We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lembeh Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lembeh Resort to your Saves list
Lembeh Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 117, Bitung 95500, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bitung
Ginowan, Japan
1 review
“Just amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for 12 days and can not wait to go back. Everything was taken care of for you. From the staff to the food, every bit was with it and I will always remember it. I may have spoiled myself to much.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenGomez, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hello from Lembeh Resort.

Thank you for this review about your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and can not wait to come back! We look forward to welcoming you back again.

We are happy that everything from the food to the staff was to you liking - we aim to please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    35
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
160
50
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

A premier resort for the muck diving capital of the world. The bungalows were very clean, spacious, and comfortable. I especially like the unique outdoor shower in the bathroom. The service is excellent; the staff friendly, and the fool delicious with plenty of variety.

Oh, yes, the dive guides are superb in finding unique critters at a distance that require magnifying glasses for us mere mortals.

I highly recommend this place for great accommodations and diving.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenGomez, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Good Afternoon from Lembeh Resort.

Thank you for this review about your recent stay with us.

We are happy that you were pleased with the room and that you enjoyed the freedom of the outdoor shower!! We feel our team is such a large part of what makes Lembeh Resort what it is today and it pleases us immensely that you appreciated our staff's friendliness and professionalism.

With over 65,000 dives it is no surprise the guides are so experts at finding the critters :-) We are happy you appreciate their skills!

We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

staying in Lembeh dive resort was a very good stay and we have enjoy it a lot
good rooms, good food friendly people and last but not least very good guide's
we hope to go back the next year
Diving at Lembeh is alway's a adventure to see other anymals never seen before
for filmers and photographers it's a paradise

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenGomez, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Good Afternoon! Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay with us at Lembeh Resort.

We are very pleased that you had a good time staying with us and that you enjoyed everything from the room to the staff and especially the diving.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Lembeh Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, Alaska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We only stayed two days at Lembeh, but were very impressed with everything. The food was delicious, with great variety and imagination. The room was large, clean, cool, and a nice stair hike up from the beach. All the staff were friendly and helpful, both at the resort and the dive shop. We saw lots of crazy critters with the dive masters spotting things that I never would have seen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenGomez, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hello from Lembeh Resort! Thank you for this review.

We have very happy that even though you only stayed with us a short time you still thoroughly enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your kind comments with regards to the food - we try to offer a nice variety to our guests to give them a flavour of North Sulawesi cuisine - and also about all of the staff - we are lucky to have such a great team.

The diving is something special in Lembeh and we are happy that your guide helped you to see as much as possible in a short time!!

We hope to welcome you back another time but for longer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at Lembeh resort from November 17-24. This was our first trip to Indonesia. We made an excellent choice.

From the time we arrived at the Manado airport after a thirty-hour journey until the time we said farewell for our onward leg to Bali we were treated to excellent service and outstanding diving. The staff of Lembeh resort is the most genuinely friendly anyone could come across. They truly like their work and go to extra lengths to make the guests feel most welcome. If you cannot relax here, you cannot relax anywhere. We stayed in one of the “older” cottages with a view of the pool and the rest of the resort. The room was spacious and well kept in all regards. The facilities, including the restaurant, spa, photo shop and dive shop are well staffed.

As for the diving, well everything we heard about muck diving was true. The dive guides and boat crew know where the critters live and are experts at finding them. Diving was easy. After setting up our gear for the first time we did not need to touch it until it was time to pack for departure. The photo pro has trained all of the dive guides, so they understand what photographers are looking for. This is an added plus.

Without question we would put Lembeh Resort as our first choice should we have the opportunity to travel to Indonesia again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenGomez, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Good Afternoon from Lembeh Resort. We hope that you are well.

We would like to thank you for this review about your recent stay with us at Lembeh Resort.

We are so happy that we were your first choice of places to stay on your first visit to Indonesia! We aim to make our guests feel as welcome as possible from the moment they arrive until the moment they leave and we are pleased that you felt like our staff were some of the most genuinely friendly you have come across , we are proud to work with such a great team!

We are also very pleased that you found the dive experience matched that of the resort experience. Our guides have 50,000 plus dives between them and so are really expert 'critter finders' and we are pleased that you found their photography training had come in handy when understanding what photographers really want. We do aim to give people as relaxing an experience as possible and know that the little things, such as taking great care of your equipment can make all the difference!

We really hope to welcome you back to Lembeh Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This resort has it all-great dives, awesome critters, excellent rooms and unbelievable service!

The diving was wonderful, with 12 frogfish, 8 sea horses and all kinds of unusual stuff. The guide Oxin was great, very knowledgeable and informative. The boats were perfect size, with dive sites less than 15 minutes away.

The rooms were large and very well appointed. Beautiful views and very picturesque, the outdoor showers were great.

The food was wonderful, with several selections each meal. Only wish they had a pizza choice on the nights you want to be simple.

The resort is very well laid out and thought out for the underwater photographer or video fanatic.

To sum up the review, the best vacation we have ever taken!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenGomez, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello from warm and sunny Lembeh! Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay with us at Lembeh Resort.

We are happy that you felt like the Resort has it all - excellent rooms and unbelievable service! We are very lucky to have such a wonderful team who are experts at giving excellent service - they are the ones what makes Lembeh Resort what it is! Thank you for your comments with regards to the food and we will take note on the pizza menu idea in addition to the normal menu for evening meals.

The diving in Lembeh is pretty unique and amazing and we are happy that you got to see lots of the critters from your wish-list. We are glad that you found your dive guide to be great as well as very knowledgeable and informative. We will ensure that this feedback is given to him.

We are so pleased that we were able to help you have such an enjoyable time and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lembeh Resort again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We visited LR in October and had THE best time- lots of critters for excellent macro photograpy, amazing resort staff/cooks and knowledgable dive guides, beautiful pool with view of Lembeh, clean spacious rooms....LR went above and beyond our expectations. The food was delicious! We are vegetarian/vegan and they always had something tasty for us. The soups and curry dishes were yummy. Dive staff were great- they wrote the name of each critter we saw down so you know what you saw. Our room was a cliff side villa on "Mount Lembeh" and it was modern with a beautiful view. The room had a big jugs of water that can heat and cool water on demand, which was perfect for a coffee on the patio or an afternoon tea- cuts down on waste from thousands of plastic water bottles. They also have a big photo room for your underwater camera- We can't wait to go back! Thank you for everything-

Room Tip: We LOVED the cliff side villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenGomez, Guest Relations Manager at Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello from Lembeh Resort! Thank you for this review about your stay with us earlier this year.

We are extremely happy that you had such an enjoyable time with us and found everything from the dive guides to the food to the rooms to the staff to be to your liking! We also try our hardest to accommodate our guests dietary requirements and are our chefs were extremely happy that you enjoyed their efforts so much!

As we welcome many underwater photographers to Lembeh Resort and so it was natural progression to have a purpose built camera room, where you can store and fiddle with your camera without having to take it back to your room.

Thank you again for all of your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lembeh Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lembeh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lembeh Resort

Address: Box 117, Bitung 95500, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bitung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lembeh Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique style resort tucked into a quiet cove on Lembeh Island and the resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens. Our location means that we are only 5-20 minutes away from the majority of the amazing dive sites in the Lembeh Strait - often known as the Muck Diving Capital of the world! All our guest cottages include 24 hour electricity, en-suite bathroom with hot water, air-conditioning, king-size bed or twin beds, wardrobe, table and chair, dispenser for cold as well as hot drinking water, complimentary tea & coffee, mini-bar and electronic safe. Sitting on your verandah, you can enjoy beautiful sunsets nearly every day over the stunning North Sulawesi scenery. At any time of the day you can relax around our fresh water swimming pool and from the afternoon onwards you can visit out Spa where you can relax after a hard day of diving with a nice massage and also run a variety of land based excursions as well.We have 12 full time dive guides on staff, with more than 65,000 combined dives in Lembeh alone. We have very small group ratios, with a maximum of 4 divers to 1 guide. We have a full time Marine Biologist on staff, who assists our guests in identifying all the weird and wonderful critters of Lembeh Strait. We also have the only full time photo/video pro in the Lembeh Strait who teaches a variety of photo and video courses if you are interested in photography. He also has a large collection of rental gear, including point and shoot systems, DSLR systems, and HD video cameras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Lembeh Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lembeh Resort Bitung, Indonesia - Sulawesi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lembeh Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.