We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Trump National Doral Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Trump National Doral Miami to your Saves list
Trump National Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advanced Purchase 20% Off
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Miami
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I wanted to get away for a couple of days and relax and enjoy the Spa.
I was planning on staying 3 nights but will check out sooner. There's no cable TV when I called they told me they were not sure how long it would take. Also the spa is really mediocre!!! The only thing they have to munch on is water and apples.
They really need to step up to the music... Specially the prices for rooms and spa services they should provide service for that kind of money. Will not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us in April. I sincerely apologize for the issues experienced regarding the TV in your guestroom. We did have trouble shooting difficulties with the TVs during your stay and our Engineering Department worked diligently to resolve the situation as quickly as possible.

We thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

David Feder
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    267
    198
    159
    211
See reviews for
178
208
54
439
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel was under construction. It does need alittle updating but the rooms were beautiful and spacious. The pool was one of the best I've seen The grounds were gorgeous in sure the golf course was too. The spa was beautiful and serene. The location is good if u want to golf but kinda far from everything else you might want to do in Miami.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you were pleased with our beautiful, spacious rooms and that you had a great time at our Royal Palm Pool and Spa.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

David Feder
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Hotel is in general very expensive and charges full prices even in the situation that it is under construction. Half of the hotel is closed and renovated thus full of noise and dust. We spent one week in renovated part and very loud fire alarm turned on each day. We complained several times and nothing happen. Food is actually very good but expensive. It's better to eat outside the hotel, similar quality and half prices.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We sincerely regret to hear that your experience with us in April was less than ideal. We do appreciate your feedback, and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences experienced due to our renovations.

Please accept our sincerest apologies, we hope you give us another opportunity and visit us again.

Sincerely,
David Feder
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Go for the great hotel amenities, very helpful staff, but eat all meals off premises. I paid for the breakfast from the menu rather than the buffet because I wanted fresh cooked eggs. It took almost 45 minutes to get it after asking why it was taking so long, and was served immediately. The eggs were cold and certainly not worth the price ( which was quoted as $24 on the website, but was actually $28 on the menu. I was told that the menu was a "misprint"! This seemed odd for a five star resort. Lunch at the pool was not good quality. The sandwich was dry and not good. Dinner at BLT was better, but not what I would expect. Had a much better in town at Trulucks!

Room Tip: We were in the Gary Palmer lodge which was beautiful! Great experience with the Jim McLean golf sch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to Trump National Doral and for sharing feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you were happy with our associates, and that you had a great experience at the Jim McLean golf school.

We regret to hear about disappointing experience with our food. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef, so we can prevent your negative experience from happening again.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Trump National Doral.

Sincerely,

David Feder
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was my first stay since Trump took over a couple years ago. The renovations are proceeding. The new pool areas are great, very comfortable and the deck staff go above and beyond. The grill on the pool deck was excellent ( iwas pleaseantly surprised).
Our lodge had not yet been renovated but the work was progressing in the other lodges.
The combintaion of pools, golf and location make this a great place to stay in Miami.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear about your return visit and that you loved the new Trump National Doral. We are thrilled about your great experience at our Royal Palm Pool and Palm Grill. Your feedback is a great compliment and I am happy that our associates went above and beyond to make sure you had a memorable experience.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

David Feder
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This property just re-opened after a major makeover and rebranding under the Trump name. I stayed for three nights at the end of March 2014, and when I arrived the staff told me they had only been open for two weeks.

It shows.

The buildings and grounds are beautifully appointed in a sort of Russian-Oligarch-Meets-The Parthenon sort of style. Ivanka Trump is evidently a woman who has been given every advantage in life except good taste. My suite in the Spa Hotel could easily house a family of eight in India, and it includes four sinks, two toilets, two closets, a bidet, shower, and a whirlpool tub.

Did I mention I was traveling by myself for a conference?

The trip has been marred by minor service glitches of the sort you never expect to see in a resort of this price range, but which are excusable as they go through the process of shaking things out and training the staff. The grandest adventure happened on my 1 AM arrival, when the staff offered to drive me and my luggage to the Spa after I checked in. The bellhop who drove me, however, had only been on the job two days and had to stop twice to ask for directions, and we would up walking the last 100 yards after he got stuck behind a gate which would not open. What would normally be a five minute walk turned into a 30-minute trek, though I have to admit that after a certain point I settled back and enjoyed the comedy of it all.

(I did not, by the way, complain about this misadventure. I assume the unfortunate bellhop has now taken the time to learn his way around the grounds, and I don't want to be That Guy who gets someone fired on his second day on the job. In any event, it wasn't his fault: the real problem is that the resort didn't train the new staff adequately before opening.)

The food, though, is where the real problem is. For the most part, the food has been, while generally not bad, nowhere near what I expect for the price paid. And unless you have a car, it's very hard to leave the resort grounds to find food elsewhere. You are stuck with what they have.

Let's begin with the price. First, the posted prices are all lies, because the report imposes an automatic 18% gratuity on every food purchase. And I mean everything: even a cup of coffee from the cafe comes with this "gratuity" attached.

And the prices themselves are absurd. $5 for a cup of coffee (which turns into $6 after the "gratuity" and tax). $12 for a sandwich in a box (actually over $15) which 7-11 would be embarrassed to sell.

My first morning was a Sunday, so I did the Sunday buffet brunch. This was over $34 by the time everything was added in (coffee was NOT included in the price of the buffet), and the buffet itself was not up to the standard the price would imply. The omelette chef somehow managed to not melt the cheese in my omelette; and they had a very skimpy selection of fresh fruit (one of the staff mentioned that they had "run out of berries." How does that happen for $34?).

Since brunch didn't do it for me, a few hours later I bought that $15 sandwich in a box from the cafe. It was ham on cheese on a pretzel roll, but somehow juices from the tomatoes had run down around the side of the roll and made the whole thing unpleasantly slimy. I threw it out after one bite.

That evening for dinner I had a sit-down catered dinner as part of the conference I attended, which was also marred by miscues and glitches. The staff took a very long time to get around all the tables with salad dressing, so many people had actually finished their salad course by the time they were offered dressing. And the cheesecake we were served for dessert was served a little bit frozen in the middle.

So my summary:

Pro: Nicely updated property in grand style (if you're a fan of fluted columns and giant fountains).

Con: Brand-new staff still needs time to shake out the glitches. Very overpriced and mediocre food. Bring a cooler. Also, the perfume in the hotel lobby is really strong--people with sensitivities may want to stay away.

And in the amusing postscript department: I was chatting with one of the conference organizers about the service problems, and the rumor is that part of the problem is that members of the Trump family have a habit of dropping in from time to time, ordering a bunch of random changes, disrupting everything, and leaving. This is making the staff constantly nervous and making it hard for them to focus on smoothing out the hotel operations. For what it's worth, and don't believe everything you read on the Internet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us in March. I sincerely regret to hear about your less than ideal experience. I apologize for the deficiencies in service specially your shuttle drive to the Spa at arrival, and your Sunday buffet brunch. We do appreciate your feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to review the occurrences and make changes to improve the guest experience.

We thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
David Feder
Vice President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very grand in appearance. Check in was good and friendly. We stayed at the Spa building, which was on the other side of this very big resort. Friendly service. Room was big, with a living room, two bathrooms and are you ready, three balconies! As nice as all that sounds, the room and bathrooms do need some updating, looked a little worn in places.

Had dinner outside at BLT, service was slow, lot's of servers, but not really sure what they were all doing. Dinner took 3 hours, and the food was cold, even though we complained, no one seemed to care,

Valet had some issues as well, took a long time to get our car, seemed disorganized.

A hotel like this should always score a 4 or 5 out of 5. But not on this stay, hotel is good, but has work to do.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am happy that you were pleased with our friendly service, and spacious bedrooms. I regret to hear about your experience at BLT Prime, your thoughts are very important to us. We have reviewed the issues experienced and have taken corrective action in efforts to improve our guest experience.
We appreciate you sharing your experience here and we hope to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

David Feder
Vice President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump National Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump National Doral Miami

Address: 4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump National Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a tranquil Florida spa and golf resort designed to offer peaceful rest and relaxation in a tropical atmosphere. Situated on 650 lush acres, the world-renowned Trump National Doral Miami provides guests with premier Miami resort amenities and golf course views. A NEW ADDITION. Trump Hotel CollectionTM has recently added Miami's iconic Doral Resort to its portfolio with plans for a spectacular multimillion-dollar redesign to restore Trump Doral to its former grandeur. Trump Doral boasts 693 guestrooms across 10 lodges; world-class golf courses including the Blue Monster; 100,000-sq.-ft. of meeting space including a 24,000-sq.-ft. ballroom; a sprawling 48,000-sq.-ft. spa with 33 treatment rooms; highly regarded golf school and teaching facilities; retail boutiques and a private members' clubhouse. "When completed, Doral will be the finest resort and golf club in the country." Donald J. Trump, Trump Organization chairman and president.The comprehensive redesign of the entire resort begun in 2013, occurring in phases, and is slated to conclude in late 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Trump National Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Golf Resort And Spa, a Marriott Hotel Doral
Marriott Doral
Doral Golf Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump National Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.