We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Architect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump National Doral Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Trump National Doral Miami to your Saves list
Trump National Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase 20% Off
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Doral
Naples, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Architect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Victor Ortiz, our bellman, was exceptional in service and information. He also provided an update of new improvements to hotel and golf course. He was very proud of Trump National Doral. Blue Monster is spectacular golf course.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest;

I thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the resort and glad that Victor worked hard in ensuring you had a memorable experience. It is extremely important to us to have our guests experience a high level of service and that our sincere commitment to quality shows.

I look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Regards,
David Feder
Vice President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    299
    220
    171
    219
See reviews for
196
239
64
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

The property is not ready for civilized human occupation; it is an active construction site with dumpsters, torn up landscape and heavy equipment about. Renovations are not uniform. Many of the rooms have received only the most superficial and inadequate cosmetic upgrade, and a coat of paint can only do so much. Threadbare and stained carpets exhude the stale redolence of decades of cigarette smoke, furnishings are worn and dated. Decidedly downmarket.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I sincerely apologize that the overall quality of your stay was disappointing. We are currently transforming every aspect of our Resort through a series of enhancements, which include new decor, furnishings, landscaping, and vastly upgraded recreational facilities, amenities and dining options. I apologize this hindered your overall experience with us.

I hope you will give us another opportunity with a return visit to Trump National Doral Miami.

Sincerely,
David Feder
Vice President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Nice property with large, clean, good-looking rooms. However, at present, the property is under construction and all restaurants and half of the guest facilities are closed.

On entry to the property, had a hard time finding the registration desk as the main facility was under construction. When found that you had to register at the spa desk, got there (at about 4:10 for our 4PM checkin), was told that the room should be available in about 20 minutes. Finally got the room at 5:00. There was no place to get a snack or drink at that time so we just waited.

Rooms are far away on the opposite side of the golf courses from the Spa checkin area and require shuttling by staff on golf cart or trams. After getting into the room and changing for dinner, we had to call for a shuttle (which DID arrive quickly), have it bring us to our car (at the Spa parking area) and reverse the process when we returned.

Only food available was room service so we ordered eggs and hash-browns (2 orders) and coffee for delivery the next morning. Food arrived on-time but no hash browns and bill was for $64. (included 20% tip and $5.00 delivery charge). Called and they brought the hash browns.

At checkout, they credited us for part of the food charges in order to compensate us for our problems (and dropped the $20/person resort fee as we didn't get a chance to use any of their facilities) but I'd suggest that you keep away from this hotel/resort until construction is complete.

I'm unlikely to book this again.

Room Tip: Choose one at a different hotel or resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you to taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at Trump National Doral Miami. Your comments are very important to us. We are in the process of transforming our resort and my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced due to our renovations.

We do hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Trump National Doral in the future.

Sincerely,
David Feder
Vice President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great before construction and probably even better after the work is done. Go now if you really want to play the course. No restaurants open except pool bar and lots of disruptions. The courses remain fantastic. they should offer better deals during the renovation

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of your stay on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you had a fantastic experience on our courses. The historic Blue Monster has undergone a complete redesigned and has become a new golf course thus reaffirming its reputation as one of the most challenging and spectacular golf courses in the world.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to not only experience our courses but all the new recreational facilities that will open in the coming months.

Sincerely,
David Feder
Vice President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Complete disaster. Took 5 calls to get reservation right. First room they put me in was a mess. they moved me to another room... heat didnt work. was so cold had horrible night sleep. No restaurant are open no bars…It's shocking that the hotel would be open when every bar and restaurant is closed.was never told, was deceived ...Got checked out and locked out of room on second day… Spoke to management and they really didn't care… i travel a considerable amount and understand things go wrong but this is over the top.

Room Tip: wait until Trump finishes remodeling, heat didn't work in room. shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review in regards to your stay last month. Your comments are very important to us.

My sincerest apologies for the lapse of service you experienced during your stay. I have addressed the issues specifically mentioned with our Reservations and Housekeeping leaders to make the corrections needed to ensure that we are providing excellent service. Our Resort Clubhouse which includes some of our dining venues and retail shops along with our guestroom accommodations are undergoing a comprehensive makeover as we transform Trump National Doral, my sincerest apologies if this was not communicated clearly prior to your stay.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
David Feder
Vice President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

If you waste your money here before construction is complete, the joke is on you. Even after construction you should avoid just to give the hotel what they deserve for allowing people to stay here during the last two years. Horrible. The parking lots close to the rooms are used for the construction crew so you get the pleasure of parking 15 minutes away. All workers staying here and halls smell like TV dinners from the 60's. What an absolute joke. You have absolutely been warned. If you pay over $25 per night you have been ripped off.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I sincerely apologize that the overall quality of your stay was disappointing. I regret that we did not provide the level of service expected and apologize for the deficiencies experienced.
We are in the process of a renovation and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

I hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
David Feder
Vice President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Check-in was a nightmare because they overbooked the hotel. The hotel operators, bell hops and valet were liars and incompetent. The rooms had mold, old furniture and a coffee maker with no coffee or mugs. It was the coldest time of year and the heat didn't work in my building so I slept with an extra blanket but my room was very cold.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I sincerely apologize that the overall experience of your stay was disappointing. Our resort is undergoing major renovations and I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences experienced. I have addressed the issues specifically mentioned to our Housekeeping leaders to take corrective measures. We did experience unusual weather conditions during your stay causing lower than normal temperatures. I want to make you aware that when completed all our renovated rooms will have adequate A/C and heat.

I would be grateful if you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
David Feder
Vice President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump National Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump National Doral Miami

Address: 4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump National Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump National Doral(R) Miami is a prestigious 800-acre resort boasting a completely re-designed clubhouse, new Deluxe and Suite accommodations, luxurious event spaces, new restaurant concepts, 4 redesigned championship golf courses, plus all new re-imagined recreational amenities and retail shops for guests and members to enjoy. Doral(R) is once again one of the greatest resort destinations in the world. Purchased by the Trump Organization in June 2012, the Doral Golf Resort & Spa has undergone a dramatic restoration to recapture the resort's early grandeur. Every aspect of the resort has been completely transformed in order to bring the new Trump National Doral(R) Miami to the highest level of luxury, infused with the distinguished five-star level of service that is synonymous with the Trump brand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Trump National Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Golf Resort And Spa, a Marriott Hotel Doral
Marriott Doral
Doral Golf Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump National Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.