We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6nights7days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3255 NW 87th Ave, Doral, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Doral
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“6nights7days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Pros
Once checked in we were offered a free soft drink and snack of chips. (Which is nice :))
Wifi
Free parking
New carpet and tiles
Remodeled entry and bar
Double beds with comfy pillows
HBO
Empty fridge to keep drinks cold
Rooms were fixed up quickly with lots of towels
Nice workers
Close walk to Doral ale house with great food
Pool and sitting area


Cons
Slow TV - changing the channels took forever
Wifi got disconnected
Water from shower gets out and on floor

In the days I was there the fire alarm went off 2 times. We had to wait in the car over 1hr the first time. The noise of the alarm is so loud and does not stop. We weren't sure of the situation both times.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I apologize for the inconvenience of the fire alarm incident. There were technicians working on the elevators and accidentally tripped the alarm. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for the great 4 STAR rating.

We hope to see you again when travel brings you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
11
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't be put off by my title; I mean it in a good way. This was a solid no-frills hotel to spend the night before an early flight. The location was convenient to the airport and WiFi was good enough for emails and such. With free parking and a good bed, they delivered exactly as expected. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Rohal M,

Thank you for the candid review of our hotel and great 4 star rating. I appreciate the fact that this Holiday Inn can be compared, in your eyes, as good as all other Holiday Inns. We as a brand strive for a consistent product so that our guests know exactly what they are going to get when they stay at a Holiday Inn. We look forward to your next stay, if not here at least I know it will be at another Holiday Inn.
Travel Safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After checking in and going into two musty smelling not cool rooms we walked right back out the door. The guy at the front desk offered to help us find a room that would suit us. However, we were not impressed the pool needed to be more clean. And the rooms didn't smell clean. Something was off we were not impressed and just left went down the road paid 1.00 less and stayed at another hotel that was much better.

Room Tip: Check your room before settling in to make sure the cleanliness is up to par
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Bob L,

Thank you for the review of your experience with our hotel.
I am sorry the rooms did not meet your expectations. I am glad you were accommodated with a room to your liking unfortunately it was not at our hotel.
I will share your comments with our team to be sure we can investigate and eliminate the issues you surfaced.It is our hope you will allow us another opportunity to be at your service when travel brings you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 4 nights here, mainly to be close to the shopping malls, Walmart etc. We were pleased with this hotel. The staff were pleasant and taxis were easy to get to all destinations. If you are having a package delivered in advance of your stay, there will be a $3 charge for the hotel keeping it for you. Make sure however that you make the staff look for it - sometimes they say it did not arrive, when it was there all the time. The hotel guide in the room will tell you how to access telephone messages - the staff didn't seem to know how to do it.
The beds were very comfortable - however the pillows were too fat and some were lumpy. The hotel guide says you can ask for different pillows (flatter ones) but when we tried to ask, we were told none were available. The A/C was effective and the rooms nice and curtains effective to keep the room dark so the sun didn't come through to wake you up. It was peaceful and quiet. The breakfast is not special but convenient as it is on-site. The Original Pancake House in the vicinity is better, cheaper and highly recommended.
We would suggest some bottles of water could be placed in the fridge for guests' arrival.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Irene P,

Thank you for the 4STAR rating and excellent review of the hotel. I agree the location of the hotel and the shopping malls is great, restaurants close by as well as our own Changes Café restaurant. I apologize for the mis step the staff took with your package and VM retrieval, we have identified the individual at our desk and shared the issues your comments brought with the entire front office team and we are back on track! Thanks for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Areally differs, look for the best price, using internet and phone. Arrived 8 PM on Fri March 27 for park, stay and fly. Our room was not ready, 5 hours after check-in allowed. It seems that they have a contract with an airline company for their crew. Since their plane had been delayed, they let them stay in their rooms, or should I say our room. We agreed to occupy another room, no sorrys, but you can have dinner.We didn't want it. When we returned 2 weeks later, called hotel for shuttle, told it would be 20 to 25 min. Another call and 40 min later, we got picked up. Guess why they were late? They had to take the crew to their airplane. When we got back, two otNexher vans were there, not being used. Complained and were offered free breakfast. Next day maid maid opened door twice, even with a Do Not Disturb sign. Complained when checking out, was given $50 off bill. Night staff is in the outer limits.

Room Tip: Try some place else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Bristol388,
I am sorry that the shuttle transportation did not arrive on time, we make many trips to the airport daily, leaving the hotel on the hour every hour. I am glad to see that the staff did attempt to recover with an offer for dinner, however you declined our offer, you missed a fine meal.
I will review each issue you brought to light in your comments and I am sure these items will be corrected. Please give us another opportunity to WOW you, you'll be glad you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

I was there last week for two nights for meetings and I was pleasantly surprised with the property. Hotel has been fully renovated. Rooms are very spacious, comfortable, clean and a great breakfast. The staff was just superb. They went beyond their duty to accommodate our meeting needs. Linda and Estefania thanks for making our stay just great.
Hotel is on a great location. On my next trip to Miami I will definitely considered staying at the Holiday Inn Miami Doral and will absolutely recommend the hotel to all of my family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
Dear Kleber O,

WOW!!! Thanks for the great 5 STAR rating and excellent review. The staff gets excited to see when our service is appreciated. We love serving our guests. We look forward to being at your service again when travel brings you back to our area.
Until then, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

The hotel property is nice as far as the lobby, restaurant, and back patio. The pool leaves much to be desired so no one is ever out there. The staff is very friendly so no complaints there!

The only problems I experienced with the hotel is the wifi and the smell of dirty socks in my room. The wifi is absolutely awful and after multiple complaints from several different people over a 3 week period nothing happened. The AC's in the room are very dirty and smell like mildew and dirty socks. The air actually made me sick. If they fix those two issues it would be a great property.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
Dear Brando 1023,

Thanks for your comments. I am sorry that there was an odor in your room from the AC. Our chief engineer is on the case with the AC issue to remove any foreign objects on the coil. As for the WIFI signal, this seems to be a bit more complicated but we are making headway through this as well. Signal strength has improved throughout the property and we are tracking down any weak antenna connections as they arise.
Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to being at your service when travel returns you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area

Address: 3255 NW 87th Ave, Doral, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfort at the Holiday Inn Miami Doral Area. Our hotel is conveniently located to the Miami International Airport and only 10 miles from beautiful downtown Miami, South Beach, Port of Miami and Amtrak with convenience to the Florida Turnpike, I-95, I-75, 836-Dolphin Expressway and 826-Palmetto Expressway. Families looking for lodging in Miami Doral are sure to enjoy the comforts of the Holiday Inn Miami Dora-Area, located on 87th Avenue with close proximity to many local attractions such as the Dolphin Mall, International Mall, Homestead Speedway, American Airlines Arena, South Beach, and Doral Golf Resort. Corporate travelers are impressed by the convenience of our accommodations. Our hotel is within walking distance to many large companies, such as; Carnival Cruise Lines, Boston Scientific, with just a short drive to Norwegian Cruise Lines, University of Miami, Jackson Memorial Hospital and Palmetto Hospital. In addition our hotel offers a business center,free wireless Internet and free parking. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant, The Changes Cafe Bar and Grill. We also offer daily complimentary airport shuttle service from 6 AM - 11 PM. While lodging at our hotel you can keep up with your daily routine with our 24 hour fitness center, or you can relax in our lounge,meet with friends and family and watch a game or just relax poolside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Express Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.