We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our fourth time diving in Lembeh, our first time at Kasawari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasawari Lembeh Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bitung
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kasawari Lembeh Resort
Kelurahan Makawidey Jaga 1 Lingkungan 1, Bitung 95528, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our fourth time diving in Lembeh, our first time at Kasawari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

But certainly not our last time here. The resort is small, intimate, well appointed and run by the legendary Nus Lobbu, THE dive guide for Lembeh back in 1998, our first time in the area. The food has western and Asian dishes (we stuck with the Asian), good prices for the local Bintang beer but BYOB otherwise. Diving was for "the critters" and Ali, our guide who also goes back to the earlier days of diving in Lembeh was an expert at finding them--they seem even smaller now, maybe thats my eyesight.

If you don't dive, don't go. If you have never been in Lembeh and particularly if you are a photographer, this is a must do destination (pack your macro lenses--wide angle will be unused weight in your luggage). This resort will fill all your needs--and they don't stint on dive time--we did 34 dives, three a day and the shortest was 70 minutes.

There have been "noise" comments, they were not a problem for us. Whatever sounds we heard were usually for less than an hour and not late into the night. The rooms are well built and any sounds were muted.

The staff, ranging from the check in, the housekeepers, the restaurant (who kept up with my endless demand for Mangosteens in the early part of the season) to the groundskeepers are just wonderful. Our next trip at Lembeh will be here at Kasawari.

Mike and Raynalda Bryant

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is supposedly a first rate resort but falls short of the mark. First, it is often noisy - and I mean unbearable from early in the morning - 5:30 AM to late at night. There are villages and dwellings on both sides of the resort - which is very small. Individuals and the villages play loud, amplified music at all hours.

There are two breakfasts. The first is before the first dive. This breakfast offers virtually nothing. Stale bread, colored water - aka juice, stale cereal. Just horrible. The second breakfast is ordered before you leave for your first dive and is better.

The diving is what you expect of Lembeh but... a shadow of what it was even five years ago. The cleaning of fishing nets, over diving, and increased population pressures have taken their toll

Room Tip: When the villages are playing music your only options are very high quality ear plugs and even then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just returned from a seven night stay,Garry just loved the diving and said it was some of the best he has done in the area,done quite a bit elsewhere same region.Dive guides were excellent camera room excellent and the Villa 1 was terrific, only a small resort and only half full while we were there, only fault we found was they had no bar facilities,they did have one but had no stock of anything much except beer etc,could not make any cocktails as they had no ingriedents,we missed the happy hour that you share with other divers at the end of the day,we are not drinkers much at all but did love to be able to have a cocktail at the end of the day.The pool I had to my self as a non diver and only a couple of steps away from the villa,so very nice,pool kept very clean,umbrella's could do with an update and a few signs warning you not to dive,as it is not a deep pool.As a non diver not much to do,so be prepared to sit around and swim or read. The food was very good quality although fruit should have been ready available at the early morning breakfast,just a bananna would be good,without having to ask staff to get one for you.as they had no orange juice apple juice became a bit sweet,paw paw is not for every one.We thought we would get a xmas day lunch provided but nothing special was done at all, not even any entertainment by staff,would have loved to here them do something for xmas day.They need ice cube trays as the ice machine is broken,staff were having to try to chop up blocks of ice to put in your drinks,a few ice cube trays would have gone down a treat.The staff were all very good indeed and most helpful if asked,they don't all understand english well so take it slow for them.Overall we had a very nice holiday and the diving was terrific for divers it's great.resort very nice setting.Be mindful loud music is played constantly by the two villages along side the resort,almost all the time, it did not worry us as we liked the music being played,but if you don't like loud music it could become an issue. Take some balloons and sweats for the village kids,they loved them.It was still a good holiday and the dive guides and wait staff and house keeping are all excellent.So just go.

Room Tip: if you have the money Villa 1 and villa 2 are the absolute best,but even the other units looked very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south san francisco
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at Kasawari Lembeh Resort for the last two weeks of a six-week dive trip. It was the perfect ending to our trip, making us regret going home. The most endearing element is the personal service. The famous Lembeh guides from many years ago, Nus and Ali, work here and they manage operations.

We dove with Nus and Ali on a live-aboard in 2006 and stayed at Kasawari for two weeks in April 2011. As manager of the dive operation, Ali makes sure that divers see what they come here for. He knows where to find everything. If he can’t find it, then I am at peace that it was not around. I feel a great deal of affection for him. Another dive guide, “Rusly,” is also excellent. My husband and I had him as a guide, everyday for two weeks.

They have two large, fast dive boats that come back to the resort after every dive. If you miss a dive because you overslept, then you can catch the next dive. You are not stuck on a boat for hours for a two-tank dive. If you request them, there is a Mandarin fish dive at 5 pm and a night dive at 6 pm.

A non-diving spouse would be comfortable reading on the deck or by the pool. If your spouse is a nervous diver, Ali or one of the guides will give them TLC and special hand-holding services.

What is interesting about Lembeh is that the creatures differ by the season. This October we saw 5 or 6 blue ring octopuses, even a pair mating. Last March we saw none. This year we saw no crocodile flatheads, last year we in March, we saw many.

We've stayed in Villa #1 and #2 which are slightly large than the regular bungalows, but all bungalows are nice. The air conditioning really works in getting your room cool. When we left it was raining, and we dried our wetsuits in front of our highly effective air conditioner.

We used our reasonably priced mini-bar. There is a phone in the room to call for room service, although the restaurant is not far away. The restaurant menu has some odd combinations but the menu can be adapted. For example, I requested an avocado and tomato salad, even though these salads are listed separately. I usually ordered fresh string beans instead, whenever French fries were the side dish. Just explain what you want, and they will do it.

All and all, Kasawari is a very pleasant place to visit. There is a large camera room and large camera rinse tanks. Two weeks is a comfortable time and is not too long. There are sufficient dive sites to fill two weeks. If you want to see tiger shrimp, boxer crabs, blue-ring octopus, devilfish, and all the other cool stuff, it is here. The staff is so nice that you will definitely regret going home, no matter how long you have been away.

Room Tip: There is a culture of load music in all the villages of Lembeh Straits. In December and around New Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Me and my friends were there on 22nd - 26th sept 2012 for diving and all of us are very appreciate with everything. Rooms are clean and luxury, Nice restaurant with good food. Green garden with infinite pool. There is a camera room that has all the facilities like blower, outlet for charger that enough for every guests. All dive leaders are friendly but very polite and very professional. The head of leader told us that " You come to relax, so we will take care the rest for you." That's very imprass us. Staffs are very nice with service mind. It' seem like they love to do their job not because it's just a job. The diving is supers, we saw a lot of the wonderful critters.

We will be back again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fantastic hotel, I absolutely had a wonderful time and really do not have much to add to the other reviews which loved this place. I was lucky to be with a dive tour group, so we had the whole resort to ourselves. I therefore did not have to worry about the problems with other guests that one of the other reviewers of this hotel discussed. For me, it was great diving, great underwater photography opportunities, great dive masters, a great camera room, great food and a great room (yes, I had one of the two villas overlooking the water--lucky again I guess). The reason anyone comes to this resort is for the muck diving, and it did not disappoint. The dive masters, Deddy and Hanni, were nothing short of awesome. Reviewing the photos I took, the best shots were the ones where Deddy told me what to do and even set the stage, from gently encouraging an orange frogfish to move next to an orange piece of coral to shaking the sand off a green piece of seaweed and setting it behind the yellow fish being photographed. The dive guides not only know how to find the critters, but they know how to photograph them as well.

Food was excellent as was the staff at the resort. Absolutely noting to complain about regarding the service or the accommodations.

My one concern arises from the efforts everyone at the resort makes to ensure the guests have a wonderful stay--sometimes it is necessary to play the bad guy. In this case, with regard to the preservation of the coral. There are no warnings given to guests about touching the coral, wearing gloves, giving up on trying to get a photo if you cannot do so without damaging the coral, etc. The message needs to go out, it needs to go out now and it needs to go out strongly. Allowing this sort of behavior by divers will ensure that the coral will not be around in the future, which would be the greatest disservice of all. I hope that not only Kasawari, but other dive operations in Lembeh can cooperate in protecting the coral so that future divers can have the kind of visit to Lembeh that I had.

Room Tip: Villas 1 and 2 are the best since these overlook the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Kasawari Lembeh Resort is a luxury resort for scuba divers looking to explore Lembeh's world renowned Muck Diving. If you don't like looking for small strangely shape creatures and are looking for clear waters with mantas and reef walls, this isn't the place for you.

Three things makes Kasawari are:

The Dive Masters - Kasawari employs two of Lembeh's four famous dive guides. They originally had three but one retired a few years ago. These dive guides are absolutely critical to successful dives, from pointing out creatures to helping you with equipment, these guys are the best in the business.

The Resort - Beautiful, small and with a group of wonderful, affable staff. This resort is the most expensive in the Lembeh region (with perhaps the exception of Lembeh Hills next door) but it is well worth the money. From the large bathrooms with two showers to the well thought out system of moving dive equipment around, you will feel pampered there.


The Diving - It's Lembeh, Muck Diving capital of the world, what more must I say.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the lower denominations (1 and 2 are villas). The lower number rooms are furt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kasawari Lembeh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasawari Lembeh Resort

Address: Kelurahan Makawidey Jaga 1 Lingkungan 1, Bitung 95528, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Bitung
Also Known As:
Kasawari Lembeh Resort Bitung, Indonesia - Sulawesi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasawari Lembeh Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kasawari Lembeh Resort to your Saves list