We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Doral we expected” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Trump National Doral Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Trump National Doral Miami to your Saves list
Trump National Doral Miami
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advanced Purchase 20% Off
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Doral
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not the Doral we expected”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

The Blue Monster is a great course, fun and challenging yet not impossible. Their "overflow" course the Silver was absolutely horrible! They should disassociate it from the name Doral -- it is that bad! There was a rotten odor on practically every hole. The Red was better (no smell) but not much. I would ONLY play Blue if we were ever in the area again.

The hotel itself was awful. We stayed in the newly re-done section (or so we were told) but we had to change rooms the first room was so bad I was ready to check out before we unpacked. There were cracks in hallway walls and peeling paint. Huge cockroaches too. A dead one was outside the elevator door on the second floor. It stayed there almost 2 days! I finally called the front desk and told them about it. I asked why the cleaning people hadn't taken care of it when they were around and received some silly explanation. It was cleaned up a few hours later.
The doormen, wait staff, and other people working there were very friendly but that does not make up for the poor condition of the hotel.
The bathrooms were not clean (hairs -- not ours!) and the rooms and common areas could/should have been cleaned better.
I wrote to the manager and told him about our experience and he said he wanted to make it up to us but we will never go back there -- not even for a free room!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    267
    198
    159
    212
See reviews for
179
208
54
439
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

We stayed 4 nights between Xmas and NewYrs to play golf. Brief thoughts:

1) Weather was perfect. Low 80s and sunny every day. Great escape from winter in Virginia.

2) Golf was hit and miss. Blue course is terrific. I thought the Red was nice too, and easier. We didnt play the white, but I suspect it is excellent as well. The Gold plays along the perimeter of the property and lots of holes right along busy roads. Not really peaceful. The Silver is off the property and totally packed with ugly houses on many holes. The layout is not so good either. I would not play it again.

3) Rooms were very average at best. We stayed in Villas. Old motel type design with the door between rooms. Could hear the neighbors conversations at all hours. Bathroom had upgraded counter tops but just a plain motel design otherwise. A little patio with cheap plastic furniture and no privacy. Would never use it.

4) Food was OK. Average resort style. OK breakfast buffet. Grill had grill food...some good some average. Service at the Grill was freindly but sometimes slow. The formal restaurant (Windows on the Green?) had very good service and high quality food. All was overpriced but nothing out of the ordinary for golf resorts.

Overall the staff was friendly. The resort was loud, and right in the city. It didnt feel like an escape at all. The rooms were disappointing. It worked out as a good short getaway due to the weather and was easy to get to from the airport. Probably ok to do for a couple days if you need some sunshine in the winter...but I doubt I will be back.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2007

One of the consistencies of the JW Marriott is its service, it is always truely 5-stars all around. I always feel to be treated like a king here.

Upon check-in, despite the low status in Marriott frequent guest program, I was given a large corner room in lodge #6. The room feels more like a mini-suite than a king room and hence also its downside. There were not enough furniture in the room therefore the room feels a bit too empty.

Aside from the king bed and the two nightstands flanking each side, there is also a reading chair with ottoman. A drawer desk that also double as the TV stand. A separate workdesk is available for those who needs to work. There is also a vanity desk next to the bathroom but its location was badly designed as anyone sitting in front of it will block the way to the bathroom.

The bathroom size was great, roomy and bright. Water pressure was decent and the bath amenities quality was high.

The Champion restaurant lunch menu was good with decent price list. There is a Starbucks in the basement but it does not have the usual quality. I attribute this to the untrained Baristas.

Location wise, unless you are here for spas or for golf, it is rather far from the nightlife haunts of Miami. Getting a cab can be long at dinner time as there mayby lots of guests having the same ideas as you do. There are however a paid shuttle service to South Beach for $10/head.

Like other JW Marriott, the Doral Spas and Goft Resort distict itself from other with the service that it provides.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

Just returned from a 3 day guys weekend getaway to Doral. I understand there would be mixed reviews for this property. It all boils down to what you're looking for. First of all, if you're a golfer, this is a terrific choice. They have several courses, all of which are highly accessible to the property and the packages they offer are good value. Doral is close to the airport so we were able to book an afternoon tee-off at 1:15 pm, and although our plance landed at 11:30 AM, we made our tee time (barely).
Although the beach is not close and the party atmosphere of South Beach is about 20-30 minute drive away, it's still pretty convenient. They have a couple of nice pools, and although we did not try it out, the spa is a good feature. I also noticed a Kids Club, for parents who bring their kids.
I generally find the service to be quite good here. The employees all seem quite helpful, and they went out of their way to accomodate us when one of our mates had to cancel at the last minute due to illness and we had to re-configure our package. They always gave us the benefit of the doubt, and when we asked they knocked the prices down and gave us an upgrade. They seem very willing to "deal", when it comes to prices.
The room we had was nice and well-appointed and close to the main building (Lodge 6). The bathroom was a bit small but the room was clean and nice and had a balcony. The food was good, they have a wonderful breakfast buffet which was included in our package and the lunch on the terrace was good.
The concierge was helpful and they have a computer and printer next to the main desk to print off your boarding passes. We had a rental car but chose to self-park and walk 5 minutes to avoid the $25 daily valet charge.
Bottom Line, this is a 4 star place, not 5 star, so don't expect luxury, but it's very nice and very good value, and quite a good choice if you're main purpose is to play golf but also be near a place with some night life.

  • Liked — Convenient, practical, close to golf
  • Disliked — Small Bathroom
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

The room was very nice and large.

This resort is not near the water, so be sure you know it is at least 30 minutes to the beach.

Designed for the golfer. I would recommend.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

Doral is certainly not the best place we've ever stayed but the people - both the guests and the staff - were the nicest I've come across. Everyone was so friendly and pleasant and seemed to be having a great time (whether they were working or vacationing).

We booked the Blue Monster 3-day package. Not sure if a package is necessary the next time we go but it worked out pretty well for us. We played the Silver course the first day and probably wouldn't do that again as it was just so-so and is two miles off the main resort property so they take you in a shuttle. It was very wet and muddy when we played so that probably had something to do with me not absolutely loving the course. But it was fun. The Blue Monster is aptly named - incredibly tough. More sand than I've ever seen. But beautiful and fun. Our favorite course of the three we played was the Great White (where this beginnger had her first birdie!). I especially enjoyed the unique challenges of the par 3s on this course.

My husband and I had treatments at the spa and we were both very happy with them. We had a great aesthetician and masseuse.

Our only on-site dining was at the hotel's sports bar and it was so-so; service was pretty slow (yet so pleasant). But it's a very fun place to hang out, watch some games on TV and enjoy the company of other guests.

I would definitely recommend spending some time and money at the Jim McLean Golf School on the property if you're serious about your game (or serious about improving it). Fantastic instructors all around. We worked with Patricia and she was amazing. We're considering the two or three-day golf school programs for our next visit.

Again, as I wrote above, this is not my favorite resort by any stretch and I didn't love the accomodations (though they're completely fine) but I would certainly return as we had an incredible three-day stay. Very nice to be right on property for our early tee times and lessons. Loved every minute.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

My family and I recently returned from a week long vacation in Florida. We stayed at the Miami Doral Golf Resort and Spa. We had arrived at the hotel at 10:30 p.m. and parked in at the lot adjacent to our rooms, the Valet Parking Area. To avoid leaving the keys for the van with 9 suitcases inside, we went to the trouble of parking the van ourselves. The next day we discovered that someone had broken into our rented vehicle and that all of our nine pieces of luggage had been stolen from the vehicle. Immediately after discovering the breaking and entry we called hotel security. We also contacted the Loss Prevention Officer and other members from the administrative departments. They called the police who also showed up minutes later. The police opened a case and assigned an incident number. Unfortunately, it appears that there are no security cameras covering this area and none of the security staff of the hotel witnessed the robbery.
Because of the “confidence” we had in the hotel, we had no trepidations about leaving our luggage in a locked vehicle inside the security perimeter of the hotel in order to facilitate our early morning departure to the airport. We were thoroughly surprised and shocked that this type of crime could be perpetrated inside such a “prestigious” hotel.
We visited Florida to go shopping and spent a considerable amount of money for the items which were in our luggage.
The hotel's "investigation" resulted in nothing. The security staff was quick to tell us the hotel was not responsible. They didn't seem to take any responsibility for the stolen luggage. We were told that this was the first incident of such kind but later we learned that other guests had lost sets of golf clubs outside the club house and ipods from cars.
Stay away from this place where it seems thieves operate from inside, no one will stay in a place where they don’t feel safe.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump National Doral Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump National Doral Miami

Address: 4400 NW 87th Avenue, Doral, FL 33178 (Formerly Doral Golf Resort and Spa, A Marriott Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump National Doral Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a tranquil Florida spa and golf resort designed to offer peaceful rest and relaxation in a tropical atmosphere. Situated on 650 lush acres, the world-renowned Trump National Doral Miami provides guests with premier Miami resort amenities and golf course views. A NEW ADDITION. Trump Hotel CollectionTM has recently added Miami's iconic Doral Resort to its portfolio with plans for a spectacular multimillion-dollar redesign to restore Trump Doral to its former grandeur. Trump Doral boasts 693 guestrooms across 10 lodges; world-class golf courses including the Blue Monster; 100,000-sq.-ft. of meeting space including a 24,000-sq.-ft. ballroom; a sprawling 48,000-sq.-ft. spa with 33 treatment rooms; highly regarded golf school and teaching facilities; retail boutiques and a private members' clubhouse. "When completed, Doral will be the finest resort and golf club in the country." Donald J. Trump, Trump Organization chairman and president.The comprehensive redesign of the entire resort begun in 2013, occurring in phases, and is slated to conclude in late 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Trump National Doral Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Golf Resort And Spa, a Marriott Hotel Doral
Marriott Doral
Doral Golf Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump National Doral Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.