We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than its reputation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JE Meridien Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sorong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
JE Meridien Hotel
Jalan Basuki Rahmat KM 7, Sorong, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Sorong B&B and Inns
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Better than its reputation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Second time around we can`t fault the Meridien. Yes, it`s difficult to make reservations and very little english is spoken, but the nice lady from the tourist information can help. The staff that was describend as couldn`t be bothered to serve customers does exisist, but for some reason only accumulates in the downstairs bar & restaurant. So you might have to walk up to the bar to order a beer. The upstairs restaurant is different. Staff is attentive and trying and our chicken with dried chilly, chicken with cashew nuts and Cap Cay was really quite good. The deluxe room was clean and very quiet - just what we wanted. If you think the hot water is not working, just try both taps - the one on the right side didn`t indicate it, but it was for hot water. Instead of turning it we needed to push it. Breakfast a chrismas was surprisingly good campared to earlier visits: A wide range of food including tasty make-your-own Soto Ayam. Best thing is of course the proximity to the airport.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
4
15
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

No hot water, air conditioning didn't work, extra bed was more expensive then half the room rate, staff could only answer with "I don't know" and the window lock is broken so anybody can come in from outside. When you look out the window you can see the hotel towels being dried on the floor of the parking lot next to the trash bins.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This hotel is a convenient option as it sells the permit required to visit Raja Ampat and is located opposite the airport. It's a five minute walk or there is a free transfer. When taking the transfer from the hotel to the airport, get out just before the car park barrier, otherwise you have to pay the driver 2,000 rupiah.

The breakfast is average, as are the rooms. The power shower floods the bathroom and the room had no windows. The wifi worked well though. The hotel often loses reservations so it's worth confirming before arrival.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed at the JE Meridien hotel twice within 18 days the first visit they could not find my reservation however found me a room at 0730 in the morning and allowed me to check in then and there. The staff were helpful however English is not a strong point and why should it be i managed to comunicate with them in English and Indonesian. The room I had on the first visit was clean and comfortable and the shower was hot ( I paid for a superior room which gave me a window some reviewers have complained their rooms had no window, you get what you pay for). I had breakfast which was very average not much choice and also dinner which was fine. The 2nd visit i was leaving prior to breakfast so cannot comment. The room on the 2nd visit was not so good, despite the same price there was no refrigerator and the aircon did not work well but then my requirements are a shower and clean sheets. For its purpose it was fine i was able to get my marine tag onsite and transport to the supermarkets was easy as I had to but food and water for a kayaking expedition in Raja Ampat.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a superior room rather than take the cheap windowless rooms its only a few dollars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very good though basic hotel across a busy street from the Sorong airport. The service was good and the room comfortable. I reserved a room with a window (some rooms don't have windows.) They have an airport shuttle that will take you to the airport as early as around 5am - in time for the 6am flight. The pleasant restaurant serves food that is very good and inexpensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for a night on the way back from Pulau Pef after a fantastic week at Raja4Divers.
It's a decent hotel. Rooms were fine but the bed linen was not. My friends had a shower that refused to stop once it was turned on but the hotel staff managed to get it fixed.
There was a group of large women singing loud karaoke songs in the only restaurant ! We had to suffer them in silence. Hotel maintenance is poor but the staff are fine. If you really have to stay in Sarong then go to the Meridien, you will survive.
While there make it a point to read the instruction leaflet in the room. It says no "Drunkard and Caroused" remember to follow the house rules.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villarbasse, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

5 minutes walk from the airport, just cross the street.
You can choose rooms with or without window.
Room are big not so clean. Toilette was clean. TV and A/C was working very well. Wi-Fi is available in the lobby and downstairs.
Staff is good and security is assured by one guard.

Breakfast is not good.
Bar is ok for basic drink and food (prefer frozen dishes).
It has 2 ATMs (one inside the other outside).

In the lobby you found the tourist office for Raja Ampat and an office for flight booking.
You can ask for a taxi that will bring you to the ferry for Waigeo in 10 minutes (there is a supermarket on the way to the airpoirt where you can buy water and food).
Credit Cards accepted.

Room Tip: Prefer room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JE Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JE Meridien Hotel

Address: Jalan Basuki Rahmat KM 7, Sorong, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Papua > Sorong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sorong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JE Meridien Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added JE Meridien Hotel to your Saves list