We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but Pinehurst NC was nicer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trump National Doral Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Trump National Doral Miami to your Saves list
Trump National Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase 20% Off
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Doral
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place but Pinehurst NC was nicer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here but last year we stayed at the Carolina Hotel in Pinehurst, played Pinehurst #2, and had a much better time. I won't return considering the other options available. The golf course at Doral seemed artificial in every way. Nothing about the course was memorable and the "renovation" did very little to improve the golf course.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Donaldrossgolfer,

Thank you for your comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,


David Feder
Vice President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    299
    220
    171
    219
See reviews for
196
239
64
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

What a great week at Trump Doral! This property has undergone a true renaissance. The key is their people though; Sergio Baez, David Fick, Rebecca Graves, Carlos Pizan, Gary Kirtman, Tony Joyce, Norma(Front Desk), Catrina(Front Desk), & Stephanie Ward were all outstanding! Everyone was so accommodating and service oriented I can't imagine a better "team" anywhere. A huge 'shoutout' to Sergio and David for being 1 step ahead of me anticipating our needs and next moves. The resort and the team are 100% top shelf!

Room Tip: Make certain you stay in the new Villas, Player, Jones, or Woods. They are totally reworked and phen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Tom B10,

Thank you for your very gracious note. We're all delighted to hear that your event went well and that our team was accommodating and service oriented. This is exactly what we strive for!

I also want to thank you for your nice remarks about our staff; specifically Sergio, David, Rebecca, Carlos, Gary, Tony, Norma, Catrina and Stephanie.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Trump National Doral.

Sincerely,


David Feder
Vice President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We booked 2 nights at the Doral with the specific intention to play golf, but were told when we rang up to arrange the golf there were no tee times available the first day and only late afternoon the 2nd day! The women I spoke to was surly and unhelpful. We finally got a tee time at 0754 only when we were about to cancel altogether. Also we encountered lots of little problems and when we told reception staff about our issues,although they were nice, but didn't really do anything to solve the problems and came across as quite inexperienced.

On the plus side the rooms, hotel, pool and golf course were lovely as you would expect.

Room Tip: We were in the Bobby Jones villa, which was lovely and peaceful but it was a bit of a walk to the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Sue M.,

Thank you for taking to time to write your comments on your recent stay at Trump National Doral. We take your remarks seriously and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced when trying to book your tee times. Your remarks were sent to our leadership team.

On the other hand, we're happy to hear that you thought our rooms, hotel, pool and golf course were lovely.

We thank you again for sharing your valuable comments with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,


David Feder
Vice President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We recently spent a three-day weekend at the newly remodeled Trump National Doral. What a place! We are locals and have visited Doral periodically over the years but this is our first time since Trump took over. Wow, what a change! For the better!

Our room was in the newly remodeled Bobby Jones Villa. Everything was perfect, everything was new, everything was exquisite. The beds were so comfortable. My girl wanted to know what brand they were and where we could buy one.

Probably the most pleasant experience I had during my stay was my encounter with one of the Trump staff members. While walking towards the BLT restaurant I asked Mr. Jim Borrowski (Director of Facilities) for directions. Clearly this guy is a busy man but he not only took the time to help me but engaged in a conversation that showed me he was truly interested in my satisfaction as a resort guest. He found out that I was in a similar line of business and took the time to show me a very impressive chiller plant that provides air-conditioning to the resort. Thank you again Jim and thanks to all the staff members at Trump Doral. I will be back.

Room Tip: Stay in one of those newly renovated Vilas. Mine was the Bobby Jones Villa. Others are Gary Player a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Chuck M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Trump National Doral. We’re happy to hear that you had a wonderful staycation and that you were impressed by our transformation.

We also want to thank you for your comments about Jim. We have shared your remarks with him and to the entire staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


David Feder
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel is still undergoing renovations, however the pool area is complete and looks great. We were able to get a room in one of the newly renovated buildings and were very pleased. Very beautiful decor, extremely comfortable bed and very nice bathroom amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Irene E,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Trump National Doral. I am glad to hear that you were impressed and pleased with us, specifically with the pool area and guestrooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Trump National Doral.

Sincerely,


David Feder
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed here for a conference in mid May.
First the negatives:
You pay for EVERYTHING here. prices at the bar are ridiculous. We took one look and headed over to the Carolina Pub across the road where drinks were 1/3 the price of Trumps. Parking charges are also outrageous plus the guys all expect to be tipped. I wanted to park for 30 minutes and one guy wanted to charge me $18 self parking fee. When I got to my room, there were 2 bottles Fiji bottle water next to the tv. Naturally I drank them and found to my amazement that I was charged $20 on checkout. There was no sign saying there was a charge and they were not stored in the mini bar so I assumed they were free. There was a thunderstorm on my second to last day. Nothing major but somehow it knowcked out tv service at the hotel for over 12 hours. Of course when we called to get updates, no one could provide any meaningful info except 'we are working on it'.

The positives: I was given a room in the Bobby Jones villa. It was large and very comfortable. Air condition worked well and maid service was good.
The biggest positive at the hotel is Mr. Elmo Wells, the Front Desk Director. He was very friendly and always willing to assist in any way possible. A true asset to the hotel. I hope he is well paid.

Room Tip: Bobby Jones villa is not too far from main building or the entrance to hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear keibri89,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. Your remarks have been passed on to our management team for corrective actions in efforts to improve our guest experience.

I'm pleased that you were impressed with Elmo and will ensure your comments will be sent to him.

I appreciate you sharing your experience here and hope to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,


David Feder
Vice President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I recently stayed at the trump national for one night on business. I enjoyed the spa but was very disappointed by the level of service. I was particularly disappointed by the host staff at BLT. The young lady that seated me was very dismissive . I was lucky enough to stay in a renovated suite and experienced the same issue as another reviewer with a very inadequate A/C unit. I would only recommend this resort for a golfer on a short stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a renovated room as the hotel is under a massive overhaul.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear BizFamJetSetter,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us in May. I apologize for the deficiencies in service, specially in BLT Prime. Your feedback has been sent to BLT Prime Management and were addressed.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,


David Feder
Vice President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump National Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump National Doral Miami

Address: 4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump National Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump National Doral(R) Miami is a prestigious 800-acre resort boasting a completely re-designed clubhouse, new Deluxe and Suite accommodations, luxurious event spaces, new restaurant concepts, 4 redesigned championship golf courses, plus all new re-imagined recreational amenities and retail shops for guests and members to enjoy. Doral(R) is once again one of the greatest resort destinations in the world. Purchased by the Trump Organization in June 2012, the Doral Golf Resort & Spa has undergone a dramatic restoration to recapture the resort's early grandeur. Every aspect of the resort has been completely transformed in order to bring the new Trump National Doral(R) Miami to the highest level of luxury, infused with the distinguished five-star level of service that is synonymous with the Trump brand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Trump National Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Golf Resort And Spa, a Marriott Hotel Doral
Marriott Doral
Doral Golf Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump National Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.