of 10 new access cards "each", trips back and forth to the lobby each time, we were tired of the excuses and trying to blame us for carrying the cards next to another card! We had received new cards when we left the lobby after dinner and by the time we returned back to the room, they didn't work! The Asst. Front Desk Manager who i made aware that Doral Golf Resort was becomming a laughing stock on the internet didn"t seem to care and the fact that she said that they would have a technician re-configure the code via a hand held device, well they had done this five or six times already! The truth was that when a Security Officer who had this device came to our room "once again" to reprogram the door, he told us "off the record" that he reprograms the doors in the Lodges bascially his entire shift, "every day"! The front desk tried to make it sound like it was a minor problem when in fact you could hear alot of the patrons around the pool talking about the same thing! The pool was hotter, about 103 degrees, than the tiny little hot tub, three person tub at most! The Resturants (Champions) was okay but the food became tiring! We were deciding if we should go outside of the resort to find another place to eat, the hotel worker gave us a few places to go and her comments were" yes the place i am recommending is in a "safe area" to go, BUT do not go to these other areas unless you are in a "large group" NOT what we wanted to hear when staying in this proported nice resort! When we originally booked our golf package the whole intent was to play the "Blue monster", the famed course, however as we followed the requirements that you could not lock in the tee off time until 60 days prior to arrival we were nicely told that the Blue Monster was now booked, as was the next best course so we had no choice than to play the "gold course"! Save your money, this course winds throughout the homes and if you don't mind cars driving around some of the tee decks while your in your back swing driving to their home or don"t mind roads running right along side the fairways, knock yourself out! The $405.00 per person the stay and play, was a complete waste! We played Harbour Town in Hilton Head, TPC Sawgrass and had "forecaddies" included as part of the package which made the experince a great time, not the case here! As the previous reveiws had stated the elevators are very old and noisy, so make sure you don't get a room by the elevator! The washrooms are old, tiny and tired and as far as exhaust fans in the washroom, well the mens washroom near the Champions bar never seemed to have any exhuast, as the Saturday evening with a wedding going on, the two main courses having a golf tournament could not handle the odors, not pleasant! No courtesy bottled water on the golf cart and ironically when we teed off we had to be prepared for the "club members" in front of us who made it a practice to hit a "small bucket" on every couple of holes until they liked the shot! No marshall ever showed up and its funny, special rules must be in place for these members as they drove their golf carts as close as they wanted to the greens! Also be "aware" check your bill very,very carefully, both of our bills had to be adjusted because they had "outgoing calls" charged from each of our rooms when in fact at the times the calls were made there was no one in the rooms, so obviously staff have a number that they use to call their friends or family, charge your room and then when we questioned it, again this Asst Front desk manager made us feel like she was doing us a favour by taking the "phatom phone calls" off our bill! If you happen to be a cigar smoker, they did have some excellent choices however be prepared to wait a while to receive the cigar as they could not find the key to open up the humidor until a serach party found them, and be prepared for this great line if your eating in the Champions bar, they drop the menus off and will tell you that they will be right back! (ha,ha) Right back means a minimum of 10 minutes! We also filled out a "comment card" and again i was assured that we would receive a reply, well its been over a week and no reply, but you will see that once this review gets filed that they will take all of ten seconds to press the number 2, 3 or 4 on their computer and we will receive a "computer generated" sorry! They should start listening to people and do something about these issues! We were not given any suggestion about some form of compensation from the Asst Front desk manager, she bascially punched our bill out as quick as possible so the other people checking in would not see that this Resort is not all its cranked up to be! We were asked by her, she hoped we would come back, point blank, "NEVER" ! For all of you out there please read these Trip Advisor, in most cases they are correct!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    244
    180
    150
    204
See reviews for
163
189
49
379
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

BA put us here during the Volcano fiasco and its a very impressive resort , wonderful grounds , great pool/lagoon area , great gold courses , impressive reception and restaurants . However its was badly let down by the accomodation which is basically 10 unattended 3 star motel blocks surrounding the main hotel/reception bulildings , dated bathroom , antiquated shower , 2 inch gap under the door . We came back to our room after breakfast and got covered in paint after they decided to paint the front door of our room , room did not get cleaned until 8pm one day and were told by reception was normal !! , requests for extra coffee took 4 phone calls . One suspects that this is a short term golf and convention hotel and does not really cater for people on vacation .

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Me and my boyfriend just recently visited the Doral Resort for a long weekend of pure relaxation. We live in Aventura and instead of driving long hours or flying out we decided to stay close to home and enjoy this beautiful Resort after hearing so much about it during the golf tournament.
The pros: We got a very nice updated room with views of the golf course and close to the pools and restaurants. The property is very tropical and spread out and even in Miami we felt we were in a tropical island. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating, we played golf and also enjoyed the spa every day. The spa was probably the best part of this trip, I even called one of my friends to joined us on Sunday for a girl's spa day while my boyfriend played golf again.
The cons: far away from the beach, airplanes constantly flying by and the main pool was closed for a private group so the entire hotel was using the pool by the spa, however I learned that anyone not staying in the resort can also enjoy the spa for the day by just purchasing a treatment which I will do very soon.
Overall a good property with nice golf courses and amazing spa.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

This is a great place to bring a family. The property has several swimming pools. There are many different restaurants. We enjoyed a special evening outside with a guitarist playing and a beautiful sunset over the golf course.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

If only the facilities were as accommodating as the staff, this would be a great property. The meeting facilities and workout facility were the best part of this property. I stayed in the spa hotel which is tired from top to bottom. It was an upgrade because there were no king bed rooms available with a bathtub - per my booking. No wireless so you are stuck working at a desk when you could be out on the beautiful patio working. The fixtures are gold, the outdated tvs that made popping sounds, cheap furniture and a heating/cooling system that was very noisy. The doors to the suite were cheap and old. The doorman and front desk check-in were really accommodating and fantastic. But they can't overcome a very tired property.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at Doral in Miami. I've been a couple times and always enjoy my stay there. This last time I went was a funny situation.... I was dating this guy, and he was an avid golfer. So we wanted to go somewhere where he could play lots of world-class golf, but I could do stuff too, and not sit around and do nothing. Doral is the perfect place for this, as they have one of the best spas in the country here.... In fact you can stay in the spa section of the hotel. I hear the golf is stunning. I'm not a golfer so take this with a grain of salt, but I know they have 3-4 courses here, and the golf is spectacular. I think they even have a little par 3 course for hacks like myself who shoot a 115. Anyway, the grounds are superb, maintained like Disneyworld. Everything is lush, colorful and tropical. I love all the winding paths, which are surrounded by Bouganvillas (sp?). The spa is fantastic. My favorite part was the cascading waterfalls, where you sit under and the incredibly strong waterfall pounds your back and shoulders giving you an incredible natural massage. the Spa service was great. Buildings and rooms fantastic. Service and food amazing. I'd say my only complaint would be that once you leave the property (which you don't need to really) the neighborhood can be a little rough. Also its near the airport, so you'll always hear the din of jumbo jets landing and taking off. You get used to it though... its not an issue. The Weather in Miami is always superb, usually 80 degrees, with blue skies and sun. It can get hot and humid between April and October. dress accordingly :)

Note- I am not a publicist nor am paid by a hotel/property or its PR firm to fabricate embellishing and fictitious reviews. When making travel decisions based on TA reviews, please take into account all reviews to form an intelligent decision to stay at a hotel.
If anything, give the least credibility to reviews by reviewers with 1 contribution, especially a contribution that gives a horrible review or a fantastic one, with little proof they actually visited the location cited.
Happy travels!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doral, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

I have stayed here numerous times during the World Golf Championship. The rooms, service, and maid staff have always been pleasant. Rooms are decent sized and comfortable. I like the location and the ease of the highways. My only complaint is the internet service. It was slow and expensive. Other than that I enjoyed my stay immensely. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump National Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump National Doral Miami

Address: 4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump National Doral Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a tranquil Florida spa and golf resort designed to offer peaceful rest and relaxation in a tropical atmosphere. Situated on 650 lush acres, the world-renowned Trump National Doral Miami provides guests with premier Miami resort amenities and golf course views. A NEW ADDITION. Trump Hotel CollectionTM has recently added Miami's iconic Doral Resort to its portfolio with plans for a spectacular multimillion-dollar redesign to restore Trump Doral to its former grandeur. Trump Doral boasts 693 guestrooms across 10 lodges; world-class golf courses including the Blue Monster; 100,000-sq.-ft. of meeting space including a 24,000-sq.-ft. ballroom; a sprawling 48,000-sq.-ft. spa with 33 treatment rooms; highly regarded golf school and teaching facilities; retail boutiques and a private members' clubhouse. "When completed, Doral will be the finest resort and golf club in the country." Donald J. Trump, Trump Organization chairman and president.The comprehensive redesign of the entire resort begun in 2013, occurring in phases, and is slated to conclude in late 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Trump National Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Golf Resort And Spa, a Marriott Hotel Doral
Marriott Doral
Doral Golf Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump National Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.