We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf holiday resort where you can't get a tee time!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trump National Doral Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Trump National Doral Miami to your Saves list
Trump National Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Linger Longer
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Golf holiday resort where you can't get a tee time!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We booked 2 nights at the Doral with the specific intention to play golf, but were told when we rang up to arrange the golf there were no tee times available the first day and only late afternoon the 2nd day! The women I spoke to was surly and unhelpful. We finally got a tee time at 0754 only when we were about to cancel altogether. Also we encountered lots of little problems and when we told reception staff about our issues,although they were nice, but didn't really do anything to solve the problems and came across as quite inexperienced.

On the plus side the rooms, hotel, pool and golf course were lovely as you would expect.

Room Tip: We were in the Bobby Jones villa, which was lovely and peaceful but it was a bit of a walk to the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Sue M.,

Thank you for taking to time to write your comments on your recent stay at Trump National Doral. We take your remarks seriously and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced when trying to book your tee times. Your remarks were sent to our leadership team.

On the other hand, we're happy to hear that you thought our rooms, hotel, pool and golf course were lovely.

We thank you again for sharing your valuable comments with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,


David Feder
Vice President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    262
    196
    152
    210
See reviews for
173
205
54
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We recently spent a three-day weekend at the newly remodeled Trump National Doral. What a place! We are locals and have visited Doral periodically over the years but this is our first time since Trump took over. Wow, what a change! For the better!

Our room was in the newly remodeled Bobby Jones Villa. Everything was perfect, everything was new, everything was exquisite. The beds were so comfortable. My girl wanted to know what brand they were and where we could buy one.

Probably the most pleasant experience I had during my stay was my encounter with one of the Trump staff members. While walking towards the BLT restaurant I asked Mr. Jim Borrowski (Director of Facilities) for directions. Clearly this guy is a busy man but he not only took the time to help me but engaged in a conversation that showed me he was truly interested in my satisfaction as a resort guest. He found out that I was in a similar line of business and took the time to show me a very impressive chiller plant that provides air-conditioning to the resort. Thank you again Jim and thanks to all the staff members at Trump Doral. I will be back.

Room Tip: Stay in one of those newly renovated Vilas. Mine was the Bobby Jones Villa. Others are Gary Player a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Chuck M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Trump National Doral. We’re happy to hear that you had a wonderful staycation and that you were impressed by our transformation.

We also want to thank you for your comments about Jim. We have shared your remarks with him and to the entire staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


David Feder
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel is still undergoing renovations, however the pool area is complete and looks great. We were able to get a room in one of the newly renovated buildings and were very pleased. Very beautiful decor, extremely comfortable bed and very nice bathroom amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Irene E,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Trump National Doral. I am glad to hear that you were impressed and pleased with us, specifically with the pool area and guestrooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Trump National Doral.

Sincerely,


David Feder
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed here for a conference in mid May.
First the negatives:
You pay for EVERYTHING here. prices at the bar are ridiculous. We took one look and headed over to the Carolina Pub across the road where drinks were 1/3 the price of Trumps. Parking charges are also outrageous plus the guys all expect to be tipped. I wanted to park for 30 minutes and one guy wanted to charge me $18 self parking fee. When I got to my room, there were 2 bottles Fiji bottle water next to the tv. Naturally I drank them and found to my amazement that I was charged $20 on checkout. There was no sign saying there was a charge and they were not stored in the mini bar so I assumed they were free. There was a thunderstorm on my second to last day. Nothing major but somehow it knowcked out tv service at the hotel for over 12 hours. Of course when we called to get updates, no one could provide any meaningful info except 'we are working on it'.

The positives: I was given a room in the Bobby Jones villa. It was large and very comfortable. Air condition worked well and maid service was good.
The biggest positive at the hotel is Mr. Elmo Wells, the Front Desk Director. He was very friendly and always willing to assist in any way possible. A true asset to the hotel. I hope he is well paid.

Room Tip: Bobby Jones villa is not too far from main building or the entrance to hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear keibri89,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. Your remarks have been passed on to our management team for corrective actions in efforts to improve our guest experience.

I'm pleased that you were impressed with Elmo and will ensure your comments will be sent to him.

I appreciate you sharing your experience here and hope to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,


David Feder
Vice President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I recently stayed at the trump national for one night on business. I enjoyed the spa but was very disappointed by the level of service. I was particularly disappointed by the host staff at BLT. The young lady that seated me was very dismissive . I was lucky enough to stay in a renovated suite and experienced the same issue as another reviewer with a very inadequate A/C unit. I would only recommend this resort for a golfer on a short stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a renovated room as the hotel is under a massive overhaul.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear BizFamJetSetter,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us in May. I apologize for the deficiencies in service, specially in BLT Prime. Your feedback has been sent to BLT Prime Management and were addressed.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,


David Feder
Vice President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I was staying here for the Prtikin program. It was 2 days and after 3 requests that I finally got my room cleaned. I don't get the impression that they care much about the Pritikin guests. The grounds are beautiful - part of course was being stripped but general grounds nice. amenities are poor, service mediocre. Not sure how this gets such a high raiting. Glass of champagne is more expensive than going to Brickel or Miami Beach, or even Grove Isle. WOW - where do they think they are? They are way out in Doral, and unless you're a golfer or coming to Pritikin I would never stay here. Had a good experience at the spa but it is pricier than some of the finest spas I've been to in Europe. The bed was extremely hard and lumpy. they realize they are not dealing with frat boys right?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Catp20,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at Trump National Doral. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced pertaining to us servicing your room. Your remarks have been passed to Housekeeping Management.

Although this does not affect your past stay, I want you to know that starting next week all Pritikin guests will be housed in our newly renovated villas in which the product is a vast upgrade. This project has taken us two years and will be completed at the end of this year.

We thank you again for sharing your comments with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

David Feder
Vice President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Hotel, the restaurants and the golf courses are a wonderful way to spend a week, a long weekend or a vacation. The new Blue Monster is awesome and very challenging. The food and service at the BLT restaurant is great.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear JaimeG948,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely feedback about your recent stay at Trump National Doral Miami. I agree with you that the new Blue is "awesome and very challenging". Wait until you see what we do to the Red and Gold golf courses!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and to hopefully experience our other championship golf courses.

Sincerely,


David Feder
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump National Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump National Doral Miami

Address: 4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump National Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a tranquil Florida spa and golf resort designed to offer peaceful rest and relaxation in a tropical atmosphere. Situated on 650 lush acres, the world-renowned Trump National Doral Miami provides guests with premier Miami resort amenities and golf course views. A NEW ADDITION. Trump Hotel CollectionTM has recently added Miami's iconic Doral Resort to its portfolio with plans for a spectacular multimillion-dollar redesign to restore Trump Doral to its former grandeur. Trump Doral boasts 693 guestrooms across 10 lodges; world-class golf courses including the Blue Monster; 100,000-sq.-ft. of meeting space including a 24,000-sq.-ft. ballroom; a sprawling 48,000-sq.-ft. spa with 33 treatment rooms; highly regarded golf school and teaching facilities; retail boutiques and a private members' clubhouse. "When completed, Doral will be the finest resort and golf club in the country." Donald J. Trump, Trump Organization chairman and president.The comprehensive redesign of the entire resort begun in 2013, occurring in phases, and is slated to conclude in late 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Trump National Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Golf Resort And Spa, a Marriott Hotel Doral
Marriott Doral
Doral Golf Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump National Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.