We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic but clean; Truly in the Middle of the Rainforest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge
Sekonyer River | Kumai, Pangkalan Bun, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$80 (USD)
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Rustic but clean; Truly in the Middle of the Rainforest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Rimba means jungle- and this IS a jungle lodge.We love our rainforest adventures, but we are not "campers," and we were perfectly satisfied with the accommodations at The Rimba Lodge. You are right on the Sekonyer River; do not even think about jumping in to cool off - as there are crocodiles there. If you can locate a copy of British actress Joanna Lumley's documentary (titled something like "Orangutans Last Stand") you see her arriving at The Rimba Lodge. Most of the amenities questions don't really apply to a rainforest adventure trip. Ecellent travel assistance or night-on klotok boat options are available through an agency called Adventure Indonesia whose e-mail address is [-]

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    54
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
35
69
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

After having read through all the reviews for Rimba I must admit that I went there with trepidation. Having stayed in a beautiful hotel in Jogjakarta previous to this, I was ready for a rough and ready experience and wasn't disappointed.

Rimba is set in the middle of the rainforest just off the Sekonyer River. When we arrived after our long boat trip (2 and a half hours) from Kumai we were ready to freshen up a little but couldn't. As we had already been told the electricity doesn't come on until 5pm so at 4:30 we waited in our 35 degree 90% humidity room for an hour...until it did.

The room was extremely clean and well made up albeit extremely basic. We had upgraded to a Diamond room so fortunately had air con as well as (intermittent) hot water. The main room itself had a double bed with mosquito net which had clearly seen better days. The windows were typical slat windows that you find in the tropics.

The bathroom consisted of a Western style toilet, a shower but no cubicle and a sink. You showered over the wooden floor and the water drained away I suspect through the invisible cracks. A thunderstorm on the first night made us think that the whole building was going to collapse!

Food wise the evening meal was palatable with both Indonesian and Western offerings. There was no alcohol offered although other parties had some. Breakfast was a little diffferent with the only choice being eggs and how you liked them prepared (Omlette, French Toast or Fried).

Activity wise there is VERY little to do. One ping pong table plus a TV/DVD and that was it. There is no mobile signal as Rimba is very remote so it meant an hour or so of reading before bed. We did sleep well and the constant incursions of gekko's were not really a problem.

Rimba is not a luxury hotel rather a simple base for exploring the rainforest and river. That said it would be impossible to visit the Orangutans and do the things we did (and we had a magical time) without either staying here or on the klotok boat (where mossies eat you alive). Rimba is not great but the staff are very, very friendly, the food is ok and the beds are comfortable. It is indeed the pay-off for such a great experience

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Rimba Lodge is an incredible place to spend your time when your wanting to listen to the thousands of sounds in nature. As you venture down the river to go there, you feel like you're entering an entirely different world. The staff takes compete care of every guest and wants to please them. Indonesian Ecolodges arranged my entire tour. The boat trips to see the wildlife and villages were fantastic! They gave us an enormous amount of food for lunch and dinner. Rimba is built and decorated in a perfect styled for this adventure. Being away from the rest of the world and without the use of the Internet allowed guests to enjoy themselves and relax. The entire experience made for a perfect cultural, educational, and fun learning adventure.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allenwood, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

I just returned from Indonesia with a group of adventure travelers where we stayed in three lodges operated by Ecolodges Indonesia. Rimba Lodge in Borneo is the most remote of the three and although it has some rough edges - the result of its previous owner allowing it to fall into disrepair - the rooms are clean and the staff could not have been more accommodating. The current owners are totally committed to ecotourism and are working hard to improve the facilities. My clients understood we were in a remote part of the world. They were delighted with Rimba. I will not hesitate to return with groups in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

we stayed for 3 nights on the klotok orang utan trip
rimba lodge is not great. For us food was very poor and its not much more than a few old scout huts in the jungle.Booze free unless you make your own very special arrangements well in advance. We tried but failed! Nothing to do after eating around 8pm and generator doesnt provide enough lighting to read easily. That said, shower did have hot water and air conditioning did work and we slept well!
The only real alternative to Rimba though is sleeping on the klotok. The drawback is very warm to try to sleep and arguably more uncomfortable and very much more likely to get bitten. However food on the klotok was great. On balance, it,s a toss up worth considering.

The other reviews brilliantly describe why people bear some inconvenience to go here where the trekking and the experience of getting close up with the orang utans is magical. The experience is far better the less touristy it is and this is why our stay at rimba to see the orang utans will remain truly memorable

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Went through Indonesia with my new wife (had been married 3 days when we arrived in Rimba) and what an experience it was!!
Staying in the middle of Borneo would have been enough, however Rimba Lodge made it into a trip we will share with friends and family for many years to come. The setting is exactly what it should have been, IN a national park, 20 minutes from the only wild orang-utans left in the world, and deep deep in the jungle. The staff were excellent, all speaking english to varying degrees (my Indonesian was much worse than their English) but always willing to provide us with anything we needed...be it more mosquito repellent (this is the jungle) or information on the local wildlife (including a hand caught scorpion...how cool is that???) Our guide for these four days was as much of a highlight as the features he pointed out, explained and then waited paitently for us to photograph. Anyone wanting an experience they will GUSH about for the next 15 years or so must deifinitely go to Rimba...these guys know how to make the wild accessible for all. Congratulations Rimba Lodge and Eco Lodges Indonesia

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

We stayed at Rimba lodge while visiting the orangutan sanctuary and we seriously wish we'd slept on the klotok. This place is so run down its untrue. everything was tatty - the mosquito nets were old net curtains and had big holes in them so were completely useless. the bed side tables looked like an eight year old had made them. bits of the fabric of the building were falling off and the en suite was just terrible. The staff were really friendly but had no idea about service and the breakfast was disgusting. We're used to travelling to remote places and staying in basic accommodation (2 weeks previously we'd visited the mountain gorillas in Uganda and stayed in basic accommodation there but that camp with its tented accommodation was way way superior) - this was by far the worst we've ever encountered. We appreciate that they are trying to be Eco-friendly but that doesnt mean that the lodge has to be dank and depressing - i couldnt wait to leave.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge

Address: Sekonyer River | Kumai, Pangkalan Bun, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Borneo > Central Kalimantan > Pangkalan Bun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pangkalan Bun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge Pangkalan Bun, Borneo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.