We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Spa

Save Saved
You added Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Del Puente las Salinas 7 km hacia el Astillero, Tola 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tola
Costwolds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Awesome Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Amazing place - serene, very relaxed and amazingly hot. It was a little quiet when we were there but i quite like that, not sure if my girlfriend did.

Beautiful secluded beach very laid back place and lovely staff. Would love to go and stay here again.

They also do good things for turtles - sadly we didn't see any but we did take a look at the hatchery and had all questions answered by the very nice barmen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    11
    9
    8
See reviews for
11
47
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wonderful and very accommodating staff. The property itself is beautiful. The food is expensive for Nica but you dont have much of a choice as you are kind of stranded out there. Def not for the traveler who wants to walk into town and explore the community as this is a very secluded spot, so you need to be OK with relaxing and being unplugged. Bring a book! The cabanas were nicely furnished and clean. Right on a great beach break for surfing. We had a lovely time and would def stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The place is amazing, with beautiful landscape, nice ocean front..however the food isn't that good for the price you pay. I think they should prepare the food better, especially because the price is quite high for it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moorefield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

excellent meals...friendly service..stunning lodge and beach...great sunset walks,,
rustic but charming (no AC or hot water)...mosquitos were very present in March at dusk...
fantastic massage by Lissette (ask for her especially)...we were practically on our own and were able to spread out in the lodge...live guitar music at dinner...we enjoyed our stay and came away relaxed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Three friends (Carl and Mike's reviews are below) and I just returned from the all-inclusive beginners surf trip at Punta Teonoste. If you are interested in adventure, amazing unadulterated beaches and perfect waves than this is the trip for you. The weather in March was 90 degrees F every day, with nice ocean breezes, and blue sky. Everyone at the resort was super friendly and accommodating, including our surf instructor Emir, waitstaff (Johnny, Dennis), the manager Roberto, and Pablo who helped us book and organize the trip via email from the US. The food was great and the Tonas (local beer) were cheap and delicious. For a group of four loud gringos that spoke minimal Spanish, the people at the resort were extremely kind and understanding. The surf trip allowed us to not only spend time on site at the resort (which was awesome; the beach is secluded and the restaurant/pool was out of a Corona commercial) but to explore the many different hidden spots (beaches, restaurants, bars) that we would have no idea about otherwise with our trusted surf instructor Emir leading the way (and driving us around). Each day was truly a new adventure. This place is Costa Rica 20 years ago and once people find out about it and the roads get paved, it is going to blow up commercially. My advice would be to get there soon before it happens.

Room Tip: Cilantro was a 4 bed villa with unobstructed views of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I recently returned from a 5 day trip at Punta Teonoste. The staff was very friendly, the location was amazing and the overall experience was a once and a lifetime opportunity. It is a bit of an experience traveling from the airport in Managua (long, dirt roads) and if you are expecting a smooth ride, you will be disappointed. Once we arrived we were amazed at the beauty of the property and the stunning beach. If you are looking for a place to escape from your daily life, this is the place to go. Don't expect many modern amenities in your room but that was part of the charm. The outdoor shower and bathroom was very unique and relaxing. The manager of the resort was very attentive to our every need and the surf instructor, Emir, was extremely helpful and drove us to a variety of local beaches during our stay. Deniz, the bartender was a great host during our stay. If you are looking to get a glimpse into a different world while visiting some of the best beaches on the planet, Punta Teonoste is a great choice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just got back after a 5 night, 6 day stay with three childhood friends. The 4 of us had an amazing stay. The key is to book all inclusive. The food can get expensive on an individual basis. The all - in allows you to order to your hearts content. Also know your earth geograpgy when ordering. The steaks are OK, but the ceviche (house speciality) was delicious. The snapper, grilled sea bass and catch of the days grilled or thrown with tomotate and pasta hit the spot. stay fish - chocolate crepes for desert , best thing on menu

For breakfest we started every morning with a fresh fruit salad for the table. we also had fresh fruit smoothies, yum + fantastic way to start your day. I got the omelette most mornings but don't sleep on the cinammon french toast.

The all-in food is key. Also vital is a surf package. we did the beg. And because of this had our very own driver for the entirety of our stay, emir (u da man!). 3 out of 4 had never surfed. And every morning we hit a new, incredible beach. They were private, holes in the wall, free from life itself ! And even if your can't surf which we couldn't, get some lessons, and even if you can't get up, cruise a few waves in on your belly or knee's. You have to enjoy the waves, and the numerous beaches ensure you'll find easy ones to glide on.

The all inclusive includes airport transporatation - u don't want to rent your own vehicle. remeber this is a 3rd world country, why do that to yourself? The drive was great. some of the reviews are negative only because they made the wrong decisions, this isn't a do it yourself type of thing. The drive from Managua to Punta was wonderful. We stopped for an outdoor latrine half way there, and monkee's threw mango's at us. Ah doom! It was fantastic.

The stars, and views from the lobby bar of the gigantic sunset's are worth it in spades. We had a villa, another key when booking. There were three beds upstairs and one queen down. Our pad even had a name, Cilantro. I got so drunk the first night, I left dinner, and got lost, I ended up in the bosses (Roberto :!) bed in his villa. They sent a search party and were wicked nice about it when I was finally discovered. One of my patriots in his bed upstairs encountered some bites the first night and we simply doubled up on the queen and stayed away from that net for the rest of the time. The last night I fell asleep outside on the hammock my alarm clock was the sunrise. It was special.

There is no TV, and the shower water does not get hot, remember your on the equator, just shower when there is still light, it's luke warm, not cold and feels so great. Shower and air dry, the breezes are guranteed. There is also no dance performances or room serivice - this is a trip opposite of the lame cruise crowd.

The horses and fishing trips I'd stay away from unless you are an accomplished rider and have the stomch to go after big snapper in deep, rough waters. Me and my buddy puked our faces off, we were not ready. However the afternoon soon flipped when our man and guide (Dennis, holla!) rallied us to a near by fisherman's bar right up the dirt road. we hit the juke box, mixed with the locals and danced baby! It was if I may say, legendary.

We also hit some more "gringo" spots, we absolutely loved the fact English was rarely spoke at our resort. Americans are easy to find, the driver again is key. The hotel magnifico was perhaps one of the best day drinking spots on earth. it was great to have a schedule, and such a proper place to return to. I can see from the reviews this spot might not be for everyone however we found it to be a one of a kind spot to be return to. Big shout's to Roberto, Denis, Emir - also watching the baby sea turltes hatch and race to the water for the first time was cool - we bet on them made it fun.

throw caution into the wind and have a stay to remember

Carl E Easton aka Charlie Paradise PS: massage was money + go the thermal springs at night :) - hit a local bar and play the juke box

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Spa

Address: Del Puente las Salinas 7 km hacia el Astillero, Tola 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punta Teonoste Nature Lodges & Beach Spa is an exclusive boutique property located on the southwestern coast of Nicaragua known as the Pacific Riviera.Our spectacular beachfront setting is nestled amidst the quaint, authentic fishing village of El Astillero and Popoyo, Nicaragua’s premier surf break.It is a secluded destination where travelers can experience the beauty of the area, the sounds, the breezes, the wildlife, the local culture and people; all without distraction of the stimuli that has become familiar in daily life.Recognized as one of only four properties in Nicaragua verified by the Rainforest Alliance, our ecological concept resists conventional lodging without compromising comfort and modern convenience.Punta Teonoste remains committed to creating and maintaining an attractive and responsible environment while also preserving the natural beauty of future generations.The chic design merges contemporary elements while respecting and embracing the surrounding nature. The public areas and bungalows also featurelocal art and design influences with some surprising subtle touches of select works representing Nicaragua, Honduras, Panama, Guatemala, Brasil, and Ghana. The result of this synergy and style is a sophisticated destination offering exceptional comfort and relaxation along with a touch of adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Hotel Tola
Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge And Beach Spa
Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Spa Nicaragua/Tola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.