We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Monster eats you up!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doral Resort - Blue Monster Golf Course

Doral Resort - Blue Monster Golf Course
4400 NW 87th Ave, Doral, FL 33178
305 592 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Doral
Type: Golf Courses, Outdoor Activities
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the Doral Resort's five championship golf courses.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Blue Monster eats you up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

the Blue Monster is a killer! it is beautiful, and it requires exact placement of each shot. It will wear you down, but you will really like the course the pros play.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    23
    9
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“father son outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Beautiful and challenging course to play with my son. We were paired up with good players and we enjoyed ourselves

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“PLAY IT!!! Worth the money....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

If you have the time and money, you should play this very beautiful signature golf course. It is difficult, beautiful, well maintained and long! Simply go and treat yourself!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
714 reviews 714 reviews
306 attraction reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
504 helpful votes 504 helpful votes
“A very tough test - and unbelievably fabulous service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

I didn't stay at the Trump National but rather arrived after lunch with all my bags for an afternoon round of golf before heading off to the airport. I was fearful of what I would be able to do with my bags but this proved to not be an issue at all. As soon as I stepped out of my cab I was very warmly greeted by one of the bellmen who took care of me. He sent my clubs off to the golf clubhouse then escorted me downstairs to the locker room and introduced me to the attendant. I was set up with a locker and quickly changed into my golf clothes - a fabulous start to my afternoon and the locker room is gorgeous with oversized lockers (it held my computer and overnight bags) and all the stuff you need to clean and shower up after a round.

I had a reservation on the White course but was able to change to the Blue Monster even though the 12:00 noon to 2:00pm period was blocked off for members. As this was my first time at Doral I can't compare the course to what existed before the big renovation. However, it is tough with narrow fairways, water on most holes, far too many bunkers for my liking and quick greens. Playing from the white tees (6,300 yards) is enough of a test for most (it has a slope of 139!) so don't try to be a hero and play the blue tees - you won't have any fun.

The pace of play was great - just over four hours but this is likely due to the fewer than normal golfers playing during the member times.

Was it worth the $235 - I would say yes but I've hear the white course is very good too!

If you're an Uber fan feel free to request a cab when leaving the resort - there are plenty in the area.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Renovated and better than ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

This is one of the great American Golf courses. The course is challenging yet rewarding if you play it smart. Need to be very precise or will end up in a big deep fairway bunker or a lake. Greens are rolling hills with elevation changes,very fast but will receive the ball well. Windy days will make an already challenging course into a very difficult course. Expensive but worth the splurge.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doral Resort - Blue Monster Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doral Resort - Blue Monster Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.