We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was fantastic, property in middle of renovation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump National Doral Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Trump National Doral Miami to your Saves list
Trump National Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase 20% Off
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Doral
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Staff was fantastic, property in middle of renovation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Doral for a conference. My room was very well appointed and I loved my balcony overlooking the golf course. The resort is set in several buildings, so depending upon your mobility, you may want to ask for particular buildings if you are at a conference. I was at a building far away, but since I don't have any mobility issues I looked forward to the walks to and from the conference center given the wonderful weather. The staff goes above and beyond to be helpful and friendly. The restaurants were good, had food that ranged from good to exceptional. I didn't even get time to get to the pool but it did look really nice. I would recommend to the hotel to put screens on the doors leading to the balconies, because one night I accidentally left it open for a few minutes when my phone rang (I would have closed the screen had there been one) and when I shut the door later, I had a TON of mosquitoes in my room. The conference facilities were good, but not the best, again I'm assuming something that will be fixed after renovation. The courtyard outside the conference center where we had our breakfasts and lunches was very nice. The bed was extremely comfortable. I appreciated the jogging path--2.5 miles on the golf course--was a nice path.

Room Tip: There are several buildings, so it may pay to call ahead to ask for a building specifically near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the resort and our staff was very friendly. I hope to welcome you back very soon so you can enjoy our pool and other great amenities that we offer. The Trump Hotel Collection™ acquired Doral Golf Resort & Spa Miami earlier in June and is investing over $200M to transform our legendary resort. Trump Hotel Collection delivers an unrivaled luxury experience with expansive rooms, lavish spa and fitness facilities, and flawless service. In the months to come, every aspect of Doral will be transformed, from a fresh, new design vision throughout our guest rooms and public spaces to vastly upgraded recreational facilities and amenities.

I look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    289
    218
    163
    215
See reviews for
193
230
63
474
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Th Doral was a decent hotel years ago. I attended a recent conference here and the conference facilities were ok. Linens were nice, bed was comfortable, and the rooms were clean and a good size. The elevator was loud through the night and the air conditioning fan was loud, too. Personnel were nice but didn't seem to be qualified or well managed. Of the many meals I had here (only because it cost too much and took too much time to get to anywhere else for a nice meal) rarely did the food appear as it was ordered. At the pool it took more than 50 minutes for my salad to arrive and when it did it was not what I ordered. The room service meal - the quesadilla was greasy and the sour cream, pico de gallo, and the guacamole were frozen solid! The pools are pretty but they had really bad, loud DJ music going at the only warm pool. The other pool was too cold to swim. Overall the grounds were attractive but there were sections where the color spots were dried up and dead. Maybe the golf course is decent, but I don't golf. Poor value for what it costs.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for choosing to stay at Doral Golf Resort & Spa and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I agree that we have really comfortable beds and that our rooms are a good size. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal and I will be personally addressing this issue with our Food & Beverage staff. I will address the comment regarding the pool music with our respective team leaders. The Trump Hotel Collection™ acquired Doral Golf Resort & Spa Miami earlier in June and is investing over $200M to transform our legendary resort. Trump Hotel Collection delivers an unrivaled luxury experience with expansive rooms, lavish spa and fitness facilities, and flawless service. In the months to come, every aspect of Doral will be transformed, from a fresh, new design vision throughout our guest rooms and public spaces to vastly upgraded recreational facilities and amenities.

I hope to regain your confidence and welcome you back to Doral Resort soon.

Regards,

George Mr. Sotelo
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

had a one night and morning here and for that it was great. pool area are big and fun and starbucks downstairs was great. this hotel is a $40 taxi to south beach so a quiet if not boring surrounding area but if golf is your thing then the course looked excellent

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to thank you for taking the time to sharing your thoughts with us. I am happy to hear that your stay at the resort was a pleasant one. The Trump Hotel Collection™ acquired Doral Golf Resort & Spa Miami earlier in June and is investing over $200M to transform our legendary resort. In the months to come, every aspect of Doral will be transformed, from a fresh, new design vision throughout our guest rooms and public spaces to vastly upgraded recreational facilities and amenities.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Resort is in need of some updating, but is moderately priced for Miami. The linens and bedding seemed fresh and recently updated. The service was typical for a large 4 star hotel (just average). The Spa is impressive. The pool by the Spa is better than the large pool. I was there for meetings, the facilities and food / service was adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, Front Office Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for choosing Doral Golf Resort& Spa. I thank you for providing a wonderful feedback about our Spa. We are always trying to exceed the needs of our guest and I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with our linens and bedding. The Trump Hotel Collection™ acquired Doral Golf Resort & Spa Miami earlier in June and is investing over $200M to transform our legendary resort. Trump Hotel Collection delivers an unrivaled luxury experience with expansive rooms, lavish spa and fitness facilities, and flawless service. In the months to come, every aspect of Doral will be transformed, from a fresh, new design vision throughout our guest rooms and public spaces to vastly upgraded recreational facilities and amenities.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon and showcasing our elevated product.

Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Doral Golf Resort and Spa was waay less than satisfactory and not even close to good. Hopefully Mr. Trump will be able to pull off the complete renovation of this tired, old not well kept property. I will say the staff is trying to put on a professional front and did go out of their way to accommodate the guests. Not know what to expect upon arrival (after noon) we were told our room would not be available until 4pm. OK understood the property was at capacity. But hold on - charges for everything! Internet, bottled water in the room, air to breath! (ok, ok the air was free). Tired, old, lack of maintained facilities just begins to describe the experience. Food and drinks - world class pricing for much lower quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Check-in time is at 4 pm however, I am sorry to hear that our hotel was not up to your satisfaction. The Trump Hotel Collection™ acquired Doral Golf Resort & Spa Miami earlier in June and is investing over $200M to transform our legendary resort. Trump Hotel Collection delivers an unrivaled luxury experience with expansive rooms, lavish spa and fitness facilities, and flawless service. In the months to come, every aspect of Doral will be transformed, from a fresh, new design vision throughout our guest rooms and public spaces to vastly upgraded recreational facilities and amenities.

I hope you’ll reconsider a return trip to Doral Golf Resort & Spa in the future and experience our renovated resort and enhanced level of services.

Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I were at this hotel for business meetings. The property is very nice but you can tell that it is in need of a major facelift. Our room was not ready when we arrived so we sat in our traveling clothes until 4 pm. The rain shower was tilted at an angle and so close to the wall that you could not get under it. The iron in our room had a cracked base so it leaked water everywhere. On the second day of our visit, housekeeping left us with only 2 bath towels and 1 washcloth. Understanding this hotel is going to be getting some work done, but at least it could be kept clean. Our room was dusty and bathroom counters were stained. Cigarette butts were along the walkways on the property. You are charged for everything, (ie: parking at $24.00/day , buffet at $24.00/ per person, bottle water in room was at $5.00/ per bottle) and I could go on. The dinner we had the last night was not great at all. I can make a better steak at home. If I did not have to be here for meetings, I would not and will not stay at this property again, I can spend less money at another hotel and have a much better experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for choosing to stay at Doral Golf Resort & Spa and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that our service levels did not meet your expectations and I will be personally addressing these issues with the respective team leader. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal and I will be personally addressing this issue with our Food & Beverage staff. The Trump Hotel Collection™ acquired Doral Golf Resort & Spa Miami earlier in June and is investing over $200M to transform our legendary resort. Trump Hotel Collection delivers an unrivaled luxury experience with expansive rooms, lavish spa and fitness facilities, and flawless service. In the months to come, every aspect of Doral will be transformed, from a fresh, new design vision throughout our guest rooms and public spaces to vastly upgraded recreational facilities and amenities.

I hope to regain your confidence and welcome you back to Doral Resort soon.

Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights for a conference and it was great! Friendly people, helpful and responsive, great time! Took advantage of the golf services, mini bar, restaurants, room service and shops - I am just an ordinary girl and I felt like a princess during our stay. It's not cheap - but it was an experience I will never forget!!

Room Tip: Lodge 5 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Trump National Doral Miami, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the resort and our staff was very friendly. The Trump Hotel Collection™ acquired Doral Golf Resort & Spa Miami earlier in June and is investing over $200M to transform our legendary resort. Trump Hotel Collection delivers an unrivaled luxury experience with expansive rooms, lavish spa and fitness facilities, and flawless service. In the months to come, every aspect of Doral will be transformed, from a fresh, new design vision throughout our guest rooms and public spaces to vastly upgraded recreational facilities and amenities.
I look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump National Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump National Doral Miami

Address: 4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump National Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump National Doral(R) Miami is a prestigious 800-acre resort boasting a completely re-designed clubhouse, new Deluxe and Suite accommodations, luxurious event spaces, new restaurant concepts, 4 redesigned championship golf courses, plus all new re-imagined recreational amenities and retail shops for guests and members to enjoy. Doral(R) is once again one of the greatest resort destinations in the world. Purchased by the Trump Organization in June 2012, the Doral Golf Resort & Spa has undergone a dramatic restoration to recapture the resort's early grandeur. Every aspect of the resort has been completely transformed in order to bring the new Trump National Doral(R) Miami to the highest level of luxury, infused with the distinguished five-star level of service that is synonymous with the Trump brand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump National Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Golf Resort And Spa, a Marriott Hotel Doral
Marriott Doral
Doral Golf Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump National Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.