We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stop over” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mamberamo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Mamberamo Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Mamberamo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Dr. Sam Ratulangi, no. 35, Sorong 98413, Indonesia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sorong
Mykonos, Greece
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“One night stop over”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had to stay one night in this hotel on our way back from a Raja Ampat live aboard . Although it is general agreed that this is the maximum time somebody will spend in Sorong the hotel it self holds up really well for the standards of the City. Helpful stuff ,clean rooms and nice and tide establishment as a hall.The restaurant that comes with it is not the best one I have seen so I recommend you to try your luck in one of the near by local small eateries.As a general conclusion is a little bit over priced for what it is but I guess with what is on offer it can pull out those prices.

Room Tip: Try to get the deluxe room with the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    24
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
14
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Okay, you need to know that, at the time of writing this, the hotels in West Papua (specifically Sorong) simply don't hold up to what most people are used to in more well-developed (or spoiled, depending on how you see it) parts of SE Asia - or even Indonesia.

So our ratings here are relative.

A few things about Sorong, then I'll get into the actual hotel specifics. Traveling in West Papua is expensive in comparison to the rest of Indo - so don't expect the same kind of 'great value/price'. Expect to pay 50-70% more compared to a similar stay in most other/more touristy areas of Indo (based on my experiences in Bali and Sulawesi at least).

Context/Our Trip: Traveled as a couple with about 12 other friends - couples, singles, groups. We stayed in Sorong to explore for 4 days before a trip out to Raja and for 3 nights afterward far more time in Sorong than most travelers - and we loved it!). Our friends stayed at various other locations (You and Me, Meridian, Luxio) one the front end of our trip. All of them were scrambling to stay with us at Mamberamo on the back end.

About the Hotel:
For Sorong, this place is fantastic value - and I think they're starting to figure that out. While prices were decent for us, word is spreading (both about Sorong/Raja Ampat as a destination, and about Royal Mamberamo as a competitive stay option). I think their prices might go up pretty quickly, given they're not the most expensive but are delivering the best value. Until some of the competitors (looking at you Luxio and Meridian) step up their game they'll be free to price as they'd like I think.

Staff were really friendly. Place was clean, pretty quiet (despite rumours of late-night Karaoke parties) and quite comfortable!

The location of this place is great if you are the kind of traveler who likes to explore locally - great for walking around (which I encourage you to do). If you are just in-and-out to Raja, then locations nearer to the airport might be simpler/easier.

They have a solid restaurant (ate there a number of times - quite good, though there are better places in town if you take the time to find them) with a huge menu - good mix of Indonesian food. Great breakfast buffet!

They have an onsite travel agent (arranges flights away and diving... but lost when it comes to other local adventures).

There is also a small lounge/bar that has live music almost every night until 10/11pm. All the singers in town are extremely talented - especially considering they often sing in English and with varying degrees of speaking skill. Mix drinks are a bit expensive.

Decent laundry service (be detailed in your description of common clothes - I definitely got someone else's 'grey undies' once), good TV with lots of free movies on air if you want to simply stay in and enjoy the aircon.

Smoking is still a very common thing - in the lobby and on certain floors. I don't think smoking rooms are going to last too long but in the meantime be sure to check your room for the smell of smoke (even if not on a smoking floor). The staff are very accommodating if you find something amiss. Oh, and they have an Indonesian beer OTHER than Bintang!

Room quality was excellent in both of the rooms we stayed in and in the rooms of our friends who stayed with us.

If you're traveling to Sorong (and especially if you're thinking of staying and spending time in the local environs) I'd highly recommend Royal Mamberamo.

A Note about Sustainability/Politics: West Papua is an occupied place - that is to say, most of the actual local West Papuans aren't happy with Indonesia's adoption of this land. There is a noticeable lack of West Papuan ownership and employment in Sorong businesses and in other cities as well. Don't get me wrong - the (largely Javanese) Indonesian staff are excellent. But if you want to support *true local* businesses you may want to look at homestays on the nearby islands as you'll find little opportunity in the cities. If you are in Sorong and do want to have a true local experience, walk along the water-front road north of town and keep walking past the local fish markets until you come to the mangrove villages - explore a bit and if you are polite and willing to listen you'll get a warm welcome and a lesson on West Papuan history from the locals living on the stilted shanty towns.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking floor. Some rooms have windows, others don't. The windows aren't lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

finished a week in raja ampat. so you are tired and need some western comfort. this place was cheaper than the mariat but it was on the other side of town- some 10-20 mins from the airport.
there is literally no other option to stay -- the hotel is based in a rather seedy road ( u would not want to go for a night stroll ) but is newly built , clean and functional. we parted with 50USD for a superior room with windows.. must say it was quite smart with working bath /shower.. nice staff
but I must say-- the menu prices were very high--western prices indeed- but I think the Indonesian meals were cheaper.....

Room Tip: choose a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

On the positive side, the hotel is clean and the breakfast reasonable. On the negative side, the cheaper rooms (which are definitely not cheap!) have no windows and are pretty cramped for 2 people.

However, this is probably as good as it gets in Sorong. There are a few other options close to the Mamberamo and you may pay a few dollars less. But issues such as mosquitoes, noise and incompetent staff make these less than ideal alternatives.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

After a 2 week trip to Raja Ampat , we checked ourselves into the Royal Mamberano suite . The suite itself was pleasant and spacious but very over priced ! We popped downstairs to eat ... Stick to the Indonesian dishes ! The staff were helpful and polite . The wifi is slow ... But this is Papua after all . The water in the shower didn't actually get hot . Would we stay again ? Probably not , as we saw new hotels being built whilst we were there !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dili
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The rooms are nice and very clean - just a bit small and a very small window. The internet was good and fast and the staff very friendly and spoke good english. There is a good choice of food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

If you are waiting for a boat to take you to Raja Ampat the next morning, this hotel is fine. Rooms were clean, staff helpful (although not everybody speaks English). Restaurant was ok, we were too jet lagged to try to go out into the town and look for something better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Mamberamo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mamberamo Hotel

Address: Jl. Dr. Sam Ratulangi, no. 35, Sorong 98413, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Papua > Sorong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sorong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Mamberamo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the city centre (Kampung Baru), Royal Mamberamo Hotel (RMH) is only 20 mins from the airport, 5 mins from the famous 'Berlin Wall' and within walking distance to most local attractions (inc. Boswesen Market). Voted #1 hotel in Sorong on Tripadvisor, our rooms are spacious and well-maintained. Staff are polite and go out of their way to make our guests feel welcome. Our Metamani Restaurant is also one of the finest in Sorong, serving both international and Asian cusine. To ease your trip to Raja Ampat, we have an in-house travel and diving facility which includes the rental of speedboats and diving equipments. At RMH, we believe your needs are our utmost priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Mamberamo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mamberamo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.