We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf courses and excellent service but the rooms need upgrading.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump National Doral Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Trump National Doral Miami to your Saves list
Trump National Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advanced Purchase 20% Off
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Orlando
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great golf courses and excellent service but the rooms need upgrading.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

A group of us went to Doral in May for a golf tournament. We each stayed in a villa and they were very spacious. There were four in our family so we had two rooms in two separate buildings. The rooms were huge and comfortable (we all compared) but agreed that the carpets needed to be replaced. It had a moldy smell each time you came in the room. I asked for a fridge and 10 min. later, it was brought in. The air conditioning needed to be looked at, and in 10 min., a maintenance person came and fixed it....just needed adjusting.

The restaurant downstairs was usually the only place our whole group (80 of us) hung out for breakfast and lunch and an occasional supper. The menu is simple and felt they needed something in between this restaurant and their upscale restaurant upstairs. There are many restaurants nearby and walkable but most of the people in our group did not rent a car so they were mostly stuck at the restaurant. While we (my family) ate out at a Cuban restaurant one night, a Japanese the next night and a Korean restaurant one night. On the last night, we hopped to So. Beach and had Joe's Stone Crabs which were out of this world! We always manage to make it to Joe's whenever we are in Miami.

Doral's golf is fantastic! Not easy, very tricky, manicured and maintained nicely. Blue monster is on the pricey side but well worth the experience. The staff at the golf course goes out of their way to make your golf experience a special one. All in all, worth the stay and will definitely return.

Doral's front desk is excellent too. Since we were a Marriott member, and my son worked for the Ritz Carlton, they comped us on the parking ($10 a day) and free internet in the room ($12.99 nt). That's a big saving staying there for a week. What more can we ask???

Doral's manager keeps up after the trip to ensure we had a good experience and apologized for the little inconveniences we had....like the air conditioner, etc. What? It was nothing! Anyway, thought it was such a nice gesture! Thank you, Doral, for giving us such a special time!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    267
    198
    158
    211
See reviews for
176
208
54
437
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights related to a conference being held at the hotel. The grounds are very beautiful and the food is pretty good. The room was large, a little dated, but not awful.

The big downside was the walls, or what sounded like, a lack of walls. There was a family in the room next door, and granted, the kid was a little out of control (banging on the walls, etc). However, you could hear voices non-stop. Even when the child (and parents) spoke at a normal volume, it sounded like the kid was in the same room. Not sure if all of the rooms were like this, but the one I stayed in was. Traveling from the West Coast, I already had enough problems sleeping due to the time change. But the addition of the thin walls made it worse.

Did not get to use the golf courses or the spa, but they did look very nice.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

We just returned from a week-long stay at the Doral. It was a lovely resort, and top-notch service. Example: upon hearing I was gluten-free, the chef personally baked wheat-free chocolate chip cookies and sent them to our room...along with chilled milk!

Unfortunately for us, however, it rained every afternoon - and the spa was under renovation. We found out the hard way, the Doral has very little to do if it's raining. I strongly recommend renting a car if you see a cloud in the sky!

The prices are pretty steep. As New Yorkers, we're used to expensive meals. But at the Doral, a buffet lunch for 2 was nearly $100. A little high, even for us. And beware the mini-bar: a bag of M&Ms is $4. So if you rent that car, take a spin by the grocery store to save a bit here and there on incidentals.

Despite these minor issues, however, the Doral is a lovely resort and we very much enjoyed our stay. I wouldn't exactly call it "luxury" but for a nice getaway, it certainly fit our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay Area
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Memorial day weekend.....
Describe the service you experienced --The service from Evelyn at the front desk was great. She was very attentive to helping me to resolve my problem with the parking.
Tell us how you liked the room --The room was not so great. The floor was wet near the restroom. We told one of the employees and she said she would look into finding us another room and she would come back to the room to let us know what the front desk said. THAT NEVER HAPPENED. We just decided to just stay in the room. The water puddle did dry up. Maybe it was because the room was so cold, but the thing that got me was the fact that she didn't come back and check on us. The second nite which was a Saturday. We asked the front desk for extra towels....Ahhh...no one ever delivered the towels or wash cloths.
Talk about the location & amenities ---The pool was being cleaned when we went in the morning to get in...The location was away from everything which was fine..The gym was great....There weren't really any employees around to assist you with what you needed. It was like a desert. There was a banquet hall that was either leaking or mildewed because they were cleaning the carpet and it smelled awful. From this point on I will stick to Marriot the hotel and stay away from the Resort. Well at least in Miami. I was very disappointed with the Service. I was trying to impress my siter on her 40th Birthday by taking her so she can feel the Resort experience and they all were dissappointed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
375 helpful votes 375 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

Recently returned from a business trip/conference at this property.
Miami Airport - Hotel does not have an airport shuttle. Taxi runs anywhere from 25 - 25 dollars depending on traffic.

Check-In- No lines, staff was very pleasant, no problems checking in.

Room - Large room with King size Bed, standard size TV, workstation with high-speed (for a charge), mini bar, large patio. No complaints. Very comfortable.

Property/Facilities - Gym - Large gym, plenty of equipment, window faces the Monster Course. Cardio equipment had TV's and plug in's for iPod,
Pool(s) - Very impressive. Two separate pools divided by a pool side bar. One pool had a small water slide. The pool is heated, very enjoyable for evening swims. Plenty of chairs/towels and complimentary water. Prices at the poolside bar were very expensive. $15 for specialty drink, $6 for a draft beer.

Food - The property has several restaurants. I ate at Champions sports bar. Service was poor on both occasions; quality of the food was average. Mostly sandwiches/burgers/salads.
Had breakfast once at the Terrazza - Open limited hours, mostly lunch and breakfast. Very good food, average service. Large outdoor seating area overlooking the greens.

Other - This property is very close to the airport and as other’s have commented, it's very noisy. Planes landing almost by the minute. Get's kind of annoying at times. Be prepared to spend. This is a resort, and prices are very high. Rooms are in lodges (1-10). Lodges are spread out on the property. Be prepared to walk a little.

Golfing - I am a golfer, unfortunately, I was not able to golf because of the conference I was attending. Some intel to share - Green fees are very high. The Monster Course goes for a good $350 and is not available everyday. There are 4 other courses to play. Forgot your clubs? No problem, all rentals are Callaway. Rentals come with two sleeves of Big Bertha golf balls. Tees are free and available at each starting box. Pro Shop - Excellent. Something for everyone. Again, be prepared to spend. I was a little disappointed in the ladies selections. A little more limited compared to the men’s selection.

Closing - Excellent property, something for everyone, better if you golf! Be prepared to spend.

Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

Been several times for both business and personal. Staff is very attentative, and meeting rooms clean, well stocked. The rooms have been upgraded. The pool is terrific. You cannot beat the buffet for breakfast, lunch, or brunch. Great place to take families for a casual brunch. Nice place to have a family event such as a birthday party or small gathering. It has a little of everything for everyone. Golf course is attractive, well kept.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orono
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

We flew into Miami and traveled to Naples for a weeks vacation with our three children. We wanted to spend a night in Miami on either side of our trip to unwind before traveling on. We chose the Doral based on its reasonable rates and consistent reviews. We enjoyed our stay.
The hotel is only a very short drive from the airport, but once you enter Doral you leave the hectic, dirty city. The hotel grounds are beautiful. The lodges border the golf course. Our first room was nicely decorated, but small. The bath was clean, marble, nice products, but very small. Our balcony overlooked the parking lot. Our second room on our way back, was much larger. Our bathroom was twice as big. Our balcony overlooked the golf course - beautiful. I write this so that you know to request a golf course view with a larger bath. Our second room was in Lodge 2. Both rooms had comfy beds , nice furniture and bedding.
The pool area is very large and tropical with water slide and water falls. My kids enjoyed the pool very much! There was live music and poolside dining.
My husband and son golfed when we arrived and enjoyed the course. Children golf for free with a paying adult after 2:00. We ate at the outdoor restaurant that overlooks the golf course both nights we were there. The food is hotel expensive, but it was good. There is a Starbucks in the main building with breakfast pastry.
This is not a hotel you want to spend a week at unless you are there to spa/golf or sightsee. We thought it was perfect for an overnight. It is a very nice, clean beautiful spot!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump National Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump National Doral Miami

Address: 4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump National Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a tranquil Florida spa and golf resort designed to offer peaceful rest and relaxation in a tropical atmosphere. Situated on 650 lush acres, the world-renowned Trump National Doral Miami provides guests with premier Miami resort amenities and golf course views. A NEW ADDITION. Trump Hotel CollectionTM has recently added Miami's iconic Doral Resort to its portfolio with plans for a spectacular multimillion-dollar redesign to restore Trump Doral to its former grandeur. Trump Doral boasts 693 guestrooms across 10 lodges; world-class golf courses including the Blue Monster; 100,000-sq.-ft. of meeting space including a 24,000-sq.-ft. ballroom; a sprawling 48,000-sq.-ft. spa with 33 treatment rooms; highly regarded golf school and teaching facilities; retail boutiques and a private members' clubhouse. "When completed, Doral will be the finest resort and golf club in the country." Donald J. Trump, Trump Organization chairman and president.The comprehensive redesign of the entire resort begun in 2013, occurring in phases, and is slated to conclude in late 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Trump National Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Golf Resort And Spa, a Marriott Hotel Doral
Marriott Doral
Doral Golf Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump National Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.