We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jeckyll and Hyde” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domina Coral Bay Sicilia Zagarella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Domina Coral Bay Sicilia Zagarella to your Saves list
Domina Coral Bay Sicilia Zagarella
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale s.s.113, 77, 90017 Santa Flavia, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Santa Flavia
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Jeckyll and Hyde”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a bit of a J&H hotel. On the coast side, the location is wonderful, with fabulous views across Portocello Bay to the fishing village, three great pools, and the sea (though it is 100 steps from the bottom, biggest, pool back up to the hotel). Sitting under the awning by the bar sipping an iced G&T (expensive at 9 euros each, but worth it) the experience was magical looking out over the bay. BUT on the land side, the busy road is lined with litter and terrible smells, the traffic hurtles along the road, and there are only short lengths of footway. There is a restaurant more or less across the road, and another 300m away, but you take your life in your hands to reach either. Mind you, the municipal cemetery is conveniently located just alongside!
Our room was bright red (very!) and clean, with a nice bathroom except for the sliding glass door, which might as well not have been there for all the good it did. Breakfasts were basic and repetitive.
It is a large hotel, and we preferred the rooms which did not overlook the pool as they were quieter. The levels don't work very well. In addition to the 100 external steps down to the main pool, there are odd steps here and there within the building, especially at the approach to the lifts This did not matter to us, but would be a problem to anybody with mobility restrictions. There is one glass-framed staircase tower on the route to the pools which has no access except at the ground floor, where the door is locked - very peculiar.
The main pool is 2m deep at the shallow end - quite surprising if you jump in expecting it to be waist deep and possibly a problem for families.
However, we enjoyed our stay once we got used to the oddities of the place.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view are also noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    217
    147
    64
    42
See reviews for
193
207
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in thus hotel 3 nights. The staff are not tiring their best to help and give basic service.
The rooms are nice BUT the door of the bathroom is not hermetic and therefore the other person can hear or smell everything....
The breakfast and dinner were poor and unattractive.
The internet is free BUT you have to use the passport that is given every day at the reception and the connection is very poor!

I won't stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The hotel is fantastic. Very cool design and decor. Wonderful pools and beachside area. The restaurant by the beach is a must do. Four days of lazing under an umbrella by the beach and swimming in crystal clear water with the fish. I wouldn't hesitate to book again. Note it is actually about 45 mins drive from Palermo - much less expensive to book a hotel transfer from the airport.

Room Tip: book a room overlooking the sea or you'll end up overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked on a lucky dip' basis with a local tour company so we knew we were going to a 4 star hotel but not where. This was certainly a great value for money choice and we had a lovely, relaxing week with really great weather. Plus points: the setting was great, the hotel had a quirky modern decor with black and white images of fifties and sixties film stars everywhere and was spotlessly clean. The lower saltwater pool was fab, the lower poolside restaurant was a favourite and we ate there most days at lunchtime but ate out every night. Downsides: the road outside was lethal and you took your life into your hands walking down it to get to Porticello or Santa Flavia for dinner or to the railway station. It was also littered with rubbish - abandoned mattresses, cigarette packs and butts everywhere. The poolside rooms would be noisy but we had one at the back and it was completely fine. The breakfast was the same every day and quite boring but it was adequate.

The nearest large town was the capital, Palermo, and we took a day trip there and to the Cathedral in Monreale which was really interesting and worthwhile. However, Sicily is a big island with terrible roads and even more terrible drivers so we declined a 3 hour bus ride to Mt Etna and other sights on the other side of the island. Hire a car with caution!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are very noisy, go for one at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

As mentioned in previous reviews you cannot fault the cleanliness oft this hotel and the views but after that it falls down Big time. Firstly the location of the hotel is off the beaten track and not very safe to walk out as no pavements and the road is busy with traffic and very unkempt with rubbish everywhere. The restaurant is the biggest let down of this hotel, the food was always cold, repetitive and it was more like a canteen than a restaurant total chaos. They charge 26e for a meal, you can eat out for half that price. Hot water urn not hot enough for tea and queues trying to get a coffee. 1 loaf of bread at a time and food re heated by the egg man.The staff in the restaurant are indifferent and not helpful and will even ignore you. Not a good experience and this goes for breakfast and dinner. Eat out if possible, I have had better service and food in a 2 star hotel. The reception staff are friendly and helpful as were the bar staff but the rest are a lot to be desired. There is 1 bell boy and he was usually busy so guests have to take their own luggage to their rooms, although there are ramps this is not acceptable. there is a small shop in the hotel but very expensive with little choice so make sure you take the essentials. Buy your water out as so expensive in the hotel. Also keep a close eye on your tabs, keep all receipts as several guests spoke of bumping up the charges and being charged for items from the mini bar they didn't have. If you have mobility problems this is not the place for you as you cannot access the lower pool and beach, which bye the way is just rocks and very slippery to get down the steps into the sea. There is a ramp which goes down to lower pools but very steep. Be careful if booking a room with a sea view as these tend to overlook the pool area and can be very noisy with music during the day and at night so if you are a light sleeper not recommended. DO NOT book to go late Sept as everything winds down. Pool bar cafe with light snacks closed, no animation team, no kids club, no entertainment at night and skeletal staff so at night there is nothing to do in the hotel other than have a drink at the bar, drinks expensive 9euros for a vodka and coke. Not looking good is it!!!!!!!. Despite talking to the hotel about all of these issues nothing was done and they do not appear to have the guests interests at heart. Out and about, there are taxis outside the hotel but make sure you negotiate a price, taxis are charged per person and they will take and pick up, just get the restaurant or wherever you are to call them, driver will give you his card. You cannot flag down taxis in Santa Flavia. Use the trains, about a 20min walk from the hotel they are easy to use and very cheap and reliable. Always remember to validate your ticket on the machine as you go onto the platform otherwise there is a fine if not validated. Tickets are one way. Be aware that many places close from 1pm - 4pm even historical buildings.There are a few places to eat out so just ask reception staff. Club 113 and La Rotunda are good places to eat out and reasonable in price approx 5mins in a taxi. I personally would not recommend this hotel but if you do go hope you have a good time.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the pool as noisy. Not all rooms have baths so you have to ask. Alll roooms are on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagarella, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Domina Coral Bay Sicilia Zagarella, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Madame,

we would like to thank You very much for informing us about the inconvenience You suffered during Your stay. Our guests' feedback is very important to improve the level of our service.
We apologize for the inconvenience and particularly for the fact that our staff was not able to properly understand Your needs. Regarding our breakfast, like with many exclusive hotels, hot dishes are offered à la carte and prepared upon request in addition to the cold buffet.
I have already shared Your comments with the head department in order to avoid such situation in the future but I would like also to assure You that the feedback of our clients has already been positive.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome You again to the Domina Coral Bay Sicilia and to show You the level of our service.
Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel itself is lovely: modern, clean and with fabulous views. However, as a single meeting up with a group on arrival, there were more cons than pros. For example:
* Although the upper pool area is lovely, the lower (saltwater) pool is a long way down several flights of steps or a long winding path, which means a long way back up again.
* We arrived end Sept/beg Oct and all the entertainment and sports staff had gone. There was very little to do. It didn't bother me personally as I went for a rest but a lot of guests were disappointed. The lower poolside restaurant had also closed. The upper bar area served only a few cakes and very limited snacks.
* The staff spoke almost no English (and no other languages either) and were routinely unhelpful. They tended to serve Italians first, and men before women - infuriating.
* The hotel is completely isolated. There are no local shops or tavernas. The nearest village ( and railway station) is a good 20-minute walk away, which is fine if you're fit and wearing casual clothes. There is no local transport and the hotel taxi runs a monopoly, charging per person not per journey. This complete isolation really means that in many ways this hotel is a bit useless.

Room Tip: I insisted on a bath as well as a shower and got a room with a double bed; other guests only had sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Cutting-edge architecture and design with great bay views. Staff mainly friendly and efficient - though much depends on the shift on duty. Breakfasts were a boring disappointment, with two DIY coffee machines, but only one working. Drinks expensive compared to the rest of the locality, but the main drawback is the rubbish. By the end of our stay most of the guests had count-the-matresses competitions, totting up the number of them they'd spotted abandoned on the roadsides nearby. Want to holiday in a dump? This is where to go.

Room Tip: Avoid pool room views - the music never stops
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagarella, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Domina Coral Bay Sicilia Zagarella, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Madame

We appreciate Your constructive comments. Rest assured that since our opening we have been focused on delivering the best customer service possible and up until now our feedback has always been positive. Regarding our staff I can assure that all the receptionists speak English and others even French, Spanish German, or Russian.
We assure that we constantly keep under control the maintenance of our hotel e we try to attend promptly in order to solve all the problems that we have to face. Unfortunately we can’t control the town’s public administration, but we know that they are working to keep streets more clean.
We truly hope that this inconvenience did not completely spoil Your stay and look forward to welcoming You back.
.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domina Coral Bay Sicilia Zagarella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domina Coral Bay Sicilia Zagarella

Address: Via Nazionale s.s.113, 77, 90017 Santa Flavia, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Santa Flavia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Santa Flavia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Domina Coral Bay Sicilia Zagarella 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domina is proud to present a four-star superior hotel Domina Coral Bay Sicilia Zagarella. The marvelous natural environment of the Porticello Gulf Coast makes this hotel fantastic holiday destination. The hotel is right on the sea front and it’s just a few kilometres away from Palermo. Most of the hotel services and the greater part of the rooms are situated in the hotel main building. There are two restaurants, the Wine Club, the Bar N°5, a fitness room and outdoor swimming-pools on the premises.The decorative bridge over the central swimming-pool leads to the terrace, from which You can enjoy a fascinating view of the Mediterranean Sea.Furthermore, the hotel offers indipendent sea view mini-villas, which look like a real fishing village surrounded by an ages-old park, an ideal place for a romantic coastal walk. Ready to meet the needs of the most demanding clients, the hotel offers a complete range of four-star superior hotel services, including a watersports center, a scuba diving school, multipurpose sports fields and sunbathing terraces.Moreover, the Domina Coral Bay Sicilia Zagarella is the perfect choice as the venue for your event, meeting or conference, able to accommodate up to 900 guests, thanks to its spacious exhibition areas and a new conference centre divisible into several meeting rooms equipped with the most up-to-date technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Domina Coral Bay Sicilia Zagarella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Home Zagarella Hotel Santa Flavia
Hotel Zagarella Sea Palace
Zagarella Sea Palace Hotel
Domina Coral Bay Sicilia Zagarella Sicily/Santa Flavia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domina Coral Bay Sicilia Zagarella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.