We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Popoyo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Popoyo
Save
You added Hotel Popoyo to your Saves list
Calle del Toro 29 | Playa Guasacate, Tola, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Tola B&B and Inns
Leon, Nicaragua
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just stayed at Hotel Popoyo this weekend. Have stayed a few times. The staff are always helpful. The rooms always clean. This weekend was very quiet as its low season. Perfect place to hang around the pool. Definitely my favorite place to stay in Popoyo!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Popoyo for six nights in June.Had a fantastic stay there,the owner Maximo was extremely helpful before I arrived and during my stay,the staff are friendly the rooms are great the food is very good,nice pool and the beach is 100 metres away, great for surfing or swimming,lots of good surfing spots within a short distance from the hotel.I had a 4x4 vehicle so was easy to get around but I met lots of people who were travelling on the buses so no problem getting around.Would definately recommend Hotel Popoyo for a stay while in this part of Nicaragua.Steve, Australia

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We found Popoyo on a map after several days in SJDS and decided we needed to check it out. We didn't have any information on the area or hotels though. It is very remote to get to on dirt roads and several buses but worth the adventure.
After checking all the hotels (only a handful to choice from). We settled on Hotel Popoyo and were not disappointed. This is an amazing value and the nicest hotel in the area. There were 4 of us and we got 2 private rooms that included breakfast, hot water, a/c and wifi. The breakfast was very good.
The staff are all very friendly and some speak english.
It is a 1-2 minute walk to the beach just across the road.
We really enjoyed our 3 nights here and wished we had more time to spend here.
It is a great place to relax and chill.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Place could not have been better. The customer service was excellent. From the communication 6 months prior to the arrival of our group of 8 people to the services we received by the entire staff once we were there. They were able to help with everything from arranging surf boards to boat trips. Price is very reasonable and the drinks/food were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Such a cute hidden gem. Booked this last minute and my only regret was not being able stay more nights. The price was very reasonable for what we were getting ($80). I just recently had the pleasure of staying at a Motel 6 in Baltimore out of desperation for the same price and let me tell you...in comparison Hotel Popoyo was the 4 Seasons in comparison. This is coming from an American. The room was basic and worked just fine. The only downside is that I am 5'11" and I couldn't stretch out on the bed on my back. Not really a big deal.
The location is remote. The beach is beautiful. Aside from a few food stands, hostels and a pizza place this was the only food option close by. 2 hour drive down dirt roads from San Juan Del Sur, 1 1/2 hours from Granada. If you are looking to wind down, read, get some sun, surf and get back to the basics, this place is your gem. As a reference point, I stayed at Pelican Eyes in SJDS, and I would gladly pick the service, pleasant accomodating staff, and good food at Hotel Popoyo.
One last note, we only had time to eat breakfast. Eggs Ranchero was pretty darn amazing.
Please go here, patron these lovely people!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great hotel, perfectly prepared for surf lovers, and the most suitable in the area for couples and families. Service specially nica and proffesional. Restaurante el Toro is always a good option, staying here or rest of accomodations in Popoyo

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed here with some other surfers in June 2012. Everything about here was great, the food, the distance to the beach (1 minutes walk), the pool area with hammocks, the lovely clean rooms. The price is pretty good, $18 a night if you are sharing and $40 for a single room. A special mention for Bexy (spelling?), and the rest of the staff who are friendly, informal and helped us with loads of things like organising a boat trip and a local guy to accompany the guys back to the airport in their rental car (getting to and from Popoyo is pretty difficult). There isnt a huge selection of places to stay in Popoyo but this is probably the nicest place. I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Popoyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Popoyo

Address: Calle del Toro 29 | Playa Guasacate, Tola, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Popoyo is the ideal place to enjoy your surf vacations in Nicaragua, with friends, your loved one, or family. We are a small beach resort, where the guest experience is the most important thing. Enjoy a peaceful vacation while having access to the best waves and sunsets that Nicaragua has to offer! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Popoyo Nicaragua/Tola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Popoyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.