We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my cup of tea...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Trump National Doral Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Trump National Doral Miami to your Saves list
Trump National Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advanced Purchase 20% Off
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Doral
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not my cup of tea...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2006

Went to the Doral for a two day conference. The rooms are a bit dated. My room was not clean (something sticky on the floor with the stem of an apple stuck in it....um, how did they miss this?) Also, noise from the hallway is fairly loud in the rooms themselves. I am not that sensitive to noise, but I definitely heard when my neighbors came home (and they were not loud and boisterous...just saying goodbye to their friends down the hall and then closing their doors). It rained fairly hard while I was there. That made it difficult to navigate the resort because you need to walk outside to get around. While there are overhangs in some of the more travelled areas, some of those areas flooded, so you would have to walk out in the rain to get around them. Also, there were big gaps between the overhangs that connected the bungalows and the main building (where check in was). So, if it's raining and you want to go to a restaurant or bar, you will most likely be running in the rain for some period of time.

In terms of location, this is not near downtown Miami. It is basically right off one of those highways you see all the time in Florida. The kind with strip malls anchored by big box stores. If you don't have a car, you are basically trapped at the resort (or in for an expensive roundtrip cab ride). The draw here seems to be the golf. If you aren't into golf, you probably will not like it here.

That being said, what looked good? The golf looked good. I did not play, but others did and said the courses were nice, but they also said the green fees weren't cheap. The pools also looked good. A friend used the waterslide and gave it rave reviews. The spa also looked very nice. I didn't have time to use it. I did not talk to anyone else who did either. The pool by the spa looked more tranquil.

Overall, the Doral was ok stay. If I were going to Miami on my own dime, I would probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    267
    198
    159
    211
See reviews for
177
208
54
439
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2006

The Valet company took my Ipod from the car and nothing was done about it despite claims submitted. Make sure you give them an inventory of what's in your car and if something is missing then you can get your claim approved. Hotel did nothing to accomodate.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2006

This resort is over priced and over rated and during our stay many facilities were barely open.
The visit started poorly when we pulled up to be told by the parking staff that if we chose to self park rather than have valet parking, the parking was 20 mins away - this turned out to be not quite true but was not a good start.
We were given a room in lodge 10 which was OK but tired and ready for a refurb. When I opened the shutters I was facing a construction site with a row of workers sat on the roof with a direct view into the room.
The spa was not fully open and operating from one of the lodges. Only one restaurant was open and was on a very short menu. The food was excessively slow in coming and not very good. We found out the main kitchen was not open either! Neither was the bar - this was relocated to a temporary outside bar that didn't even attempt to produce the drinks as they should be - not bothering to fetch ice or the proper glasses for a cocktail costing $11.
The answer to all our complaints? It was slow season, they were refurbing - it would be great in 4 months time!!
The really bad thing was that all the staff seemed to realise it was very poor but the management were not bothering to do anything about it.
Our advice would be to play the golf courses - they're good but very expensive - but not to bother staying there. Maybe in 4 months time it will be better, but do they deserve the custom with an attitude like that? We don't think so.

  • Liked — Good sized rooms
  • Disliked — Tired and dingy decor and construction site within feet of room
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
639 helpful votes 639 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2006

I am quite surprised by others' negative reviews. For background, we were staying at Fisher Island when Ernesto came to town and hence were evacuated to the Doral. I was totally bummed but when we arrived at the Doral my expectations were so low that I was pleasantly surprised.

Our suite was very cheap (probably because we were there in hurricane season)--$127 versus $850 at Fisher Island. The suite was large, beautiful and well appointed with lovely views of the golf course. The bathrooms were totally modern and nice. They gave expensive soaps and shampoos. Our beds were king sized with goose down pillows and comforters.

It is true that the hotel has a dated shell but they have done a nice job to modernize it. Again, contrary to what I read on this site, my golf was absolutely cheap ($90 to play the white and $57 to play the red, gold and silver). This may be due to my august stay.

The food is clubhouse fare--nothing more or less. The neighborhood is boring suburban but the gardens and grounds are very nice. At is a good 30 minute drive to Miami beach which was a hassle. The spa and children's facilities were excellent. My children loved the kids' activities. Staff was uniformly excellent and friendly.

This is not a spectacular resort but it is a nice place for a golf and family vacation.

  • Liked — The golf
  • Disliked — the non-descript neighborhood
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

Travelors beware! Just returned and was so turned off by this once-famed resort that I would warn anyone not to go until it has been redone. Some of the low points are highlighted first by the large dead rat laying in the pool area by the waterslide and kids camp doors that was not removed until the next day after we reported it! Yep! It was reported at 4 pm to the "towel girl" (who was the only person we could find at the time) and while she did put her personal cell phone call on hold for a moment, and did acknowledge our dead rat report, nothing was done by 11am the next day when we returned! Unbelieveable!!! There is garbage floating in the lagoon surrounding the pool area and bridges. The chairs around the pool are so old that the straps seperate and sag, the towels literally are like old garage towels that have been washed so many times that they are all stringy and paper thin! There is exposed nails around old wooden frames around every planter in the pool area...very dangerous for the throngs of kids. Pool was visably dirty. The idea that this "resort" is still rated a 5 star is a complete misrepresentation to travelers, and unless you can get a rate for under a 75 bucks stay away! The main golf course is closed and they don't tell you that up front...there are other courses and some nice new ones, but the trade-off is very questionable. I guess large groups of golfers going only for the courses won't be as bothered, but clean is clean...service is service...and value is value...you decide.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2006

I, along with 3 friends, decided to take a short retreat from work and went to the Doral Spa and Resort in Miami. They have a package deal called the "Doral Your Way" package. This deal is pretty good. The cost is $149 per night but includes the room, buffet breakfast, and 1 spa treatment. So, if you plan on going for a spa retreat as we did, I would suggest this package.

As for the accomodations, they were quite lovely. Our adjoining rooms were in Lodge 4 which is just down the hill from the main lobby. The bellman was nice enough to bring our bags to the room and tell us where everything was located that the resort. The room itself is in nice cream tones. Our room had 2 queen beds that had more pillows than I could use and a nice lounge chair in a light green. The room also had a nice balcony with 2 chairs and a table to relax in. The bathroom was the average size. There's a separate area for getting ready and a door to close off the shower and toliet area. The room also came with the standard mini-bar, tv, ect. The resort itself is beautifully kept. There were workers continually mowing the lawn and tending to the plants. The golf courses are imaculate. There are 2 different pools. The main one is in front of the lobby and is great for kids. There are waterfalls, a slide, and water vollyball and basketball.

There's so much that I could talk about regarding this resort. You should just check it out for yourself.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2006

With the possible exception of the Turnberry in Ft. Lauderdale, this is the most overrated and overpriced golf resort in the world. What is the problem with South Florida resorts, anyway?

The hotel is your standard business conference assembly line - its not even worth talking about.

The blue course is not bad. Easier than it looks if you have a decent sand game. If it were located in, say Chicago, it wouldn't be in the top ten public courses. At like $400, its a joke.

The white course is a wholly manufactured putt-putt layout built on concrete-hard sand in the middle of a Miami slum. How they get people to pay over $300 to play it is incredible.

Forget the other courses. In fact, forget the whole thing. If invited to a conference, call in sick.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump National Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump National Doral Miami

Address: 4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump National Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a tranquil Florida spa and golf resort designed to offer peaceful rest and relaxation in a tropical atmosphere. Situated on 650 lush acres, the world-renowned Trump National Doral Miami provides guests with premier Miami resort amenities and golf course views. A NEW ADDITION. Trump Hotel CollectionTM has recently added Miami's iconic Doral Resort to its portfolio with plans for a spectacular multimillion-dollar redesign to restore Trump Doral to its former grandeur. Trump Doral boasts 693 guestrooms across 10 lodges; world-class golf courses including the Blue Monster; 100,000-sq.-ft. of meeting space including a 24,000-sq.-ft. ballroom; a sprawling 48,000-sq.-ft. spa with 33 treatment rooms; highly regarded golf school and teaching facilities; retail boutiques and a private members' clubhouse. "When completed, Doral will be the finest resort and golf club in the country." Donald J. Trump, Trump Organization chairman and president.The comprehensive redesign of the entire resort begun in 2013, occurring in phases, and is slated to conclude in late 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Trump National Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Golf Resort And Spa, a Marriott Hotel Doral
Marriott Doral
Doral Golf Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump National Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.