We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in a remote city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mamberamo Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sorong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Mamberamo Hotel
Save
You added Royal Mamberamo Hotel to your Saves list
l. Dr. Sam Ratulangi, No. 35, Sorong 98413, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sorong
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great place in a remote city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Nice rooms, great food and pleasant staff in a place where I spent 2 nights while staying in Sorong.
The restaurant serve really good food and the bar is really complete considering that it is very difficult to find anything around there.
Will for sure stay there again in during my next trip in R4.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    20
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
12
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

After a wonderful 5 days journey to Raja Ampat, Pak Benny -our tour leader- took us to this hotel before departing to Jakarta next day. We stayed in room 201. It's nice, although not spacious. Moreover, we're family of 4. But it's ok. We could refresh after camping, trekking, hiking, sailing, and those kind of nature activities. The shower, the bed, AC, TV, electrical outlet, were such gems for us :)
Yes, this is the best hotel in town! Nowadays, you wouldn't find any better hotel. But, as the Raja Ampat tourism is getting more famous, it's supposed to be more hotels like this in Sorong. Service is excellent. It's clean. But I suggested the hotel to change the shower. It's strong, but not comfortable.
The bed is comfortable. We've got an extra bed. Amenities and toiletries are complete. From our room, we only could see local residences. It's really close from the hotel. If we could open the window, we could jump to their roof!
Breakfast is OK. They've got bread with the accessories, rice, noodle, fruit, snacks, juice (it's not fresh. It's syrup), coffee, tea, fried potatoes, chicken nuggets, porridge, and so on.
Most of the guests were business guests. I'm not sure about the rate, coz Pak Benny did the reservation for us.
There are some mini shops around the corner. It's not located on the main road, so it's not noisy. This is not a hotel for recreation or leisure. If you wish to entertain your self, jump to Raja Ampat! The hotel staff could assist you, I think. Or you can find another operator/travel agent. I'd be pleasure to advice you to connect with the best operator I've known.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed here for a night after my diving trip in Raja Ampat. This is the most decent and modern hotel in Sorong. Located 15 mins from airport, this hotel is away from the main town area of Sorong.
This area has many night spots with few eatery outlets, row of minimart and some shops 3 mins walk down the road. There are also 2 massage palours and salons at reasonable prices.
Internet in hotel room and public area is chargeable. Stayed at standard room without window. Room and bathroom is small but clean. Bed is soft and comfortable. TV with many channels. Air-con is cold. Buffet breakfast is below basic, cold and very limited variety Do not expect any luxury and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Standard rooms do not have window. You need to pay more for upper grade rooms with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

First time to step my foot at Sorong for Company mission. This hotel was reserved by our logistic supplier. Have read some advise from several review here, but I still prepare for the worst.

Surprisingly, the hotel is quite good. Arrived early morning, we are handled very well. The staff were friendly and very efficient. However, since we arrive too early, the only available room is twin room instead of single bed as reserved. The hotel apologize sincerely as they can not do anything due to all room very fully booked.

The hotel is quite modern. Clean, friendly staff, and everything work in order. Stay in this hotel, you wont be feel like in Papua which is actually quite remote part of Indonesia. Good bed, complete bathroom amenities, strong water flow, and multi-channel television.

The hotel has a kind of drugstore that also provide some bottled water, beverage, and snacks. The laundry was also very fast. It can be ready in only half day, and it all with regular prices.

Breakfast menu was standard, but the choice for dinner was superb. We have a dinner in Metamani restaurant, and it serves delicious meal. It really beyond my expectation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekasi, Indonesia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

It was my first visit to Sorong. I had prepare for the worse condition actually cause Sorong is not a modern city, very traditional neighborhood and a small city that far from other main city. But I was really surprised when I arrive at the hotel and got a good service, clean and nice hotel, also good sleep and complete menu for breakfast.
Not only the name, but I really feel like a royal there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed here overnight on our way to another dive resort. Considering the size and demographics of the city of Sorong, this hotel is surprisingly nice and very affordable. Food in the restaurant was very good. The staff have very limited English but they are friendly. There is not much to do for the tourist.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Decent Hotel, in an unexpected location - about 15 minutes from the airport. A small car park due to the hotels Position.
Staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are nice. Clean, comfortable fixtures and fittings.

Room service is prompt and food very good. Breakfast is a little lacking in western style food, but is included in the room rate so not bad for the price.

Slight gripe the hotel staff tried to charge me for the room, when it was already paid for by the company. Chalk it up to an over site as they may not be used to these convoluted arrangements.

Overall i would stay again and recommend it. Try and avoid corner rooms, due to the shape of the building they can be cramped.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Mamberamo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mamberamo Hotel

Address: l. Dr. Sam Ratulangi, No. 35, Sorong 98413, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Papua > Sorong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sorong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Hot International breakfast for registered guests-Hi-Speed Internet WiFi-60-channel Satellite TV (HBO, CNN, CCTV etc)-Smoking or Non-smoking Rooms-24-hour Room Service-FREE shuttle service from our hotel to the airport-Fully air-conditioned rooms-Complete Mini-bar-Safe deposit box available upon request-Concierge Service-Laundry Service. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mamberamo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.