We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently refurbished - nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Flower Pot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Flower Pot to your Saves list
The Flower Pot
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Thames Street, Sunbury TW16 6AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Sunbury B&B and Inns
Suffolk
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Recently refurbished - nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I picked this place at random from Expedia's list, and was pleasantly surprised.

There are just eight letting rooms, and on the night I stayted most were occupied. This is an old pub that has recently been spruced up and made very pleasant. My room was tastefully decorated and furnished, with FREE wifi, a nice shower room very comfy bed. Breakfast was exceptionally good - the usual stuff, just very well prepared and served.

The only downsides are the lack of parking and the proximity to a fairly busy road. I live in the country and whilst I'm a heavy sleeper was woken by traffic noise at 6am.... that's cities I suppose. There are just three or four parking paces, and probably not much off-street parking nearby... so you need to bear this in mind. Otherwise very pleasant, not bad value for the area (colleagues in the area were staying in the two-hundred-plus-quid-a-night Cobham Hilton - booooo) - I would come again by choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlowerPotSunbury, Manager at The Flower Pot, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear,
we are very happy than you enjoyed your stay with us.
Next time come with your colleagues which I'm sure, will appreciate our yummy breakfast and our lovely rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    38
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
15
40
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We visited the flower pot hotel on new years eve as we were picking up friends from the airport new years day.
The hotel was very nice and a stone throw away from the thames.
The room was lovely and cozy,the staff were friendly and the food was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlowerPotSunbury, General Manager at The Flower Pot, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear LIsa,
im really happy to heard you enjoy your stay with us.

I hope see you soon with the beautiful weather, when you could enjoy a nice drink on our sunny terasse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Five of us visited The Flower Pot on Sunday at 1pm. We were very happy with the menu, great selection of roasts including a veggie option and plenty of other choice.
However, we were very disappointed with the service. They seemed hugely under staffed and the poor girl serving us did her best but really struggled. We had a question about the menu and when she went to the kitchen to check for us she was waylaid for quite a while serving plates to other tables - not great. When we finally ordered the waitress read our order back to us so we knew she had it correct, still only 4 dishes out of 5 arrived - and these took a long time! We waited quite a while on the last meal to come out and were not tempted by dessert as we'd been there so long. To top it off, a miscommunication between bar and waiting staff meant that we were charged twice for drinks but thankfully we checked our bill.
Food was ok, but not enough to tempt us back after poor service.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlowerPotSunbury, General Manager at The Flower Pot, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Amy,
i very sorry to heard than you didn't enjoy your Sunday lunch as you should normally.

At the Flower Pot, the customers service is our priority, sadly it doesn't like we proved it to you on your Sunday lunch with us.

Could email me (info@theflowerpotsunbury.co.uk) with the date and details of your last visit, and i will happy to propose to you a special offer for an other Sunday lunch,

Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent our wedding night at the Flowerpot and are so glad we did. The room was perfect, beautifully decorated and very spacious. Breakfast was lovely and there was a lot of choice. The staff at the Flowerpot are very accommodating and friendly and we easily arranged for a friend to collect our key and leave our luggage as we were having a late check-in. We would love to stay at the Flowerpot again and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a suite and are so glad we did, beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlowerPotSunbury, General Manager at The Flower Pot, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Mrs Clark,
We are all very happy than you enjoy the first night of your marriage at our hotel.

Like you said we always try at The Flower Pot to accommodate the most as we can the request of our customers.

From all the team we wish to you a long and happy life together.

Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The good:
Nice comfy room, extremely well kitted out
Food quality great
Welcoming environment

The bad:
Under staffed:
- had to wait 10mins on arrival to be checked-in
- average 3-4 mins wait at an empty bar to get served a drink
- 40mins to get served meal (pizza) during evening

Rather noisy in room (probably should have expected that being essentially a pub)
- Music from bar easily heard in room
- Lots of air conditioning/ water flushing noise

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlowerPotSunbury, General Manager at The Flower Pot, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Gnarlier,
I read you review very carefully,and took it with a lot of consideration.

I'm very happy than you enjoyed the room and the quality of our food, but also I'm very sorry than you waited so long for your pizza.

Good food takes some time, anyway you shouldn't wait so long for a pizza, as its looks like you had the same problem at the bar to order some drinks your experience doesn't reflect the quality of the service than we try (and must!) give...

Do you think it would be possible than you email me on which date was it?

I hope than we will still your choice of accommodation if you come back in the area.
And if its the case, just ask to speak to myself, and i will be more than happy to offer a nice drinks on us to apologize for the inconvenience than you had before!

Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The rooms are exceptional here - mine had a rolltop bath in the main bedroom, in addition to the large double shower in the bathroom. The quality of furnishings was excellent and, being above a pub, you're assured of a decent meal in the evening (freshly cooked), along with a good beer/wine, etc., as you prefer.

Downside? Very little parking, but some road parking is available and seemed fine.

Delightful and a welcome change from sterile hotel chains...oh, and well-priced too! I recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlowerPotSunbury, General Manager at The Flower Pot, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We are really happy than you appreciated your stay with us.

Yes sadly our parking is limited, but like you said its very easy to find a nice spot in the street, (free parking and quiet area!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The first thing we noticed on our one-nighter at The Flower Pot was the lack of parking spaces - just 4 including 1 disabled bay - by a busy junction. Check-in was at the bar. We were dealt with efficiently and luggage carried to our room - number 4 - up a narrow staircase. A huge comfy double bed filled the room (two lights were not working) and the small modern en-suite was high-spec, clean and functional with fluffy white towels. But, in common with so many hostelries, the walls were paper-thin and during the night we could hear flushing loos, snoring, and other assorted sounds from rooms adjacent and above!
Friends joined us for an evening meal which was speedily served and delicious.
All things considered, the recently renovated Flower Pot offers reasonable value for money. Accommodation for a "de-luxe" double room cost £99 including a substantial breakfast, and the evening meal was £20 per head.
Would we stay there again? Probably, with ear-plugs at the ready!

Room Tip: Top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Flower Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flower Pot

Address: Thames Street, Sunbury TW16 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Sunbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sunbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Flower Pot 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally transformed, the Flower Pot is now a stylish, up-market Coaching Inn offering boutique en-suite accommodation and fantastic food freshly prepared from ingredients sourced from local farms and suppliers.Absolute Pubs own three other award-winning pubs in the area and we pride ourselves on fresh food, great drinks and friendly quality service. We guarantee a warm welcome whether you are staying with us or just dropping in for a drink or bite to eat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Flower Pot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flower Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.