We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Divers Lodge Lembeh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bitung
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Divers Lodge Lembeh
Save
You added Divers Lodge Lembeh to your Saves list
Paudean, Bitung 95500, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Bitung B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We came back today from Diver's Lodge Lembeh. It was great!

I read how good this place was from others on tripadvisor so there was no second thought on booking it. Email response was very fast. Payment was made through Paypal and therefore hassle-free.

The various arrangements were perfect. We were picked up at the airport on time, transferred to the island smoothly, great welcome from the staff who read our minds and served us snacks without us asking. So, it was a good array of first impressions.

The staff are really polite, from the kitchen staff to the dive guides. And there is always laughter, always a welcome smile. We did not lack anything when we were there. It was as advertised and more. Special mention for the food, every meal was excellent and so was the dining service.

Our dive guide was Chals. He was really great! He has a special gift to find the various creatures in Lembeh. Our diving experience was one of the best we've had so far. Btw, without a good dive guide, one can easily miss half of the interesting aquatic life in Lembeh. This said, Lembeh is unlike any other dive site we've been to, it's very unique.

We are really amazed by DLL. We have just left and we are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
38
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very nice welcoming from the staff upon arrival. Fantastic bungalow with lots of space and a great view. Stayed there for less then a week with the main attraction under the surface. Unfortaully there were never any discussion with us about the dive sites what we would like to see. We had 2 different dive guides during all our dives. Non of them were good. One had his head down in the sand for nearly 70 minutes often we had stopped followed him because we found more by ourself. The other guide we had for a nighdive left us without telling us and we finally found him on the boat. My girlfriend asked him why he didn't told us that he was leaving. He had no answer and didn't seemed especially bothered about the fact that he left us. Maybe that is what you have to expect of non educated diveguides?

If it wasn't for the most imported thing they would have had 5 stars. But we didn't come for anything else then the dive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLLembeh, General Manager at Divers Lodge Lembeh, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
First of all thank you for you visit at Divers Lodge Lembeh in January 2013 and your review.

I am truly sorry for the incompetent behavior and lack of skills of the guides you were unfortunate to dive with. There is absolutely no excuse for that but I wish you had reported the problem to us right after the dive. Then we would have had a chance to intervene immediately. Now all I can do is sincerely apologize and assure you that it will not happen again as neither of the guides mentioned works with us anymore.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you in Divers Lodge Lembeh again and provide you with best service.

All the best,

Marek Rzepecki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Diver's Lodge is a lot of things, and let me start this review by briefly stating what it is not: It ain't cheap.

Once you're past the price tag, however, everything else is head and shoulders above all the other dive operations I've dived with. The food is actually delicious (fresh baked bread every morning, and fresh coffee that is acceptable even to a self-professed coffee snob like myself!), the diving operation is absolutely rock solid (max 4 divers per boat, plenty of dive staff to support you, and the dive guides are ludicrously talented at finding all the curious critters Lembeh has to offer).

The bungalows are all manner of lovely, the staff is attentive, and the owner of the resort is a bit of an eco-warrior in his own right; among other things, he's bought up a series of plots of rain forest in order to run conservation projects etc.

AN all-around solid place; our only regret is that we only spent two nights here; we'll certainly come back, and perhaps this time for a bit longer, too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Was there in August last year as part of a diving holiday combined with Bunaken island. Not knowing what to expect from the muck diving and the place I chosed to stay only 3 night. Wished I had stayed more there and less in Bunaken. The place and the service provided are simply perfect, and the diving astonishing. Can't be praised and reccomanded enough.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

cant really say enough good things about this place. marek did a fantastic job helping arrange our plans less than a month before arrival. pickup from airport was easy. we were offered to go on a night dive as soon as we got there and jumped at the chance. they took all of our gear, we got changed and away we went. our room had a spectular view of the lagoon and was cleaned and tidy everyday. the kitchen made enough food for at least double amount of the people staying there each night. anything you wanted they just kept saying yes. i really loved the 'snack' around 4:30 every afternoon if we were back from our diving. our dive crew was my favorite part. oping was just amazing in spotting creatures we didnt even knew existed. the private boat option works out great. we got to go out when and where we wanted. we left it up to oping to bring us to the places he thought was suitable for the creatures we wanted to see. there wasn't one thing that he didn't check off our listed and saw plenty of extras. boat crew didn't allow us to lit a finger with any of our equipment and completely spoiled us. we took a break one morning to go to see the tarsius, cous cous and black macaques. completely worth the hike as we got to see them all. i love this place and i cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Berkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just returned home from our 4th visit to Divers Lodge, brilliant as ever, wonderful food, lovely friendly and helpful staff, and the most amazing diving, rooms are nice and cleaned every day, nothing is too much trouble for the staff. cant wait to go back :) Thanks to all at Divers Lodge for making our time so special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Good and responsive personal. Beautifull space. Clean and tidy rooms. Nice and interesting diving. Delicious food. In the morning, beautiful singing of birds. We are well rested here with friends. Thank you all.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divers Lodge Lembeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divers Lodge Lembeh

Address: Paudean, Bitung 95500, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bitung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divers Lodge Lembeh is a small intimate dive resort, which can accommodate a maximum of ten guests. This means we can cater to our guests’ needs and provide excellent attention and service. The bungalows are scattered around the hill and each has its own path and private access. In this way every guest is guaranteed privacy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Divers Lodge Lembeh Bitung, Indonesia - Sulawesi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divers Lodge Lembeh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.