We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special but a very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump National Doral Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Trump National Doral Miami to your Saves list
Trump National Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advanced Purchase 20% Off
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Doral
New York City
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
639 helpful votes 639 helpful votes
“Nothing special but a very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2006

I am quite surprised by others' negative reviews. For background, we were staying at Fisher Island when Ernesto came to town and hence were evacuated to the Doral. I was totally bummed but when we arrived at the Doral my expectations were so low that I was pleasantly surprised.

Our suite was very cheap (probably because we were there in hurricane season)--$127 versus $850 at Fisher Island. The suite was large, beautiful and well appointed with lovely views of the golf course. The bathrooms were totally modern and nice. They gave expensive soaps and shampoos. Our beds were king sized with goose down pillows and comforters.

It is true that the hotel has a dated shell but they have done a nice job to modernize it. Again, contrary to what I read on this site, my golf was absolutely cheap ($90 to play the white and $57 to play the red, gold and silver). This may be due to my august stay.

The food is clubhouse fare--nothing more or less. The neighborhood is boring suburban but the gardens and grounds are very nice. At is a good 30 minute drive to Miami beach which was a hassle. The spa and children's facilities were excellent. My children loved the kids' activities. Staff was uniformly excellent and friendly.

This is not a spectacular resort but it is a nice place for a golf and family vacation.

  • Liked — The golf
  • Disliked — the non-descript neighborhood
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    267
    198
    159
    211
See reviews for
177
208
54
439
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

Travelors beware! Just returned and was so turned off by this once-famed resort that I would warn anyone not to go until it has been redone. Some of the low points are highlighted first by the large dead rat laying in the pool area by the waterslide and kids camp doors that was not removed until the next day after we reported it! Yep! It was reported at 4 pm to the "towel girl" (who was the only person we could find at the time) and while she did put her personal cell phone call on hold for a moment, and did acknowledge our dead rat report, nothing was done by 11am the next day when we returned! Unbelieveable!!! There is garbage floating in the lagoon surrounding the pool area and bridges. The chairs around the pool are so old that the straps seperate and sag, the towels literally are like old garage towels that have been washed so many times that they are all stringy and paper thin! There is exposed nails around old wooden frames around every planter in the pool area...very dangerous for the throngs of kids. Pool was visably dirty. The idea that this "resort" is still rated a 5 star is a complete misrepresentation to travelers, and unless you can get a rate for under a 75 bucks stay away! The main golf course is closed and they don't tell you that up front...there are other courses and some nice new ones, but the trade-off is very questionable. I guess large groups of golfers going only for the courses won't be as bothered, but clean is clean...service is service...and value is value...you decide.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2006

I, along with 3 friends, decided to take a short retreat from work and went to the Doral Spa and Resort in Miami. They have a package deal called the "Doral Your Way" package. This deal is pretty good. The cost is $149 per night but includes the room, buffet breakfast, and 1 spa treatment. So, if you plan on going for a spa retreat as we did, I would suggest this package.

As for the accomodations, they were quite lovely. Our adjoining rooms were in Lodge 4 which is just down the hill from the main lobby. The bellman was nice enough to bring our bags to the room and tell us where everything was located that the resort. The room itself is in nice cream tones. Our room had 2 queen beds that had more pillows than I could use and a nice lounge chair in a light green. The room also had a nice balcony with 2 chairs and a table to relax in. The bathroom was the average size. There's a separate area for getting ready and a door to close off the shower and toliet area. The room also came with the standard mini-bar, tv, ect. The resort itself is beautifully kept. There were workers continually mowing the lawn and tending to the plants. The golf courses are imaculate. There are 2 different pools. The main one is in front of the lobby and is great for kids. There are waterfalls, a slide, and water vollyball and basketball.

There's so much that I could talk about regarding this resort. You should just check it out for yourself.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2006

With the possible exception of the Turnberry in Ft. Lauderdale, this is the most overrated and overpriced golf resort in the world. What is the problem with South Florida resorts, anyway?

The hotel is your standard business conference assembly line - its not even worth talking about.

The blue course is not bad. Easier than it looks if you have a decent sand game. If it were located in, say Chicago, it wouldn't be in the top ten public courses. At like $400, its a joke.

The white course is a wholly manufactured putt-putt layout built on concrete-hard sand in the middle of a Miami slum. How they get people to pay over $300 to play it is incredible.

Forget the other courses. In fact, forget the whole thing. If invited to a conference, call in sick.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

We stayed 1 night at the Doral before moving on to Naples. We stayed in lodge 3 which was one of the closest to the main reception. The room was a really good size with a lovely view of the gardens and out to the golf course. The bed was really comfortable and had lovely linens. The bathroom was also nice, but had a small bath! The only gripe of the room we had was that the safe didn't work so we had to carry all our passports and money around with us.

We only used the adults only pool which, in the evening depsite the hotel being full, was empty apart from us. It could have done with a bit more cleaning though as there was debris everywhere and it looked as though it hadn't been cleaned in a week or more.

The resort as a whole was huge and although there was self-parking it was extremely hard to find to begin with and was quite some way to get to the lodge with all our baggage.
There were 3 weddings going on when we arrived and the hotel was totally full and it really felt it. We prefer somewhere with a bit more peace and quiet and found the hotel and it's facilities to be somewhat overwhelming. However, it was ideal for 1 night before moving on!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2006

This is a 5 star hotel operating like a 2 star hotel. Imagine waiting 1 hour and 10 minutes for a bucket of ice, despite having to make 4 calls to get it. Imagine being given a garden view room that is really a view of a busy highway. Imagine golf courses that are no better than any municipal course. Imagine hair in the drains at the spa and threadbare bath robes. Imagine an "I can't do" attitude. This is the Doral. I would never stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2006

This is a nice place and if you are a golfer or into spas, this is haven. If you can afford all these amenities, that is another story. I stayed 3 nights in lodge 10 which is a short walk from the main building where the restaurants are. The food is good but expensive. Like everything else in this place. You can use several computes to access the Internet free of charge. I agree with the rest of the previous comments and I will add that the bed is very comfortable, the linen is first class, and the toiletries are excellent. The carpet appeared to be old and warned out, and water pressure in the shower not that great. The polls are nice and if you don’t like screaming kids there is an adult only pool which I liked.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump National Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump National Doral Miami

Address: 4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump National Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a tranquil Florida spa and golf resort designed to offer peaceful rest and relaxation in a tropical atmosphere. Situated on 650 lush acres, the world-renowned Trump National Doral Miami provides guests with premier Miami resort amenities and golf course views. A NEW ADDITION. Trump Hotel CollectionTM has recently added Miami's iconic Doral Resort to its portfolio with plans for a spectacular multimillion-dollar redesign to restore Trump Doral to its former grandeur. Trump Doral boasts 693 guestrooms across 10 lodges; world-class golf courses including the Blue Monster; 100,000-sq.-ft. of meeting space including a 24,000-sq.-ft. ballroom; a sprawling 48,000-sq.-ft. spa with 33 treatment rooms; highly regarded golf school and teaching facilities; retail boutiques and a private members' clubhouse. "When completed, Doral will be the finest resort and golf club in the country." Donald J. Trump, Trump Organization chairman and president.The comprehensive redesign of the entire resort begun in 2013, occurring in phases, and is slated to conclude in late 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Trump National Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Golf Resort And Spa, a Marriott Hotel Doral
Marriott Doral
Doral Golf Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump National Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.