We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly misrepresented.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Trump National Doral Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Trump National Doral Miami to your Saves list
Trump National Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase 20% Off
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Doral
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Truly misrepresented.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I should have checked before I made the reservation, since I live in South Florida. But I wanted to celebrate my wedding anniversary with my wife and be able to have a few drinks at a nice restaurant, and enjoy the pool.

So we booked the room and golf package and looked forward a couple relaxing days.

The first tip off was when we turned int the entrance the "guard" said have you been here before (every employee asked me the same question. Then he said the temporary entrace is over there and waved in the general direction of west. He said here is a map and you need to go there.

So we go and find that the entrance is really the Pritikin Spa building. When I walk in and am checking in I ask what restaurants are open and is the big pool open. No, they say, everything is closed.

There is small grill open and the restaurant at the Pritikin center (more on that later). The atmosphere got very tense, the the manager at the reception area got very snippy. Yes we have two pools and two restaurants. Yes they do. They have a crappy pool (will try to attached pictures, that was built in the 50s it appears or has been horribly maintained). It is seriously ugly. The two restaurants are very limited menu and really geared toward either eating at the bar or a healthy lifestyle. Neither were what we wanted or looked forward. I guess this is an every day experience for them dealing with very upset people as the ladies at the counter tried to be pleasant and tried to put the best face on it as they could. But really Trump, this is what you got your name on? And to put those poor employees in the line of fine, just to get some temporary cash flow while the whole place is closed? Really, you need that?

Now the really bad part. I SPECIFICALLY ASKED IF THE POOL AND RESTAURANT WE OPEN WHEN I MADE THE RESERVATION. In retrospect I see how the agent was very careful in picking his words. I specifically asked if some of the good restaurants are still open, and I was told they were.

So on the the room, which was ok, the maid left us a can of odor killer, not sure what that was about. I had figured that we would be in the lodges which need a refresh pretty bad, but I was expecting this. They are large rooms. TV was not HD which was a waste of a flatscreen. Wifi barely reached the room.

So now to the pool to have a glass of wine and try to put the best face on it. Sat there for 30 minutes trying to get the attention of the two waiters, finally got up and walked over to them. They were too busy taking care of a few groups with some very attractive young ladies. As previously mentioned the pool is in poor shape and combined with the service, the whole thing really just does not deserve the Trump name. The other curious thing was that none of the people in the pool were staying at the resort, so where did they come from?

Breakfast was ok, really excellent service, probably chatted up the other guests. Not alot of smiling faces and interesting, not one single person from the pool yesterday.

The golf part of the package was very good. The Silver course is in pretty good shape, greens still a little rough though. The staff at the course are just the best people, we really enjoy them and they provide excellent service. The 19th hole at the course is really nice as well.

At the end of the day, once you get over being lied to and can accept what you are getting is a room, thats it, and some nice golf, it can be ok, just don't expect a nice pool experience or restaurants or anything that would speak of the resort experience. Also was not nice having to go off property in the night for a nice dinner, but there are some great restaurants in Doral, which will be the subject of my next review.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the golf package and that our staff was helpful and friendly The Trump Hotel Collection™ acquired Doral Golf Resort & Spa Miami earlier in June and is investing over $200M to transform our legendary resort. Trump Hotel Collection delivers an unrivaled luxury experience with expansive rooms, lavish spa and fitness facilities, and flawless service. In the months to come, every aspect of Doral will be transformed, from a fresh, new design vision throughout our guest rooms and public spaces to vastly upgraded recreational facilities and amenities.

I look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    299
    221
    171
    219
See reviews for
198
240
64
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Major renovations on the main hotel and limited staffing-and no coordination between staffs made for waiting and waiting and waiting. The maze of gates that DON'T WORK, shuttles that don't arrive "in 5 minutes", The golf courses we played on were beautiful and the golf staff were helpful and timely. We paid $27 a day for "valet" parking and 2 out of 3 times, we had to get our own car. I feel that we were definitely overcharged.

Room Tip: We did have a spacious king size room in Lodge 2 facing the Cascades area. Lots of noise during &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to thank you for taking the time to sharing your thoughts with us. I am happy to hear that our staff was helpful and friendly. I agree that we have beautiful golf courses. The Trump Hotel Collection™ acquired Doral Golf Resort & Spa Miami earlier in June and is investing over $200M to transform our legendary resort. In the months to come, every aspect of Doral will be transformed, from a fresh, new design vision throughout our guest rooms and public spaces to vastly upgraded recreational facilities and amenities.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed over with my hubby for 6 nights in January. The atmosphere was very relaxing and the food at the monster bar was fantastic. Breakfast was a delight. The staff were very helpful and really nice. The spar was also fantastic. The room was spacious but on a downside there was no bathtub

All together, it was a good experience

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to thank you for taking the time to sharing your thoughts with us. I am happy to hear that your stay at the resort was a pleasant one and that our staff was helpful and friendly. I agree that our rooms are very spacious. The Trump Hotel Collection™ acquired Doral Golf Resort & Spa Miami earlier in June and is investing over $200M to transform our legendary resort. In the months to come, every aspect of Doral will be transformed, from a fresh, new design vision throughout our guest rooms and public spaces to vastly upgraded recreational facilities and amenities.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Undergoing construction and they still decided to stay open. To me not a good thing. Room service only for breakfast. One pool open and thats the spa pool. Not much as in food to get. I felt like if your going to do that much construction then you need to close the hotel down and fix it all at once. Even part of golf course was closed. We asked for king size bed they put us in a room with two full for the first night then we had to move to get our king size room the next day. Very poor planning

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for choosing to stay at Doral Golf Resort & Spa and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that our service levels did not meet your expectations. I will be personally addressing the issues you had regarding your request for a king size bed. The Trump Hotel Collection™ acquired Doral Golf Resort & Spa Miami earlier in June and is investing over $200M to transform our legendary resort. Trump Hotel Collection delivers an unrivaled luxury experience with expansive rooms, lavish spa and fitness facilities, and flawless service. In the months to come, every aspect of Doral will be transformed, from a fresh, new design vision throughout our guest rooms and public spaces to vastly upgraded recreational facilities and amenities.

I hope to regain your confidence and welcome you back to Doral Resort soon.

Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I would suggest waiting until renovations are complete to received a "true" Trump experience. If you are having a conference, plan ahead for transporting attendees to and from lodges and conference rooms. Lots of walking and very few carts available to transport. During rainy season, travel with a flashlight, as power may go out.

Room Tip: If driving pick a lodge close to parking areas. There currently is no waiting area in front of lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The Trump Hotel Collection™ acquired Doral Golf Resort & Spa Miami earlier in June and is investing over $200M to transform our legendary resort. Trump Hotel Collection delivers an unrivaled luxury experience with expansive rooms, lavish spa and fitness facilities, and flawless service. In the months to come, every aspect of Doral will be transformed, from a fresh, new design vision throughout our guest rooms and public spaces to vastly upgraded recreational facilities and amenities.

I look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Doral is undergoing massive changes while the Trump renovations are being made. Given the service that I received during my three night stay, I would argue that they should have shut down the hotel during the makeover. Two things really stand-out from a terrible stay (other than the fact that everything at the hotel is about twice the regular price, even for Miami): it should be criminal to charge a 30% service fee on top of a $130 dollar fifty minute massage when one has already been gouged for a resort fee and a fitness center should open 24/7. People workout on their own schedules, not the hotel's. And when a guest asks you to open said fitness center, that sort of request should be granted immediately.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for choosing Trump National Doral Miami. I appreciate you taking the time to post a detailed review of your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that our service levels did not meet your expectations. The Trump Hotel Collection™ acquired Doral Golf Resort & Spa Miami earlier in June and is investing over $200M to transform our legendary resort. Trump Hotel Collection delivers an unrivaled luxury experience with expansive rooms, lavish spa and fitness facilities, and flawless service. In the months to come, every aspect of Doral will be transformed, from a fresh, new design vision throughout our guest rooms and public spaces to vastly upgraded recreational facilities and amenities.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Spent 4 days. This could be a nice place once Trump dumps his money into it. The main pool was closed, no grass on the golf couses, contruction everywhere, parking was way to expensive for where it was. Trump should hhave just closed it down until it was ready.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for choosing Doral Golf Resort & Spa. I appreciate you taking the time to post a detailed review of your recent stay. I will be personally addressing the issues you had with our Food & Beverage staff. The Trump Hotel Collection™ acquired Doral Golf Resort & Spa Miami earlier in June and is investing over $200M to transform our legendary resort. Trump Hotel Collection delivers an unrivaled luxury experience with expansive rooms, lavish spa and fitness facilities, and flawless service. In the months to come, every aspect of Doral will be transformed, from a fresh, new design vision throughout our guest rooms and public spaces to vastly upgraded recreational facilities and amenities.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump National Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump National Doral Miami

Address: 4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump National Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump National Doral(R) Miami is a prestigious 800-acre resort boasting a completely re-designed clubhouse, new Deluxe and Suite accommodations, luxurious event spaces, new restaurant concepts, 4 redesigned championship golf courses, plus all new re-imagined recreational amenities and retail shops for guests and members to enjoy. Doral(R) is once again one of the greatest resort destinations in the world. Purchased by the Trump Organization in June 2012, the Doral Golf Resort & Spa has undergone a dramatic restoration to recapture the resort's early grandeur. Every aspect of the resort has been completely transformed in order to bring the new Trump National Doral(R) Miami to the highest level of luxury, infused with the distinguished five-star level of service that is synonymous with the Trump brand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump National Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Golf Resort And Spa, a Marriott Hotel Doral
Marriott Doral
Doral Golf Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump National Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.