We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but too expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump National Doral Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Trump National Doral Miami to your Saves list
Trump National Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advanced Purchase 20% Off
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I spent two nights in the new Trump National Doral. The new hotel facilities are better than the old ones. The breakfast and the view are excellent. Big and clear rooms. I played the Yellow course, because the BlueMonster was close. If plan to go you, try to play BlueMonster (very expensive) or play in the summer because the Green Free is cheaper. If you don't have lucky try another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    267
    198
    159
    211
See reviews for
178
208
54
439
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My family and I stayed for 3 nights and we had a great experience. We stayed in one of the lodges which were okay. The only problem that we had was that we kept hearing a weird noise in the room but we were privileged enough to have been upgraded to one of the villas due to the inconvenience by Jahnell, the front desk agent who also helped us with directions to a great park nearby for the kids. Her and the staff were outstanding. Our favorite part was the golf. It was excellent, and our kids loved the slide at the pool. Thumbs up Trump!

Room Tip: Stay at the Villas!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I've been reading some reviews regarding the hotel property & felt it is only fair that I review this recent experience with the caveat that it is regarding my golf experience only as I did not stay at the resort so I have no educated opinion on the room & associated parts of the property. I was part of a local VIP golf group that was able to secure a time on the Blue course this past week via our local Country Club. All arraignments were made and confirmed by the VIP golf coordinator Stacey. All of our questions and concerns were addressed ahead of time.

We arrived at the facility, parked the cards visa valet & we were greeted by Stacey a very nice, outgoing and professional young lady who checked us in, gave us a tour of the grounds and set us up with lockers with the attendant. You can see that there is still a lot of construction going on but it did not interfere with our golf experience. After some coffee in the shop we used the practice range & putting green to loosen up. Both of these areas were well maintained and gave us a feel of the conditions of which were to expect. You have your choice of Forecaddie or if you prefer to walk a caddie can be set up to handle two sets of bags per caddie. Our group all decided to walk.

Course itself was magnificent with plush but hard and fast fairways, an abundance of fairway & greenside bunkers that seem to find my ball on every hole & hard fast undulating greens that I can now see why they pros struggled with here in March. Cold waters were placed in the coolers on our carts and I did only find one place on the course to refill our water and use the bathroom though the cart girl was around quite a bit. Course was much different than a couple years back when I played with many holes modified all too the better I might add. We even had some pictures taken by the Trump Helicopter which was on the pad as we approached the 9th tee.

Finished up our round Stacey was there to greet us again and assure our round was up to expectations etc. Used the showers with a nice touch of our names on each locker and individual shampoo, deodorant and bath products placed in each locker. No hair dryer was found on premise not that I have much left but my buddy wanted one. Andrew was apologetic & I’m sure they will correct that.

We grabbed a few beers in BLT upstairs on the veranda a perfect way to end a perfect golf day. Valet is the only parking option I don’t remember how much it was as I didn’t drive but I’m sure it wasn’t inexpensive. I wonder if BLT validates if your there for lunch or dinner. Looks like they are well on their way to making this once again a top flight golf destination. It appears their other courses are also under construction but the Blue course itself and our experience at the resort was outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Just finished 3 nights at "new" Trump Doral. Horrible service, food and facilities, it was difficult to get anyone on the phone, yet alone to do something or provide an answer. The on-going construction makes it look like some unfinished government project in a developing country. Enrv those rooms which are completed fail to impress. Go to Breakers,, Ritz, St. Regis, Fishers Island, Turnberry or just about anywhere else,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Eight of us had an outing at Doral Golf Course on Wednesday which was outstanding. We were met by our VIP individual Stacey who welcomed us and introduced us to the locker room attendant who showed us to our lockers with our name on it which were elegant. After a few minutes of settling in, we were warming up on the range which was expanded since last time we were here. Then we headed to the Blue Monster which lived up to its name. The course was changed significantly and I enjoyed every minute of it. The greens were great as were the fairways. There were however a lot of bunkers.

After golf, we returned to the locker, showered and had a quick snack and drink at BLT. We were met by Mr. David Feder who detailed the current and ongoing changes. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at the Spa Lodge for a conference/golf weekend. The room was comfortable and spacious, but the view was of the Red golf course which is under renovation so you see piles of dirt. Golf was great, with many excellent choices of golf courses. Price gouging is rampant. We signed up for the "Trump Card" which is supposed to alert the staff to your preferences, like wine and beverages in mini-bar. Clerk at check in even asked ours, but none of our preferences were accomplished. Our mini-bar remained empty, which was disappointing.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This review will be for the Golf course & associated amenities that are applicable as well as drinks and appetizers at BLT Steak which is their dining room handling drinks & food currently. We were not guests of the resort but were offered a tour of the rooms but with our limited schedule we didn’t get to see any. You can see a good portion of the rooms are still being renovated but many have been transformed.

Our private Golf club being under renovation arraigned two foursomes at the Blue Monster this past weekday and the 8 of us all being avid golfers were just burning with a chance to take on the new Trump National Doral after viewing the Tournament on T.V. this past March. After our last trip to Streamsong resort which was a complete disaster (see separate report), with Two tee times in place and all the names provided in advance we were contacted by Stacey Cook their VIP golf course coordinator to provide us with the details, answer any questions and ascertain our arrival time.

Arriving quite a bit early then expected Valet’s parked the car and secured our clubs to the golf area while we were provided a nice fruit drink & cold towel in the lobby as they summoned Stacey. Whoever hired this gal should get 5 stars as this bubbly little dynamo would put any serious traveler at ease. Introducing herself she took us to the pro shop to check in gave us a tour of clubhouse and facilities, introduced us to Andrew our locker attendant as we secured our items for the day as we were to shower & clean up before dinner after our round.

Lockers all had been set up in advance which each golfers name engraved a very nice touch. Andrew locked everything up and we proceeded down to the staging area where Stacey introduced us to just about everyone from Robert the starter, Justin director of golf, etc. Set up and off to the practice area we went. Practice area is very expansive with same fairway grass used on the monster. So many facilities do not put their practice facility to the same standards as their courses. Mr. Trump did not fall to that trap. After warming up, hitting some putts on the expansive quick practice green it was off to the Monster.

One Forecaddie in each group was provisioned & we proceeded to play the course the pro’s play. Celebration fairways & new Tiff Eagle greens and enough bunkers to give the NJ shore a run for their money sand wise was enough to make this fairly good golfer raise the white flag of surrender. Immaculately kept course from every detail and don’t forget all the water that just seems to find every errant tee shot long of the greens. I might also add that with a 15-20 MPH prevailing N.E. wind this course is a bear. In short, a test of golf from every aspect and yes two of us did par #18 but no it wasn’t from the Tips. A couple of his bomb drives from the tips and didn’t make the fairway past the walking cut of the rough. Gives you a new perspective of how good those guys on tour are.

Upon completion we were once again greeted by Stacey to insure that everything was satisfactory. Whatever she is making isn’t enough give this gal a raise or I might hire her. Clubs were secured back to valet where we showered and changed and proceeded to BLT Steak for the after round cocktails & appetizers that go hand & hand with a perfect golf day.

BLT Steak recently opened a few months ago and I’ll just give you the highlights of what we sampled. The sunken inside dining room with expansive ceiling to floor windows overlooking #18 is truly a sight see, while their outside terrace is simply as good as it gets from dining room golf course views. Cocktails are poured & we sampled some of their house favorites.

• Tuna Tartare - hand chopped “Ahi” tuna, avocado, soy lime dressing, served with potato gaufrette was nothing like I ever had before and was simply outstanding.

• A homemade house grilled cheese bites were tasty and not overpowering.

• A platter of Italian Prosciutto, Braciola, salami & soppersatta were all fresh top quality cuts of meat laid out with fresh homemade bread.

• The Real winner here is their Oven Baked popovers which are giant airy pieces of sinful bread with an unsalted butter. They also have large canister of sea Salt to add to this as the butter melts on this creation. These should be illegal and are certainly not on my diet.

At this point we should have just stayed for dinner but we had previous plans to head to Joe’s Stone Crab so we packed and readied to depart. Met the VP / GM David Fader as well as he was passing by and asked how day are was and if we needed anything. We simply could not have had a finer golf day experience as every facet of staff, service, conditions of golf course & amenities has us pretty much in awe all day.

Is everything 100% ready and perfect? Of course not considering how little time they have been at this and the shape this place was in last year they are light years ahead of where I thought they would be. Sure plenty of construction still going on, they could use a couple more bathrooms / water areas on the course, etc but when this place is completed it will be a destination that will unfortunately make it impossible to get a tee time on in the future. All and all they went above and beyond all of our expectations and trust me I do not give superlatives lightly. Max Stars for these guys they are trying their best to put together an unforgettable experience & are succeeding.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump National Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump National Doral Miami

Address: 4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump National Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a tranquil Florida spa and golf resort designed to offer peaceful rest and relaxation in a tropical atmosphere. Situated on 650 lush acres, the world-renowned Trump National Doral Miami provides guests with premier Miami resort amenities and golf course views. A NEW ADDITION. Trump Hotel CollectionTM has recently added Miami's iconic Doral Resort to its portfolio with plans for a spectacular multimillion-dollar redesign to restore Trump Doral to its former grandeur. Trump Doral boasts 693 guestrooms across 10 lodges; world-class golf courses including the Blue Monster; 100,000-sq.-ft. of meeting space including a 24,000-sq.-ft. ballroom; a sprawling 48,000-sq.-ft. spa with 33 treatment rooms; highly regarded golf school and teaching facilities; retail boutiques and a private members' clubhouse. "When completed, Doral will be the finest resort and golf club in the country." Donald J. Trump, Trump Organization chairman and president.The comprehensive redesign of the entire resort begun in 2013, occurring in phases, and is slated to conclude in late 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Trump National Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Golf Resort And Spa, a Marriott Hotel Doral
Marriott Doral
Doral Golf Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump National Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.