We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donald Trump bought Doral ...a little too late?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trump National Doral Miami

Save Saved
You added Trump National Doral Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trump National Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Linger Longer
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Doral
Toronto
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Donald Trump bought Doral ...a little too late?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Visited Doral Resort second week of April 2012. Doral is expensive...quite expensive...at this time of year. WHY? A small city of Orthodox Jewish folks migrate to resorts during Passover to avoid having to deal with all the prep work at home related to the event. Thus, there were about 1500 staying at Doral. This drove prices up which was not really good for 8 guys planning to stay and golf. The pools were jammed with families all day each day - no seats available. The good news is the courses were quiet and so were the restaurants...they are not Kosher. We befriended a few of our Jewish attendees and they shared the whole story about why they trek from New York to Doral. I have leaked some of it out already but won't go into the details. The resort is VERY tired. It is run down and poorly maintained. The staff are not friendly nor attentive. The rooms are tired and in desperate need of an upgrade - or knock down. The courses seem to be going to seed - the kind of maintenance you would expect at a place where PGA events are held was just not there. On the bright side the restaurants, both recently renovated, were fantastic. The Spa was pretty good too but already showing signs of lack of attention to detail.
Travelers should be wary of Doral until Trump is finished with his $200 million dollar upgrade. Go to South Beach instead!

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room - some fit this description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    244
    181
    150
    203
See reviews for
163
191
51
381
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I was fortunate enough to attend a business function at this hotel, my first time there. the property is definitely targeted toward golfers althought they do have several pools and places for the family to relax. The property is dated but hs been reasonably maintained. It was apparent that some maintenance had been postponed with the pending sale of the property to Donald Trump. The dining options are somewhat limited if yo do not have a car. There is a mall shuttle but the schedule itsn't the most convenient. The property is definitely aimed to golfers and I heard that the course(s) are a good play, although apparently a bit easy for the pros. Pleasant place to spend time if you golf or have the opportunity to stay there. Otherwise there may be other options better suited depending on what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Depending on what you are there for, there is probably not too much difference in the rooms which ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andover, ma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

3 weeks before "the Donald" takes over it's somewhat clear, that while the courses may be in decent shape, the buildings need some long needed renovations. Musty smelling hallways and rooms, loud central air units, aged furnishings and peeling paint (in places) are hopefully on list for Mr. Trump. Service personnel were excellent (quick and friendly) and the food was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

At first I was nervous about staying at a golf resort with my daughter and myself, but once we arrived all those apprehensions disappeared. From the moment we checked in, to the moment we checked out, everything was fantastic! We stayed in Building 2 and it was conveniently located to the main building, self parking and the beautiful pools. Our room was a king bed room. It was located on the first floor. It was very very spacious (what appeared to be a suite) and had a large patio that looked out onto the grounds. We didn't come to this resort to golf. My daughter merely picked it based on the pools and water slide, all of which were great. The pool with the waterfall was her favorite. It was a zero entry pool. She loved splashing around and going under the waterfall. The other pool was a little more quiet and great for swimming to and from one end. The water slide was better than expected for a hotel slide. Kids of all ages are welcomed to slide down with a parent or if taller than 42 inches may go on their own. Don't let people's bad reviews turn you down for this resort. It is by far the best resort I have been to. The only complaint that I had was the people above me were extremely loud. They ran (didn't walk) all night until 2:30 AM. I understand this isn't the hotel's problem but when you call to complain and they advise you hotel security would go see what they were doing, please follow through!

Room Tip: I would ask for a top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for business. Its about 45 mins taxi ride to Miami beach. The restaurants at the Miami beach are awesome. I also ate in restaurants at the hotel, it was ok. I was traveling alone and need to find restaurants that are more casual. Most of restaurants are a little formal but they have great service. I was able to find a restaurant on the lower level of the hotel lobby. I like the swimming pools. There is a swimming pool for only adults and a big pool for kids and families. This swimming pool have a water slide. I think the kids would like it. I don't golf but I heard from others that it's a great golf course. There are also a Spa service.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This was a very disappointing Marriott stay. The Doral is in desperate need of a makeover. The setup of the hotel is a main building with different buildings consisting of hotel rooms. I was in building 8, with a small room overlooking the employee parking lot. The room was very outdated with bad lighting and a very small counter space in the bathroom. Noise was also an issue - particularly when the maids yelled down the hall to one another. The pool is outdated... The service was subpar. The first room I had been given had someone in it - when I hiked back to the front desk, there wasn't even an apology. One of my colleagues had to change rooms twice - once there was someone in it, and the 2nd time, the ceiling was dripping water... We also waited 15 minutes to order breakfast / get the server's attention for a coffee. Donald Trump is supposed to buy this property in June, 2012, and I think the Marriott has just given up at this point. I would wait until there are major renovations completed before booking. The highlight of the trip was the golf. The red course was fantastic; lots of water obstacles. The Blue Monster was great as well - definitely use a caddie. The golf course service was great. If you are going solely to play golf, and you have a car to drive to meals, then the hotel is adequate. If you plan on doing anything else, stay at another place and play golf here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

So, have you all heard? Trump now owns anothe piece of American history... Staying at Doral right now and I had to look up what the Donalds plans are for the tired resort. I for one would never return if it weren't for the possibility of a Trump overhaul! This place is not a 4 Star resort as it stands now, customer service is deplorable, amenities are old, water in the hotel room (Lodge 4) is green, pool lounge chairs are (going to have to say OLD again). The front desk doesn't have a clue as to how to accommodate guests needs (10, then 5, then 10 more minutes on hold only to be given a phone number to call for a taxi!). Both evenings we went to a restaurant we were told by the hostess we couldn't be seated because the kitchen couldn't handle the number of orders and that we weren't "allowed" to be seated even for drinks while we waited! I immediately went to the manager (both evenings) and told him what we were just told and he said, "oh, no, not the case, go ahead and sit down"!! After we stood at the hostess stand for 20 minutes! This place needs a major overhaul, inside and out!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump National Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump National Doral Miami

Address: 4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump National Doral Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a tranquil Florida spa and golf resort designed to offer peaceful rest and relaxation in a tropical atmosphere. Situated on 650 lush acres, the world-renowned Trump National Doral Miami provides guests with premier Miami resort amenities and golf course views. A NEW ADDITION. Trump Hotel CollectionTM has recently added Miami's iconic Doral Resort to its portfolio with plans for a spectacular multimillion-dollar redesign to restore Trump Doral to its former grandeur. Trump Doral boasts 693 guestrooms across 10 lodges; world-class golf courses including the Blue Monster; 100,000-sq.-ft. of meeting space including a 24,000-sq.-ft. ballroom; a sprawling 48,000-sq.-ft. spa with 33 treatment rooms; highly regarded golf school and teaching facilities; retail boutiques and a private members' clubhouse. "When completed, Doral will be the finest resort and golf club in the country." Donald J. Trump, Trump Organization chairman and president.The comprehensive redesign of the entire resort begun in 2013, occurring in phases, and is slated to conclude in late 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Trump National Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Golf Resort And Spa, a Marriott Hotel Doral
Marriott Doral
Doral Golf Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump National Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;