We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for divers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lembeh Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lembeh Resort to your Saves list
Lembeh Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 117, Bitung 95500, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bitung
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect for divers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Lembeh resort is a great place for divers to stay.
The resort is very confortable, with a good tasty food and the dive staff is very helpfull, taking care of your equipment or in the dive sites finding plenty of critters with their eagle eyes.

I recommend it for everyone that will stay a few days in Lembeh strait!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaFonsecaLR, Public Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Warm Greetings from Lembeh Resort!! Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are very happy to hear that you consider the resort comfortable and the food tasty.
We are also pleased to know that you found the dive staff helpful and good spotters. They do have great eyes and they work had to meet the guests expectations.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards from everyone at Critters@Lembeh and Lembeh Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    34
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
158
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

My partner and our 17 year old daughter went through North Sulawesi and then to lembeh resort for 6 days. The resort itself has all the luxuries - which we hadn't experienced in other dive resorts. Pool, cocktails, massages. The photographic facilities were excellent and shop had the essentials at reasonable prices. The food was great!
The diving - very interesting and not what we had experienced before. It was more like an underwater treasure hunt. Amazing guides!!!!! Amazing creatures. The diving was not rushed and the guides and others were exceptionally helpful. Overall - fantastic.
Lex

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaFonsecaLR, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Greetings from Lembeh Resort!! Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review!
We are so pleased to hear that you and your family had a fantastic experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and amenities!
Its also a pleasure to know you enjoy the critters and the unique dives Lembeh has to offer. Critters@Lembeh has indeed a great dive team, we all want you to enjoy your dive holidays free of stress ☺
We look forward to welcome you and your lovely family back. Warm wishes from everyone at Lembeh Resort and Critters@Lembeh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The accommodation/food is very good, the staff exceptionally kind and doing all possible to exceed your expectations during the stay. Food is excellent too.
The dive center is probably the best I've dived with! The guides (esp. Jhoe!) know their job, know the places where to find the critters, do all possible to find the ones you've not seen, know the creatures, dig out the muck / rocks / fans to show them to you, write down each seen critter on a plate... + care about your dive and your equipment. What else do you need?
For the photo geeks, there is a dedicated Lab with many facilities for your equipment.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with seaview to enjoy the beauty of the location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaFonsecaLR, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Warm Greetings from Lembeh Resort. We would like to thank you for your return visit and also for taking the time to write this review about your stay.

We are very happy to know that you consider our staff exceptionally kind, we are very proud to have such a nice team of people. We are also pleased to hear you ejnoy our food and accommodation.

Critters@Lembeh has indeed an amazing and experienced team that aims to offer a resort-based 'live aboard' dive experience - you just turn up, get in your wetsuit and dive. We will take care of the rest! We are very happy that you had a positive experience with your dive guide and we have passed on your kind comments to him! Our Marine Biologist tests the dive guides regularly and they take great pride, not only, in finding the critters but also in memorizing the names and pass that information (on a slate) to the guests.

Thank you again for the review! We all look forward to welcome you back to Lembeh Resort soon ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My cousin and I were visiting Lembeh for 4 days to do a photo shoot and travel article for X-Ray Magazine.
From the moment the boat drifted into the the little inlet at the resort I knew our time here was going to be special. The grounds are lush and extremely well manicured; the rooms are fresh, clean and beautifully appointed; the reception area is welcoming and the dining hall that overlooks the pool and the mountains to the west is stunning; the spa is quiet and lovely with wonderful offerings (especially the after dive massages); the staff is friendly and attentive without being fake or unctious.
Almost everything you could ask for is provided here: personalized lockers for your gear to hang and dry each night, a fully stocked dive shop, a camera room with room for more than 20 photographers and their massive and insanely bulky gear (each station has shelves and several chargers as well as towels and hanging racks), a fully equipped photo center with a professional photographer on staff who can fix anything, answer almost any question and even make you replacement parts on site with his mind-boggling 3-D printer (WTF?!?! - what is that thing?!? - ask him to show you it will blow you away!).
The rooms are comfy with soft beds and - ahhhh- air conditioning. My favorite amenity was the partially uncovered bathroom that allows you to take a hot bath after diving under the stars - nice touch!
The food here is fantastic and the managers Miguel and Ana are lovely, lovely people and will make your stay exactly what you want it to be.
Oh yes, and there is also world class muck diving and simply the best guides in the universe. Seriously, I don't understand how they find three-quarters of the things they see under there - amazing.
In short - you will NOT find a better place to stay and dive in this area than Lembeh Resort. Period.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaFonsecaLR, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Greetings from Lembeh Resort!! Firstly thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your extremely kind comments about your stay at Lembeh Resort.
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed the grounds and found the accommodation and food to be to your liking as well. We are also happy to know you enjoyed the open bathroom.
Thank you for the comments regarding our staff, we do have great resort and dive staff teams that genuinely care about the guests.
We are also happy to hear that you liked the world-class muck diving Lembeh Strait has to offer and our dive center and its facilities. Critters@Lembeh has a great dive team with immense experience, the guides work hard to help you tick off as many critters of your wish list as possible. We try to make sure every need is taken care of and that is why we invested in a good camera room and photo pro service , it is a fantastic resource available for a wide range of services whether it be a photography course, help with camera equipment or just some simple tip on technique.
Thank you again for recommending us. We hope to welcome you both back in the near future☺ Best regards from everyone at Lembeh Resort and Critters@Lembeh!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just spent a wonderful week at Lembeh Resort and want to share our recommendation with the interested community. We found beautiful accomodation, a perfect view from our terrace that it would have been hard to leave it - had it not been for the amazing critters to gaze at underwater, very friendly and cheerful people both with the hotel and the dive centre, very knowledgable diveguides (and amazing scouts) and, in all this professional diving environment, such a child- friendly atmosphere. Although our daughter was for most of the time the only child in the resort, she was never bored or fed up. People went out of their way to accomodate her wishes and make her feel happy. and this means, it was a truly relaxing holiday for us. Thank you, especially to Ana and Miguel, but also to everybody else!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaFonsecaLR, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Warm greetings from Lembeh Resort!! Thank you for taking the time to write this review!
We are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation and the perfect view from the terrace. Critters@Lembeh does have very knowledgeable dive guides with amazing eyes, its good to know you saw amazing critters with them :)
We are very happy to hear that your daughter had a good time too and did not get bored, all the staff loves children and it was fun to have her at the resort.
Thank you once again for sharing your opinion. We all hope to welcome you and your family in the near future.
Kind regards from everyone at Lembeh Resort and Critters@Lembeh,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Critter diving, hum! As a confirmed wide angle big fish, wreck addict what am I doing I was asking myself, was it the smooth tongue of Danny at DEMA or some other strange force that was at work.
Well I am writing this after 11 amazing days of critter diving. and a slightly embarrassed convert. I have done the occasional day of critter diving before on live aboard trips but what I saw here was nothing short of unbelievable, what is rarely seen elsewhere was seen here on a regular basis, incredible.
The diving is about as stress free and easy as is possible, maximum 24 metres and little or no current.
The guides are great and have the eyes of a hawk, spotting things every few minutes but giving everyone a chance to get a photo or three, or video. The dive schedule is three dives a day with options to night, mandarin fish or house reef dive for the dive tragic.
Steve Fish was the resident photo pro who knowledge was just amazing, he runs the best photo pro service I have ever seen.
The dive shop staff were very engaging and extremely helpful.
The accommodation was clean and spacious with great views from the deluxe rooms. I would definitely recommend coming here and we will be back again.
This is a must see even for the dyed in the wool big fish addict.
Try it and I am sure you will like it!

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe 4A or 4B, great views few stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaFonsecaLR, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Greetings from Lembeh Resort!! Thank you very much for taking the time to writte this review.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the diving with Critters@Lembeh, its great to know we may have converted a big fish and wreck addict. Its good to hear you appreciated the dive staff and the spotting capabilities of our guides, they are all very experienced and used to work with photographers/videographers, they also take great pride in working as hard as possible to make sure that our guests leave with as many critters as possible ticked off their wish list!
We are also happy to hear that you liked our photo pro service , it is a fantastic resource available for a wide range of services whether it be a photography course, help with camera equipment or just some simple tip on technique. Steve Fish is indeed knowledgeable and professional and together with Sasha Janson they run a great photo Center.
We are also glad to know that you enjoyed the view from our clean and spacious deluxe cottages.
Thank you for recommending us, we are looking forward to welcome you back. Warm regards from everyone at Critters@Lembeh and Lembeh Resort!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We did underwater photography workshop at Lembeh Resort. Everything was perfect. Each activity (like diving, phptgraphy, dining ) is skillfully isolated from each other although they are all together.
The staff is friendly and always similing. Dive guides are perfect with their knowledge and ability to find any creature. I saw their excitement on their eyes as much as I do. They care the underwater life.
The resort is well equipped to meet all expectations to have a workshop.
It was my first trip to Lembeh. It was a great experience.
And I hope it will not be the last one.
Special thanks to all staff especially to dive guides: Fandy, Agus, Iwan

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaFonsecaLR, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Warm greetings from Lembeh Resort!! Thank you tor taking the time to write this review about your recent stay with us.
We are happy you enjoyed the diving the UW photos and the dining. We are also very happy you liked our staff, we are very lucky to have such a great team.
We are also happy you enjoyed your dives, the dive guides from Critters@Lembeh are very experience and enthusiastic, they take great pride in working as hard as possible to make sure that our guests leave with as many critters as possible ticked off their wish list! We will pass your special thanks to all the dive guides you mentioned.
We are happy to know that you find our resort well equipped to have a photo workshop, having a dedicate photo pro and photo center is a fantastic resource available for a wide range of services whether it be a photography course, help with camera equipment or just some simple tips on technique.
We look forward to welcome you back. Best regards from everyone at Lembeh Resort and Critters@Lembeh!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lembeh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lembeh Resort

Address: Box 117, Bitung 95500, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bitung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lembeh Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique style resort tucked into a quiet cove on Lembeh Island and the resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens. Our location means that we are only 5-20 minutes away from the majority of the amazing dive sites in the Lembeh Strait - often known as the Muck Diving Capital of the world! All our guest cottages include 24 hour electricity, en-suite bathroom with hot water, air-conditioning, king-size bed or twin beds, wardrobe, table and chair, dispenser for cold as well as hot drinking water, complimentary tea & coffee, mini-bar and electronic safe. Sitting on your verandah, you can enjoy beautiful sunsets nearly every day over the stunning North Sulawesi scenery. At any time of the day you can relax around our fresh water swimming pool and from the afternoon onwards you can visit out Spa where you can relax after a hard day of diving with a nice massage and also run a variety of land based excursions as well.We have 12 full time dive guides on staff, with more than 65,000 combined dives in Lembeh alone. We have very small group ratios, with a maximum of 4 divers to 1 guide. We have a full time Marine Biologist on staff, who assists our guests in identifying all the weird and wonderful critters of Lembeh Strait. We also have the only full time photo/video pro in the Lembeh Strait who teaches a variety of photo and video courses if you are interested in photography. He also has a large collection of rental gear, including point and shoot systems, DSLR systems, and HD video cameras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Lembeh Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lembeh Resort Bitung, Indonesia - Sulawesi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lembeh Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.