We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump National Doral Miami

Save Saved
You added Trump National Doral Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trump National Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Signature Golf Package
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Doral
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very nice resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2006

This is a nice place and if you are a golfer or into spas, this is haven. If you can afford all these amenities, that is another story. I stayed 3 nights in lodge 10 which is a short walk from the main building where the restaurants are. The food is good but expensive. Like everything else in this place. You can use several computes to access the Internet free of charge. I agree with the rest of the previous comments and I will add that the bed is very comfortable, the linen is first class, and the toiletries are excellent. The carpet appeared to be old and warned out, and water pressure in the shower not that great. The polls are nice and if you don’t like screaming kids there is an adult only pool which I liked.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    243
    178
    147
    204
See reviews for
158
184
47
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2006

I just stayed at Doral, and the place is kinda spread out. It looks like an old hotel that has been re-done. It's nice overall, and the room was nice, but the bathroom was smaller then our cruise ship! I'm a big guy, and this was the smallest bathroom ever. The sports bar was really expensive. We spent like $75 for a burger, nachos, one steak dinner and pepsi and one beer. The main building is very nice, and the place is clean. The staff was very nice, and drove us to our building which was nice. The pool is pretty nice as well. Great place just small bathrooms

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2006

Four of us checked in early at the "Doral Villas" which is across the street from the main resort.
The villas are two bedroom and two bathrooms,we booked early and got a rate of $360.00 a night,which was a lot cheaper than buying 2 rooms at the main resort, and the villas have full kitchens so we saved even more money buying food at the "Publik" up the road.
The golf is not cheap, but playing the "great White and the Blue Monster are a must". Heads up to golfers,The Blue monster is being closed around May 10th for a full renovation, and were told will be closed for much of the year. If your staying at the villas make sure to check your clubs in at the resort so you don't have to lug them back and forth.
The practice area which is close to the "great White course is very good and also has a small snack bar.
The pro shop is one of the biggest and best that I have seen, rental clubs are "Calloway" but are $75.00 a day,course yardage books are also not included in price of round, but most other things are fairly priced.

The main pool "Blue Lagoon" is fantastic and has a great slide ride for kids and larger 40 year old kids.There is also a good wirlpool (hot tub at villas,is much hotter and much larger)but the real gem at the main pool is the bar. Good food and Great drinks ie. "Blue Monster" which is fantastic after a round of golf. It closes at 6:00 and the bartending team of Jose or Jeffrey are great. I agree with a previous critic that said there is too many private functions there, but there are many other pools.
"Champions restaurant" is also very good and has a great patio looking out at the 18th hole of "Blue Monster"
Very good $23.00 morning buffet in main restaurant and service in here was the best I have ever seen, orange juice arrives faster than you can drink it and food is very good, even though we had a kitchen, the buffet was the way to go.
South Beach is not close and the cab ride including tip can run up to $50.00 each way,I agree with other critics that say that this resort was designed first for golf fans and has done a good job at keeping non golfers amused, we saw lots of younger couples with small kids that seemed to be having a great time in the pool areas.
One guy in our group was upset that ice machine in villa was not working, and phoned to have it fixed. Repairman arrived within 10 minutes and fixed machine.Over next three days friend mentioned had 2 drinks with ice cubes but machine was working.
In closing 4 day vacation was awesome,golf was a little pricey, but it is a legendary course. The villas were great, and that they let us check in at 11:00am was a real plus.
We are already planning a return trip next year, It was great.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD. USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

This was a trip report in progress in real time as we were there... We just got to the Doral Golf and Spa hotel today and we are very, very surprised how nice it is here. We got a friends and family rate through our friend of $199 a night (instead of $319 regular rate) and it is a relative bargain. We checked our bags, and drove straight for the Seybold building in downtown Miami where my wife was going to pick out some earings she's been saving for since last February. We went to our favorite Joe the Jeweler at Buchwalds (no affiliation), and she got what she's been wanting there. We ate at a fantastic little lunch spot a few blocks away but I forget the name. It was heavenly - a huge tuna panini, salad and homemade chocolate truffle cookies.

We got a courtesy call from the Doral that our room was ready at 130pm so we headed back to the hotel to check in. We were amazed by how nice our room was as well as the entire property. Folks on Trip Advisor had said some fairly rude things about this hotel here and there, but I just can't figure out why. Granted, the whole hotel is taken over by Deloitte and Touche accounting firm with some 4 day conference right now, but so what. Yeah, there were about 100 businessmen jabbering away on their cell phones in the lobby when we got here as they were on break from meetings, but we tried not to pay any attention. I can just see how another reviewer might say "Gosh, the whole hotel was filled with businessmen and there was this huge business meeting 8 hours a day and we felt out of place while on vacation here." But to us, we just don't care about that stuff. It's all good, ya know? No worries, mon.

When the bellman showed us to our room overlooking the golf course on the 2nd floor, our jaws dropped. The room was like something out of a Four Seasons hotel brochure - VERY large, a sweeping golf course and lake view, beautiful linens, really tasteful and expensively framed artwork, a nice separate table area by the door for my wife to use with a stool... It had a sumptuous bathroom with incredible green marble sink (that's kind of unusual - green marble - a touch of class), separate shower and tub, separate toilet behind a door, creme colored marble floor, great bath/spa products - we were so happy.

The mini bar was a trip - it's clear glass in front and shows off the humongous king size candy bars and other decadent treats. It's not like you can hide from them, as it's right below the TV and is always in view - smart marketing. They're staring at you for hours as you watch tv calling out - "you want me, you need me, yeah, we cost alot, but he**, you're on vacation, go ahead and make your day."

The carpet in the room is amazing and the padding ultra thick. Can this really be a Marriott? Is this hotel really 40 years old? Such old world elegance. We just love it here. It's been sunny and beautiful for the 6 days of our trip so far and the pool was so hot today we only lasted 40 minutes out there.

We are breakfast in our room, cereal that we bring and milk we bought last night at a store and drank our own Starbucks we brought with us. We checked out the hotel today - what great looking restaurants. By the way, the bad... the hotel rooms aren't soundproofed that well and we heard the neighbors coughing and talking and their TV. If someone wrote this on Trip Advisor, they might go on and on about how THIN the walls were and say they would NEVER GO BACK! This would have freaked us out. We just turned on our portable fan we always bring with us, put my earplugs in and went to sleep. The sheets are ridiculously nice for a Marriott and the room felt luxurious deluxe. The toilet is one of those large commodious ones with the silent flush. Ahhhh - very nice.

We went to the Spa Pool today and it was heaven. So quiet, nice people all around us, the waterfalls with the little pools next to each one to soak in were fantastic, all off to the side of the main pool. We checked out the spa, but are the type of people that never pay money for spa services when away from home as they are so expensive. My wife needed her toenails repainted so we decided to pay the $15 to have it done and she said it was the most comfortable chair she'd ever been in in a nail salon. They had tea and coffee and fruit so we stocked up on plums, apples and oranges . Bargains are to be found everywhere in life.

The spa building is so handsome but we decided to eat at Champions restaurant next door but still at the Doral Resort. You know how people say sometimes in reviews "Great place but the food was too expensive, don't eat the food there, it wasn't worth it. Go here instead...."?

Well, we realized that for the most part these people are WRONG! We ate the food at Champions and paid $15 for a burger and salad on the side. They split it beautifully for us and it was so big, it felt like we each had a burger and salad. It was amazing, better than the one we split earlier in the week at the Four Seasons Palm Beach. We were stuffed afterwards. So see? It was a bargain in a way, plus, the beauty of the resort all around us, the lush landscaping, the watching the guys set up for some Ford Blue Monster Golf Tournament was cool. We didn't pay money to drive anywhere else, we didn't have to deal with the hassle of driving in mind blowing traffic, we didn't have to pay to park - so it was a GREAT deal. We're even considering eating dinner at Windows on the Green here as the menu is no more expensive than any nice place in South Beach, and it was great ambiance and no parking or driving hassles.

Eating at your own resort is highly underrated we figured. Well, then I'll keep posting. Ate at Windows last night at The Doral and it was most excellent. We had a killer jerk mahi mahi dish, poached pear salad, mushroom soup with a cheese crouton, and a huge dessert plate for dessert with a bunch of mixed dessert that they gave us for our anniversary and a chocolate bomb dessert after that because we're chocolate addicts.

Yesterday we checked out another room that didn't have a connecting door that we thought might be quieter, but it had a view of the putting green and every few seconds you'd hear a "thwack". We decided to keep our room with the view even though it's not well insulated at all due to the connecting door and just deal with it.

Went to the pool today and had my nieces over. The waterslide at the Doral is perfect for kids. They loved it till it started torentially pouring! We then got another cheeseburger split in half with fries at the Champions restaurant and loved it. My nieces got the macaroni and cheese and it was the best I'd ever tasted.

This is a really exciting place right now if you're into golf, (we're not) as most of the world's best players are coming in each day getting ready to play the Doral PGA tour, or something like that! They are driving really cool cars and all seem to have beautiful wives even though they aren't all that ... well, get the point. Tiger Woods is expected in a couple of days - too bad we'll be gone by then.

More to come... the weather just broke and the pool is calling.

We are breakfast in our room, cereal that we bring and milk we bought last night at a store and drank our own Starbucks we brought with us. We checked out the hotel today - what great looking restaurants. By the way, the bad... the hotel rooms aren't soundproofed that well and we heard the neighbors coughing and talking and their TV. If someone wrote this on Trip Advisor, they might go on and on about how THIN the walls were and say they would NEVER GO BACK! This would have freaked us out. We just turned on our portable fan we always bring with us, put my earplugs in and went to sleep. The sheets are ridiculously nice for a Marriott and the room felt luxurious deluxe. The toilet is one of those large commodious ones with the silent flush. Ahhhh - very nice.

We went to the Spa Pool today and it was heaven. So quiet, nice people all around us, the waterfalls with the little pools next to each one to soak in were fantastic, all off to the side of the main pool. We checked out the spa, but are the type of people that never pay money for spa services when away from home as they are so expensive. My wife needed her toenails repainted so we decided to pay the $15 to have it done and she said it was the most comfortable chair she'd ever been in in a nail salon. They had tea and coffee and fruit so we stocked up on plums, apples and oranges . Bargains are to be found everywhere in life.

The spa building is so handsome but we decided to eat at Champions restaurant next door but still at the Doral Resort. You know how people say sometimes in reviews "Great place but the food was too expensive, don't eat the food there, it wasn't worth it. Go here instead...."?

Well, we realized that for the most part these people are WRONG! We ate the food at Champions and paid $15 for a burger and salad on the side. They split it beautifully for us and it was so big, it felt like we each had a burger and salad. It was amazing, better than the one we split earlier in the week at the Four Seasons Palm Beach. We were stuffed afterwards. So see? It was a bargain in a way, plus, the beauty of the resort all around us, the lush landscaping, the watching the guys set up for some Ford Blue Monster Golf Tournament was cool. We didn't pay money to drive anywhere else, we didn't have to deal with the hassle of driving in mind blowing traffic, we didn't have to pay to park - so it was a GREAT deal. We're even considering eating dinner at Windows on the Green here as the menu is no more expensive than any nice place in South Beach, and it was great ambiance and no parking or driving hassles.

Ate at Windows last night at The Doral and it was most excellent. We had a killer jerk mahi mahi dish, poached pear salad, mushroom soup with a cheese crouton, and a huge dessert plate for dessert with a bunch of mixed dessert that they gave us for our anniversary and a chocolate bomb dessert after that because we're chocolate addicts.

Yesterday we checked out another room that didn't have a connecting door that we thought might be quieter, but it had a view of the putting green and every few seconds you'd hear a "thwack". We decided to keep our room with the view even though it's not well insulated at all due to the connecting door and just deal with it.

Went to the pool today and had my nieces over. The waterslide at the Doral is perfect for kids. They loved it till it started torentially pouring! We then got another cheeseburger split in half with fries at the Champions restaurant and loved it. My nieces got the macaroni and cheese and it was the best I'd ever tasted.

This is a really exciting place right now if you're into golf, (we're not) as most of the world's best players are coming in each day getting ready to play the Doral PGA tour, or something like that! They are driving really cool cars and all seem to have beautiful wives even though they aren't all that ... well, get the point. Tiger Woods is expected in a couple of days - too bad we'll be gone by then.

Trip is over now and we're home. Lastly just want to say that the real downfall of the Doral is the extreme lack of soundproofing in between the rooms (adults and their kids in the room next door on the sounded like they were in our room when our fan wasn't on!) and the awful walk to the self parking area. There are no sidewalks for part of this walk and it's really kind of dangerous with all the traffic and electric maintenance carts running around this area all night and day.

PS - here's the end of the story I guess... Just got a DHL express mail pak from The Doral (a week after we left there and wrote a letter to the Mgr highlighting some of the problems we had) and they're sorry for the problems and are offering us the same Friends and Family rate of $199 to come back next year AND a free room upgrade. Not bad. We're pretty pleased. We loved that place, but would have liked a quieter room and better self park. He said in the letter that they are in the process of improving it and will move all the self park to the Spa area soon when the renovations are completed. We'll be back!

Steve R
Silver Spring, MD

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2006

Having read the poor reviews I had low expectations of this hotel. However, I was pleasantly surprised. I stayed 3 nights for a conference. It was a 30 minute ($25) taxi ride from the airport in the rush hour, and check in was painless. The room (lodge 10) was clean and spacious with a huge bed and a small balcony - hard to fault. The pools looked clean although nothing special and the grounds appeared well-maintained.

Room service was expensive, but arrived promptly and the plates were always collected from the hall by the morning. The main hotel is fairly standard and the conference facilities were OK.

Beware the surcharges. I found 3 separate taxes on my bill and various surcharges for things I hadn't used. Allow an extra 25% on top of the basic room charge.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2006

We stayed two nights before our cruise. Very nice grounds ... definitely a resort atmosphere. The hotel rooms are in several buildings at the resort. The resort has two fantastic pools, spa (we did not use) and of course golf.

Our room was very large ... king bed ... with a separate sitting area with a 3 cushions couch.

The resort has a Starbucks that serves a light breakfast. It also has a full service restaurant. Unfortunately, the location of the resort is not close to any walking distant restaurant, you will need to drive 5-10 min.

For a pre-cruise, the hotel is far .. you need a car ... for a vacation especially if you golf ... it's very nice.

We did have a few small problems that were addressed to our satisfaction.

Parking: You can self part (free) or valet park (the cost is about $22.00/night. As the resort is large, the self part is about 5 minute walk.


Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2006

Stayed here for a week. Husband was in a sales conference. Spa is okay, but don't expect it to be top notch. It is very beautiful, and we loved eating in the Atrium Restaurant (relaxing, healthy food), but there are serious problems here. In my opinion, I think it's a management problem. Not too many huge problems, but a lot of little things like a staff member complaining they weren't paid enough, telling someone they have to shower before a pedicure, and leaving another person on a hot massage table for 2 hours forgetting to come back to get them (could have been very serious, but fortunately was not).

Food is VERY expensive, but very good & plentiful. Shops are nice & a pretty good variety.

Rooms are nice, spacious, comfy beds, but it is true that the a/c must not be working. We turned ours down to 65 degrees & it still got hot at night. We believe the resort turns the air off or way down at night. Outside our patio there was trash everywhere. No one picked it up the whole time we were there.

Golf: My husband loved the course and had good things to say about it.

Parking will cost you $22/day, however, you'll need to rent a car if you want to explore. Speaking of exploring, you MUST go to Coconut Grove which is about 30 minutes away. It has a delightful shopping area with neat restaurants. We went there twice - nice break from South Beach.

Be aware that traffic in Miami is horrible. There is ALWAYS traffic, people drive VERY fast & will cut you off, blow their horns at you, and there were several wrecks no matter where we went. Lots of construction on the roads.

Pools are really nice, especially the one at the spa where it's adults only.

BTW, several people have posted that the Doral is a 5-star resort. I did not see that on their website, and have not been able to find it anywhere else (AAA, etc.), so don't expect 5-star. At best, it's a 3-star. Just note that the Marriott took over 2 years ago, so it may just be growing pains.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trump National Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump National Doral Miami

Address: 4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump National Doral Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a tranquil Florida spa and golf resort designed to offer peaceful rest and relaxation in a tropical atmosphere. Situated on 650 lush acres, the world-renowned Trump National Doral Miami provides guests with premier Miami resort amenities and golf course views. A NEW ADDITION. Trump Hotel CollectionTM has recently added Miami's iconic Doral Resort to its portfolio with plans for a spectacular multimillion-dollar redesign to restore Trump Doral to its former grandeur. Trump Doral boasts 693 guestrooms across 10 lodges; world-class golf courses including the Blue Monster; 100,000-sq.-ft. of meeting space including a 24,000-sq.-ft. ballroom; a sprawling 48,000-sq.-ft. spa with 33 treatment rooms; highly regarded golf school and teaching facilities; retail boutiques and a private members' clubhouse. "When completed, Doral will be the finest resort and golf club in the country." Donald J. Trump, Trump Organization chairman and president.The comprehensive redesign of the entire resort begun in 2013, occurring in phases, and is slated to conclude in late 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Trump National Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Golf Resort And Spa, a Marriott Hotel Doral
Marriott Doral
Doral Golf Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump National Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.