We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Lodge Leisure Ltd

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saxmundham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Lodge Leisure Ltd
Save
You added High Lodge Leisure Ltd to your Saves list
Haw Wood, Hinton | Darsham, Saxmundham IP17 3QT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great weekend escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at High Lodge for a weekend getaway on 1st-4th Nov 2013. The lodge was fantastic (greenfinch) very nicely finished to a high standard, well equipped, beautifully decorated, warm and cosy. Shower lovely and bed really comfy. Added bonus of a private hot tub just outside the door and view over the lake was really relaxing. We used the cafe/bar for breakfast on Sat morning which was really nice, staff and service very good and on the Sunday we booked for a Carvey, it was absolutely delicious! Highly recommended. On the fri when we arrived to our lodge there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the living room, which was a shame, dont know how anyone could spoil these lodges! Mentioned it at reception the following morning and when we returned from our outing they had left an air freshener for us which was nice, and it helped. Overall, a fabulous place to stay, relaxing, unwinding and chilling, loved it! We SHALL return, Well done High Lodge!

Room Tip: They are all lovely..take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you had a relaxing weekend-that is exactly what the luxury lodges and their setting aim to do. All of our lodges are non-smoking, so it is a shame for our guests when others decide to break this rule, but we do monitor it as much as we can. We look forward to welcoming you to High Lodge again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Yesterday I attended a children's charity event at High Lodge, attended by approximately 100 people. Included in the package was a carvery lunch which was first class. Bearing in mind the large number of guests, the service was excellent, there was a good choice of dishes and the food was cooked to perfection and there was plenty available for seconds. There was also a number of superbly prepared sweets to chose from. The event itself was a great success and for me and many others, that I know of, we will be returning to High Lodge to enjoy their wonderful Sunday carvery service in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review on our charity day, in which with the help and support of all of our customers we were able to raise such a huge amount for two very worthwhile causes. Although the focus of the day was the fundraising, we are glad that you enjoyed your day, and had an enjoyable lunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Rang Sunday morning to book a table for 12.30. On arrival there was no booking for us but we were told we were lucky as there was a table for 2 available anyway. Chef served the beef and then we helped ourselves to the rest, vegetables were so under cooked I couldn't cut through the cauliflower. I understand they need to be firm, as not to go soggy left in the tins, but I don't think these were even blanched! The gravy was watery and tasteless. Nice Yorkshire pudding though. No call back. Little atmosphere, feels like a village hall with the tired looking red chairs and wipe clean, lime green cloth. When the people near us were offered desserts, there was no menu, just some scribble on a notepad to look at. The waitress then had to find a pen to take the order. Whilst paying our bill another couple were looking to book for the following week, the waitress didn't know if she could do that so asked a colleague, who informed her that she could but neither of them knew how to. Oh dear, perhaps management could look at training the staff so they don't appear so clueless?
We will not bother coming back, such a shame.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
I am disappointed and sorry to hear that our carvery lunch did not meet your expectations on your visit. We take all comments, both positive and negative very seriously which is why we ask for your feedback on our comments cards after your meal to help us continually provide the best service for our customers. I have to say that none of the other comments cards completed on the day reflect your experience or issues, and many customers have expressed an interest in returning for future carveries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The lodges are really very lovely. Well equipped, beautifully decorated, overlooking a very pretty lake on one side and fields views on the other. We had a two bedroom lodge with a very nice size hot tub.

The staff are very friendly and you feel genuinely welcome (there isn't a long list of instructions or inventory to go through or any over the top warnings on hot tub usage etc). It's the perfect place to unwind. There's a great little cafe onsite offering various dishes for breakfast and lunch. It also opens until 7pm on Wednesdays.

There also seem to be a regular list of events at the site (there was a craft fayer while we were there). Clay pigeon shooting, fishing and golf is also available.

The only thing that would have made our stay better would have been wifi - to book restaurants and plan our day. It would also have been nice to have the option to have a change of towels through the week (as there is no washer/dryer in the lodges). The welcome pack did state that additional towels were available through reception so this may have been our fault but it would have been nice if they'd been changed as a matter of course - one week with one set of towels isn't really enough (and we brought our own beach towels with us for use with the hot tub).

All in all a great holiday and we would be delighted/hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay, and that you felt all of our staff made you feel welcome during it. We hope that you would consider staying with us at High Lodge again if you visit this area of Suffolk. Wifi, although available in our clubhouse is not yet available in the lodges, and we do agree that this would compliment our site further. Therefore one of High Lodges future investments will be to extend the wifi to the lodges, although no date has yet been set for this. Thank you for your comments on the changing of the towels, of which we will certainly consider for any future improvements than can be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Very impressed with our lodge, we stayed in yellowhammer, it was very clean & well equipped. We were pleased to find that all the lodges are right on the edge of the lake & enjoyed evenings sitting on verandah watching the wildlife. The site was well kept and very peaceful & the staff were very friendly & helpful. We will definitely go back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We have an abundance of wildlife here at High Lodge which agree is lovely to sit back and watch whilst relaxing. We are glad you found your lodge to be clean and equipped with everything you needed for your stay. We would love to welcome you back to High Lodge if you decide to visit the area again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at High Lodge, stayed in a Lovely Lodge called Greenfinch complete with hot tub, beautiful setting looking out onto small fishing lake. If you like Golf, Fishing or Clay pigeon shooting this is the place for you. Found it very peaceful and well situated for visiting the local area. Small bar in Clubhouse and nice cafe/restaurant,staff very friendly. Lots of nice walks in the area and several nice pubs within a few miles. The fox inn at Darsham was very good and we had a lovely steak and kidney pudding there ! Southwold,Aldeburgh and Halesworth are not far away, so plenty to do for a short break !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in Greenfinch Lodge, and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. We would love you to consider High Lodge again should you decide to visit Suffolk again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have just returned from a short break at the High Lodge and it was excellent. We stayed in the Greenfinch lodge and it was superb. It was spotless and extremely well equipped. The hot tub is a nice touch. The staff are very nice and nothing is too much trouble. My hubby really enjoyed the clay pigeon shoot - fantastic! We loved it so much that we booked for next year on our way out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of High Lodge. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your lodge and your shooting, and great that you have booked to come and see us again. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Lodge Leisure Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Lodge Leisure Ltd

Address: Haw Wood, Hinton | Darsham, Saxmundham IP17 3QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Saxmundham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst 100 acres of tranquil woodland and Suffolk countryside, our luxury self catering lodges sleeping up to 6 people, offer a scenic and peaceful retreat. All have private balconies and some have private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
High Lodge Leisure Ltd Saxmundham, Suffolk, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Lodge Leisure Ltd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.