We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and value, world class diving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NAD Lembeh Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bitung
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
NAD Lembeh Resort
Save
You added NAD Lembeh Resort to your Saves list
PO Box 49, Bitung 95500, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bitung
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service and value, world class diving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

NAD Lembeh is one of a dozen or so dive resorts on Lembeh Strait. NAD is one of the most affordable resorts in the area, but they still dive the same great sites as every other resort out there. The resort is beautiful and comfortable and is tucked away in a cove that gives you beautiful views of the Strait while also conveniently blocking the view of the less scenic Bitung Harbor. The diving is excellent, but what really sets NAD apart is the dedicated staff and dive crew at the resort. They are all friendly and welcoming, making NAD feel like home for us. The dive guides are outstanding critter spotters, but more importantly, they lead fun and safe dive profiles and really cater to the underwater photographer, being patient and knowing just what to do to help the photographer get the shot they're after. The dive staff is also very attentive and extremely careful with your dive gear and cameras. NAD is a comfortable and friendly resort in a beautiful setting with some of the best critter diving on the planet. What more can you ask for? We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    26
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
45
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked 5 nights with NAD's simply going off of online reviews and their website. Having just returned from Indonesia, I have to say this was the best part of our trip by far. Couldn't be more pleased with our stay.

Pickup from Manado was on time and comfortable in a large vehicle. Upon arrival to the resort, we were greeted with drinks and friendly faces. It was a really nice touch that they had saved some lunch for us so we could eat when we arrived since we came a bit later. We booked the Seaview Bungalow and were extremely happy with it. Very nicely designed bungalow and very clean. During our entire stay, the bungalow was always kept very nice for us. The food during all meals was excellent. We found ourselves trying to remember what some of the dishes were so we could order them later on our trip.

On to the diving since that's why you come to NAD's, right? Spectacular. We were paired up with an incredible guide named Johan. He made sure to organize everything we needed right away. On the first day, he asked us if we wanted to see anything in particular so he could keep an eye out for us. By day 3 I remember thinking how happy we were that we had seen everything we wanted to see. On day 5 we were just blown away that Johan was managing to find us new and incredible things. Really can't say enough about him. I'm an Instructor and my girlfriend is a DM, and we both agreed that he was probably the best guide we've ever dove with.

The boats are well kept, very quick, and surprisingly comfortable. All of your gear is taken care of for you and all the staff knows to take care when handling expensive camera rigs. After a dive, there's fresh towels, a light snack served, and crewmembers asking if they can grab you a drink. Have to admit, we're not used to this sort of dive pampering, haha.

Before this gets too long I'll just wrap up and say that service all around was excellent whether it was on the boats or in the resort. The camera wet and dry rooms are spacious and have everything you need.

We like to take at least two diving holidays a year and always want to visit a new location. NAD's is the first place where we've said, "We have to come back here."

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Diving: the staff is very competent and knowledgeable, and they do an excellent job of assisting divers in many ways -- finding and identifying the cool critters, assisting with gear and cameras, and diving safely. I particularly appreciated their patience and flexibility dealing with divers of different skill levels. As a well-traveled diver (1,100+ dives) and photographer, I enjoyed having the freedom to dive my own profile, occasionally wander off away from the group for some photos, and not feel rushed to end any dive before I was ready. I opted for the larger tanks (100 cu.in) with Nitrox and enjoyed the longer dives.

Accommodations: The rooms are uncluttered and simple -- clean, comfortable, and mostly quiet. The bed was quite comfortable and hot water was always available in the shower. The metal roofing can be a bit noisy during the occasional downpour; earplugs work great if you are a light sleeper. A nice selection of books and reference material is available in the common area, and a spacious camera room with power strips for recharging batteries and towels for drying equipment.

Ownership/management: Can't speak highly enough about Simon and Zee. I had some camera equipment problems very early in the trip - at first minor, then major. As a photographer, Simon immediately recognized how important this is to a diver, and we discussed the problems and options for solving them. Within a day he had arranged for me to get everything I needed (not an easy task in Sulawesi), and best of all, I didn't have to miss a single dive -- his staff did the legwork while I went diving.

Kudos to Simon, Zee, and the NAD Lembeh staff for a wonderful experience and terrific service -- all at a very affordable price. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I wrote a review of NAD Lembeh Resort last year, 2012. The same High Quality was apparent in July 2013, when we took three more divers with us on the return trip. DM Stenley is outstanding--and so are the other DMs. The muck diving is fabulous, and we found another dozen or so critters that were new for us. The staff is great, food is very good, and accommodations very nice. Wonderful return visit. Thanks Simon and Zee. We look forward to another trip!

Room Tip: Of course it is very nice to pay a little more and get your own cabin, but the regular rooms are fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I have visited this resort twice, both times were fantastic. We rented a cabin the second time and for anyone, this is a scuba diver's paradise. Recommend heartily! The guides were friendly, the managers professional underwater photographers, and the atmosphere all anyone could want from a dive resort in Lembeh.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It has been 18 months since our last stay in NAD and the structural improvements are amazing. Whilst retaining the environmental ethos the restaurant, bar/meeting area and hotel rooms have been upgraded or rebuilt. As before this remains the best quality dive operation on the Strait now it combines with boutique hotel feel. All of the dive guides are local born and exceptionally well trained by owner/marine biologist Simon Buxton. Zee Buxton runs the front of house operation with all the slickness of Hotel Du Vin but employs staff who smile and enjoy their job. Arrive as a tired worn out traveller leave as a refreshed happy friend.

Room Tip: The rooms with a higher number will be quieter - still book a bungalow if your budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just got back from a second visit to NAD and the improvements since our last visit are very noticeable. The rooms and dining area have been updated, there's a couple of new bungalows, new boats bought and a relaxing lounge area has been added. The food was again awesome and it was so great to see many of the same staff. Shows that they love working there. The boat crews and guides are all great lads, with our guide finding all the specific stuff (rare Gobies) we asked for. They are also respectful to the critters and their environment... an important detail.

Love the family style dining experience, a long table where you can meet folks and share stories. As others have noted, Simon & Zee and the folks that work with them are fantastic people that are always on hand for anything, including having a pint together. NAD is such great value and quality that it's a no-brainer to choose them for your Lembeh diving. My wife and I love it so much we booked a return trip while we were still there... I can't recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NAD Lembeh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NAD Lembeh Resort

Address: PO Box 49, Bitung 95500, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bitung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NAD Lembeh is small owner operated family style resort on Lembeh Island, home of Critter and Muck diving. We have FOC house reef diving and 9 full time dive guides. Our camera facilities, with wet and dry camera rooms are highly popular. The Owner is regularly in the kitchen ensuring the blend of food is to our guests' tastes. With 10 aircon rooms and 2 aircon bungalows we believe we can offer you a fantastic holiday on a budget. The Resort is compact without feeling small and our staff are very friendly, our location is also in a small private bay on Lembeh Island, far away from the city and its associated noise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nad Lembeh Hotel Bitung
NAD Lembeh Resort Bitung, Indonesia - Sulawesi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NAD Lembeh Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.