We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Trump National Doral Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Trump National Doral Miami to your Saves list
Trump National Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase 20% Off
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Doral
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The Worst”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2006

With the possible exception of the Turnberry in Ft. Lauderdale, this is the most overrated and overpriced golf resort in the world. What is the problem with South Florida resorts, anyway?

The hotel is your standard business conference assembly line - its not even worth talking about.

The blue course is not bad. Easier than it looks if you have a decent sand game. If it were located in, say Chicago, it wouldn't be in the top ten public courses. At like $400, its a joke.

The white course is a wholly manufactured putt-putt layout built on concrete-hard sand in the middle of a Miami slum. How they get people to pay over $300 to play it is incredible.

Forget the other courses. In fact, forget the whole thing. If invited to a conference, call in sick.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    288
    215
    163
    214
See reviews for
193
229
63
468
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

We stayed 1 night at the Doral before moving on to Naples. We stayed in lodge 3 which was one of the closest to the main reception. The room was a really good size with a lovely view of the gardens and out to the golf course. The bed was really comfortable and had lovely linens. The bathroom was also nice, but had a small bath! The only gripe of the room we had was that the safe didn't work so we had to carry all our passports and money around with us.

We only used the adults only pool which, in the evening depsite the hotel being full, was empty apart from us. It could have done with a bit more cleaning though as there was debris everywhere and it looked as though it hadn't been cleaned in a week or more.

The resort as a whole was huge and although there was self-parking it was extremely hard to find to begin with and was quite some way to get to the lodge with all our baggage.
There were 3 weddings going on when we arrived and the hotel was totally full and it really felt it. We prefer somewhere with a bit more peace and quiet and found the hotel and it's facilities to be somewhat overwhelming. However, it was ideal for 1 night before moving on!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2006

This is a 5 star hotel operating like a 2 star hotel. Imagine waiting 1 hour and 10 minutes for a bucket of ice, despite having to make 4 calls to get it. Imagine being given a garden view room that is really a view of a busy highway. Imagine golf courses that are no better than any municipal course. Imagine hair in the drains at the spa and threadbare bath robes. Imagine an "I can't do" attitude. This is the Doral. I would never stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2006

This is a nice place and if you are a golfer or into spas, this is haven. If you can afford all these amenities, that is another story. I stayed 3 nights in lodge 10 which is a short walk from the main building where the restaurants are. The food is good but expensive. Like everything else in this place. You can use several computes to access the Internet free of charge. I agree with the rest of the previous comments and I will add that the bed is very comfortable, the linen is first class, and the toiletries are excellent. The carpet appeared to be old and warned out, and water pressure in the shower not that great. The polls are nice and if you don’t like screaming kids there is an adult only pool which I liked.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2006

I just stayed at Doral, and the place is kinda spread out. It looks like an old hotel that has been re-done. It's nice overall, and the room was nice, but the bathroom was smaller then our cruise ship! I'm a big guy, and this was the smallest bathroom ever. The sports bar was really expensive. We spent like $75 for a burger, nachos, one steak dinner and pepsi and one beer. The main building is very nice, and the place is clean. The staff was very nice, and drove us to our building which was nice. The pool is pretty nice as well. Great place just small bathrooms

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2006

Four of us checked in early at the "Doral Villas" which is across the street from the main resort.
The villas are two bedroom and two bathrooms,we booked early and got a rate of $360.00 a night,which was a lot cheaper than buying 2 rooms at the main resort, and the villas have full kitchens so we saved even more money buying food at the "Publik" up the road.
The golf is not cheap, but playing the "great White and the Blue Monster are a must". Heads up to golfers,The Blue monster is being closed around May 10th for a full renovation, and were told will be closed for much of the year. If your staying at the villas make sure to check your clubs in at the resort so you don't have to lug them back and forth.
The practice area which is close to the "great White course is very good and also has a small snack bar.
The pro shop is one of the biggest and best that I have seen, rental clubs are "Calloway" but are $75.00 a day,course yardage books are also not included in price of round, but most other things are fairly priced.

The main pool "Blue Lagoon" is fantastic and has a great slide ride for kids and larger 40 year old kids.There is also a good wirlpool (hot tub at villas,is much hotter and much larger)but the real gem at the main pool is the bar. Good food and Great drinks ie. "Blue Monster" which is fantastic after a round of golf. It closes at 6:00 and the bartending team of Jose or Jeffrey are great. I agree with a previous critic that said there is too many private functions there, but there are many other pools.
"Champions restaurant" is also very good and has a great patio looking out at the 18th hole of "Blue Monster"
Very good $23.00 morning buffet in main restaurant and service in here was the best I have ever seen, orange juice arrives faster than you can drink it and food is very good, even though we had a kitchen, the buffet was the way to go.
South Beach is not close and the cab ride including tip can run up to $50.00 each way,I agree with other critics that say that this resort was designed first for golf fans and has done a good job at keeping non golfers amused, we saw lots of younger couples with small kids that seemed to be having a great time in the pool areas.
One guy in our group was upset that ice machine in villa was not working, and phoned to have it fixed. Repairman arrived within 10 minutes and fixed machine.Over next three days friend mentioned had 2 drinks with ice cubes but machine was working.
In closing 4 day vacation was awesome,golf was a little pricey, but it is a legendary course. The villas were great, and that they let us check in at 11:00am was a real plus.
We are already planning a return trip next year, It was great.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD. USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

This was a trip report in progress in real time as we were there... We just got to the Doral Golf and Spa hotel today and we are very, very surprised how nice it is here. We got a friends and family rate through our friend of $199 a night (instead of $319 regular rate) and it is a relative bargain. We checked our bags, and drove straight for the Seybold building in downtown Miami where my wife was going to pick out some earings she's been saving for since last February. We went to our favorite Joe the Jeweler at Buchwalds (no affiliation), and she got what she's been wanting there. We ate at a fantastic little lunch spot a few blocks away but I forget the name. It was heavenly - a huge tuna panini, salad and homemade chocolate truffle cookies.

We got a courtesy call from the Doral that our room was ready at 130pm so we headed back to the hotel to check in. We were amazed by how nice our room was as well as the entire property. Folks on Trip Advisor had said some fairly rude things about this hotel here and there, but I just can't figure out why. Granted, the whole hotel is taken over by Deloitte and Touche accounting firm with some 4 day conference right now, but so what. Yeah, there were about 100 businessmen jabbering away on their cell phones in the lobby when we got here as they were on break from meetings, but we tried not to pay any attention. I can just see how another reviewer might say "Gosh, the whole hotel was filled with businessmen and there was this huge business meeting 8 hours a day and we felt out of place while on vacation here." But to us, we just don't care about that stuff. It's all good, ya know? No worries, mon.

When the bellman showed us to our room overlooking the golf course on the 2nd floor, our jaws dropped. The room was like something out of a Four Seasons hotel brochure - VERY large, a sweeping golf course and lake view, beautiful linens, really tasteful and expensively framed artwork, a nice separate table area by the door for my wife to use with a stool... It had a sumptuous bathroom with incredible green marble sink (that's kind of unusual - green marble - a touch of class), separate shower and tub, separate toilet behind a door, creme colored marble floor, great bath/spa products - we were so happy.

The mini bar was a trip - it's clear glass in front and shows off the humongous king size candy bars and other decadent treats. It's not like you can hide from them, as it's right below the TV and is always in view - smart marketing. They're staring at you for hours as you watch tv calling out - "you want me, you need me, yeah, we cost alot, but he**, you're on vacation, go ahead and make your day."

The carpet in the room is amazing and the padding ultra thick. Can this really be a Marriott? Is this hotel really 40 years old? Such old world elegance. We just love it here. It's been sunny and beautiful for the 6 days of our trip so far and the pool was so hot today we only lasted 40 minutes out there.

We are breakfast in our room, cereal that we bring and milk we bought last night at a store and drank our own Starbucks we brought with us. We checked out the hotel today - what great looking restaurants. By the way, the bad... the hotel rooms aren't soundproofed that well and we heard the neighbors coughing and talking and their TV. If someone wrote this on Trip Advisor, they might go on and on about how THIN the walls were and say they would NEVER GO BACK! This would have freaked us out. We just turned on our portable fan we always bring with us, put my earplugs in and went to sleep. The sheets are ridiculously nice for a Marriott and the room felt luxurious deluxe. The toilet is one of those large commodious ones with the silent flush. Ahhhh - very nice.

We went to the Spa Pool today and it was heaven. So quiet, nice people all around us, the waterfalls with the little pools next to each one to soak in were fantastic, all off to the side of the main pool. We checked out the spa, but are the type of people that never pay money for spa services when away from home as they are so expensive. My wife needed her toenails repainted so we decided to pay the $15 to have it done and she said it was the most comfortable chair she'd ever been in in a nail salon. They had tea and coffee and fruit so we stocked up on plums, apples and oranges . Bargains are to be found everywhere in life.

The spa building is so handsome but we decided to eat at Champions restaurant next door but still at the Doral Resort. You know how people say sometimes in reviews "Great place but the food was too expensive, don't eat the food there, it wasn't worth it. Go here instead...."?

Well, we realized that for the most part these people are WRONG! We ate the food at Champions and paid $15 for a burger and salad on the side. They split it beautifully for us and it was so big, it felt like we each had a burger and salad. It was amazing, better than the one we split earlier in the week at the Four Seasons Palm Beach. We were stuffed afterwards. So see? It was a bargain in a way, plus, the beauty of the resort all around us, the lush landscaping, the watching the guys set up for some Ford Blue Monster Golf Tournament was cool. We didn't pay money to drive anywhere else, we didn't have to deal with the hassle of driving in mind blowing traffic, we didn't have to pay to park - so it was a GREAT deal. We're even considering eating dinner at Windows on the Green here as the menu is no more expensive than any nice place in South Beach, and it was great ambiance and no parking or driving hassles.

Eating at your own resort is highly underrated we figured. Well, then I'll keep posting. Ate at Windows last night at The Doral and it was most excellent. We had a killer jerk mahi mahi dish, poached pear salad, mushroom soup with a cheese crouton, and a huge dessert plate for dessert with a bunch of mixed dessert that they gave us for our anniversary and a chocolate bomb dessert after that because we're chocolate addicts.

Yesterday we checked out another room that didn't have a connecting door that we thought might be quieter, but it had a view of the putting green and every few seconds you'd hear a "thwack". We decided to keep our room with the view even though it's not well insulated at all due to the connecting door and just deal with it.

Went to the pool today and had my nieces over. The waterslide at the Doral is perfect for kids. They loved it till it started torentially pouring! We then got another cheeseburger split in half with fries at the Champions restaurant and loved it. My nieces got the macaroni and cheese and it was the best I'd ever tasted.

This is a really exciting place right now if you're into golf, (we're not) as most of the world's best players are coming in each day getting ready to play the Doral PGA tour, or something like that! They are driving really cool cars and all seem to have beautiful wives even though they aren't all that ... well, get the point. Tiger Woods is expected in a couple of days - too bad we'll be gone by then.

More to come... the weather just broke and the pool is calling.

We are breakfast in our room, cereal that we bring and milk we bought last night at a store and drank our own Starbucks we brought with us. We checked out the hotel today - what great looking restaurants. By the way, the bad... the hotel rooms aren't soundproofed that well and we heard the neighbors coughing and talking and their TV. If someone wrote this on Trip Advisor, they might go on and on about how THIN the walls were and say they would NEVER GO BACK! This would have freaked us out. We just turned on our portable fan we always bring with us, put my earplugs in and went to sleep. The sheets are ridiculously nice for a Marriott and the room felt luxurious deluxe. The toilet is one of those large commodious ones with the silent flush. Ahhhh - very nice.

We went to the Spa Pool today and it was heaven. So quiet, nice people all around us, the waterfalls with the little pools next to each one to soak in were fantastic, all off to the side of the main pool. We checked out the spa, but are the type of people that never pay money for spa services when away from home as they are so expensive. My wife needed her toenails repainted so we decided to pay the $15 to have it done and she said it was the most comfortable chair she'd ever been in in a nail salon. They had tea and coffee and fruit so we stocked up on plums, apples and oranges . Bargains are to be found everywhere in life.

The spa building is so handsome but we decided to eat at Champions restaurant next door but still at the Doral Resort. You know how people say sometimes in reviews "Great place but the food was too expensive, don't eat the food there, it wasn't worth it. Go here instead...."?

Well, we realized that for the most part these people are WRONG! We ate the food at Champions and paid $15 for a burger and salad on the side. They split it beautifully for us and it was so big, it felt like we each had a burger and salad. It was amazing, better than the one we split earlier in the week at the Four Seasons Palm Beach. We were stuffed afterwards. So see? It was a bargain in a way, plus, the beauty of the resort all around us, the lush landscaping, the watching the guys set up for some Ford Blue Monster Golf Tournament was cool. We didn't pay money to drive anywhere else, we didn't have to deal with the hassle of driving in mind blowing traffic, we didn't have to pay to park - so it was a GREAT deal. We're even considering eating dinner at Windows on the Green here as the menu is no more expensive than any nice place in South Beach, and it was great ambiance and no parking or driving hassles.

Ate at Windows last night at The Doral and it was most excellent. We had a killer jerk mahi mahi dish, poached pear salad, mushroom soup with a cheese crouton, and a huge dessert plate for dessert with a bunch of mixed dessert that they gave us for our anniversary and a chocolate bomb dessert after that because we're chocolate addicts.

Yesterday we checked out another room that didn't have a connecting door that we thought might be quieter, but it had a view of the putting green and every few seconds you'd hear a "thwack". We decided to keep our room with the view even though it's not well insulated at all due to the connecting door and just deal with it.

Went to the pool today and had my nieces over. The waterslide at the Doral is perfect for kids. They loved it till it started torentially pouring! We then got another cheeseburger split in half with fries at the Champions restaurant and loved it. My nieces got the macaroni and cheese and it was the best I'd ever tasted.

This is a really exciting place right now if you're into golf, (we're not) as most of the world's best players are coming in each day getting ready to play the Doral PGA tour, or something like that! They are driving really cool cars and all seem to have beautiful wives even though they aren't all that ... well, get the point. Tiger Woods is expected in a couple of days - too bad we'll be gone by then.

Trip is over now and we're home. Lastly just want to say that the real downfall of the Doral is the extreme lack of soundproofing in between the rooms (adults and their kids in the room next door on the sounded like they were in our room when our fan wasn't on!) and the awful walk to the self parking area. There are no sidewalks for part of this walk and it's really kind of dangerous with all the traffic and electric maintenance carts running around this area all night and day.

PS - here's the end of the story I guess... Just got a DHL express mail pak from The Doral (a week after we left there and wrote a letter to the Mgr highlighting some of the problems we had) and they're sorry for the problems and are offering us the same Friends and Family rate of $199 to come back next year AND a free room upgrade. Not bad. We're pretty pleased. We loved that place, but would have liked a quieter room and better self park. He said in the letter that they are in the process of improving it and will move all the self park to the Spa area soon when the renovations are completed. We'll be back!

Steve R
Silver Spring, MD

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump National Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump National Doral Miami

Address: 4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump National Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump National Doral(R) Miami is a prestigious 800-acre resort boasting a completely re-designed clubhouse, new Deluxe and Suite accommodations, luxurious event spaces, new restaurant concepts, 4 redesigned championship golf courses, plus all new re-imagined recreational amenities and retail shops for guests and members to enjoy. Doral(R) is once again one of the greatest resort destinations in the world. Purchased by the Trump Organization in June 2012, the Doral Golf Resort & Spa has undergone a dramatic restoration to recapture the resort's early grandeur. Every aspect of the resort has been completely transformed in order to bring the new Trump National Doral(R) Miami to the highest level of luxury, infused with the distinguished five-star level of service that is synonymous with the Trump brand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump National Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Golf Resort And Spa, a Marriott Hotel Doral
Marriott Doral
Doral Golf Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump National Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.