We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to stay there again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NAD Lembeh Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bitung
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
NAD Lembeh Resort
PO Box 49, Bitung 95500, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Bitung
Singapore
1 review
“Happy to stay there again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The resort is situated in a protected bay with a nice little house reef to do the checkout dive.

Ample charging points for photography equipment, free wifi, has a very nice view out to the sea, food they served is nice and fresh. The staffs has terrific attention to service!

The room is simple and spacious. it's cleaned after you are back from the morning dives.

Be pampered by the critters pointed out from your assigned dive guides. all of them have great pair of "microscopic" eyes. Dive boat is big and stable, boat crews are really helpful too!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    24
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
40
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

It's my 3rd stay at NAD Lembeh Resort....simply love the place...nice & cosy, where everyone knows everyone :) The new additions done to the rooms are cool, esp the individual patios outside each room, great for chilling out in the afternoon.
Guides are great - all have very sharp eyes to spot the critters. Give them a list, they will try to find them for you. Every dive is great, with lotsa creatures to see.
Thanks to everyone in NAD for a great trip in Dec 11. Will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Great resort, great attentive people, and wonderfully keen-eyed guides.
The place to go, if you are hunting the weird and wonderful denizens of muck diving.
All the dives you can cope with, lovely food and a charming atmosphere.
k.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I sent 10 days at NAD at the end of Dec 2011. Had no idea what it was going to be like, I had never been to Indonesia let alone heard of North Sulawesi but I was up for the adventure. It was one of the top 3 holidays I have had.
Stayed in one of the bungalows, everything was at my finger tips. Ample power outlets to charge camera, strobe, ipad and phone. Hot water on demand and a comfy bad.
But it was the diving that blow me away. I'm very much an amateur photographer but thanks to Mood (a huge thanks) I now have photos in focus of a pigmy seahorse, harlequin shrimp, boxer crabs, nudi's (lots of Nudi's) and the list just keeps going.
Our crew of the stargazer were efficient, fast and friendly with smiles and laughs. Coffee and treat waiting for me after every dive. Aso my dive guide was amazing, I wanted to see a pigmy seahorse so he found my 4! The best dive guide I have ever had. Mood is the man!! Nothing was to hard or boring for Mood, he made me feel so welcome as soon I set foot on the beach at NAD.
Many a nights we all shared our dinner then resided to the lounge chairs to share of photos and that is when I picked Moods brain about everything photographic, never did I feel I was unwelcome. Friendly, welcoming, funny, all round great host Mood is the essence of what you feel when you go to NAD. I will be back many more times.
Separate camera room - best idea ever, out of the boat into the room, everything on charge ready for the afternoon and night dives
Diving - Unbelievable!! 2 dives in the morning, back for lunch, one dive in the afternoon, back to recharge and out for a night dive. Everyday like clock work but everyday different dive sites and critters to see. DO THE NIGHT DIVE!! You won't be sorry
Can't say enough good things just go and find out for yourself you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I am a return customer to NAD. Had a blast of a time there again but more importantly, I proposed to my future wife to be, here underwater with the help of Simon (who was in UK), Serge and of course Mood. The guys, the guides and the staff were all great.

There are 2 new bungalows and the individual rooms actually looks great now with its own individual patio. Only downer were the mosquitos that were attracted to my ohhh so sweet B+ blood.... Lol... However I think the cleanliness of the rooms can be improved. Lots of dead insects on top of the mosquito nettings

Joni was a good guide and spotted loads of stuff for us to see. Missed the Ambon, Denise Pygmy, Coleman n Harlequin Shrimp... Gives us more reason to go back.

As usual, great food and ambience. NAD is trying to be Eco-friendly too which gets a thumbs up from me.

Thanks guys for wonderful n memorable trip......... can't upload photos of the underwater proposal from the device I'm using.... Soooo sooooo sorry!

Jay

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My wife and I spent 4 night at NAD in Oct 2011.
I dont want to repeat everything that has already been written about this place. All I can say is that I agree with all the good things.
Bungalow definitely a must.
Food good.
Diving AMAZING!! Dive guides and boat crew all brilliant.
Simon (the owner) and his crew are friendly, accomodating and always helpful.
Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Bungalow definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I visited NAD for 11 days in November after a short trip to Bangka. This was my third trip to Lembeh in little more than a year and I am already planning for a couple more visits. NAD more than made up for my wishes for a dive resort. Rooms are pretty basic, but are clean with functioning AC and warm water, quiet, and with good beds which is all I need in a room. There is a small balcony outside the room, but I only used the room for sleeping. The communal areas are very nice and welcoming and include both a wet and a dry camera room. The wet room is well appointed with shelves for some spaces and towels are provided for the camera. The dry room had computers and lots of outlets as well as a bunch of books on fish and invertebrates of the area. Food is good and plentiful, with soup, main dish and a desert for dinner. Food is eaten at a long table where people meet after the diving which is nice as a single diver. Coffee, tea, water and some snacks are available all the time. Furthermore the resort staff are very nice and do their best to So, in conclusion, facilities, rooms, food and the resort staff are all you could ask for. Not luxurious, but very good.
The most important part of a trip for people visiting a place such as NAD will probably be the diving. And that is where NAD excels. I was very, very happy with the dive organization. I do 4 dives a day, and at NAD the day dives and some times the night dive are offered as 75 minute dives. Tanks were well filled, all tanks were always on the boat in the correct mixture of 12 liter, 15 liter and Nitrox, boats leave in time, guides know what you want to see, dive spots are chosen with a clear plan for getting your wishes fulfilled with regard to both critters you want to see and pictures you want to get. The guide I dove mostly with, Paulus, was the best I ever dived with, with an amazing ability to not only find stuff I wanted to see, but also find critters I was able to actually take pictures of. Other guides were also very good. Dive equipment was well taken care of, towels were always available on the boats, tea or coffee were ready after dives, rinse tanks were on the boats and filled with fresh water and the guides very quickly learned how different photographers wanted their cameras treated.
A final shining part of the NAD resort is the service and help you get when stuff breaks down. When I was there, I had a bcd break down, a flooded Z240, a leaking SPG, a leak alarm giving sound now and then as well as some problems with my housing as well as the viewfinder on the housing. The things that the staff could fix was fixed immediately and I got good advice on the things that wasn´t fixable. Such a service is extremely important for me when I am on a long time photography trip to such a remote place, where broken stuff easily can end the trip. Several of my fellow photographers visiting NAD when I was there received similar help, from rescuing the electronics of a flooded housing, drying out a moist bulkhead to tips on strobe positioning. That the owner Simon and the dive manager Serge both are eager towards helping visiting guests is a major bonus to an already great place with very good value for your money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NAD Lembeh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NAD Lembeh Resort

Address: PO Box 49, Bitung 95500, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Bitung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NAD Lembeh is small owner operated family style resort on Lembeh Island, home of Critter and Muck diving. We have FOC house reef diving and 9 full time dive guides. Our camera facilities, with wet and dry camera rooms are highly popular. The Owner is regularly in the kitchen ensuring the blend of food is to our guests' tastes. With 10 aircon rooms and 2 aircon bungalows we believe we can offer you a fantastic holiday on a budget. The Resort is compact without feeling small and our staff are very friendly, our location is also in a small private bay on Lembeh Island, far away from the city and its associated noise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nad Lembeh Hotel Bitung
NAD Lembeh Resort Bitung, Indonesia - Sulawesi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NAD Lembeh Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added NAD Lembeh Resort to your Saves list